We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambassador Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Glasgow(Glasgow)
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$255
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Central Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$157
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
166
131
60
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
131
60
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardenswest endembassy apartmentsbyres roadkelvin riverqueen margaretcity centreoff street parkingsubway stoporan morquiet locationglasgow universitysingle roomunderground stationsmall hotelgreat western roadexcellent location
Filter
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Although we stayed in the sister apartments next door to the Ambassador we had booked out most of the apartments and the rooms in the Ambassador for a family wedding. We spent most of our time in the bar in the Ambassador. A great small and very quiet hotel with a good location. Think we over ran it. Staff couldnt be more helpful especially helping us find a rstaurant that could take 30 people with no reservation on friday night.

Room Tip: Apartments are a lot bigger and more or less the same price
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Excellent location in the West End (if that's where you want to be). Very good value for money (I paid 60 pounds/night which included a full, hot breakfast cooked to order). Rooms are small, and a little tired, but clean. I had a small fridge in my room, which was super-convenient, but I don't know about other rooms. Free, fast, wifi. Friendly, helpful staff.

Shower was a bit weird (had some kind of pump or filter that was turned on with a big red switch by the door) and almost too tiny to use. Might be unusable if you're a very very large person, but I was okay.

There's no lift that I could see. Something you might want to consider if you would have trouble carrying your luggage up a long flight of stairs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We chose this for the location and price and both got the thumbs up. It's about 100 metres from the top of Byres Road and about half a kilometre to the nearest subway. And there's free and available parking either on street or in their private carpark. Not a bad price at £50 per night for a double. We were sent to the nearby Embassy Apartments and given room 17. The place was pretty clean but small. The window overlooked the back of another building, about 4 feet away. Ideal if you like to prance around naked in your hotel room with the curtains open, but not if you want a bit of light and a view. Little things could have been attended to ... a lightbulb had blown, the clock-radio didn't work but on the plus, there was a fridge (with the UHT milk) and free WiFi (don't you hate it when thy charge!). Friendly staff and clean and impressive entrance.

Room Tip: Ask for photos of your room before you book. And request you DON'T get room 17.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icucme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I've stayed at the Ambassador Hotel for some six weeks in total, the length of my project in Glasgow.
I keep a pleasant memory of a cozy, comfy, clean and friendly hotel and the scent of fresh paint.

I am mostly impressed by the staff who, with a dry, witty humour and understated demeanor was so helpful and accommodating, showing great flexibility for special requests (f.e. once they've helped me repair my bike in the parking).

The hotel is situated at one minute walking distance from the botanical garden, which makes it very all to easy to have a refreshing walk at the end of a busy day.

Since I live in Glasgow now there is no need for me to search a hotel in the area, but if I did, then Ambassador Hotel would be my first choice again by a distance.

Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulTudorOprea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The room 17 was small and dark, located in the Embassy Apartments building (a part of Ambassador Hotel). Looking throw the window you could see the grey wall of the nearest building.
At the hotel website you can read "In very recent years the hotel has undergone an impressive refurbishment" but surely they have forgotten about room 17 - especially- the bathroom, which was dirty with fungus in the shower cabin (but not only).
The washbasin was completely unusable because of the glass shelf hanging just above it. We have to wash teeth using the shower. The reservation was made about month before our arrival but the room we received was probably one of the worst rooms we ever slept (when we asked for another room, we were told that they are fully booked ).

Room Tip: Avoid number 17 !
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaciejATricity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Unfortunately being on the edge of the City Centre with buildings all around it is not possible for every room to have an unobstructed view, we agree the window in Rm17 is partially blocked by part of a wall. We have taken on board the comment regarding the glass shelf in the bathroom and it has now been moved. The shower cubicle has been examined and found to be clean, however we have re-grouted it.
On asking to move rooms you were informed that the hotel was fully booked, which in fact it was, if it had been at all possible you would have been moved.
We are sorry your stay at the Ambassador Hotel was not as enjoyable experience as you had expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews