We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #44 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed just one night and were disappointed to find our room, No 17 in the adjoining annexe Embassy Apartments, had a very uncomfortable bed which dipped in the middle and had defective springs. Though the room was clean enough, it was tiny and crowded and looked out onto a wall about a foot from the window. There was a fridge in the room which clicked on and off all night about 2ft from the bed. The bathroom had the smallest handbasin I have ever seen. All in all, not a great experience!

Room Tip: Don't choose No 17!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

We are sorry your stay in Rm17 was not as ideal as you had hoped. The hotel is continually changing and upgrading fixtures and fittings as necessary and some new beds had already been ordered one of which was earmarked for Rm17, unfortunately delivery was not in time for your stay. The rooms are equipped with fridges for the comfort of the guest's, some of whom do find the noise when they cycle on and off obtrusive it they find it too much they generally switch them off. You did request a top floor, quiet room which is why you were allocated Rm17 as it is on the top floor and in the adjacent building which is much quieter than the hotel. If you wish to book with us at a future date please request at time of booking that you would not like to be allocated Rm17.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Ambassador Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

The hotel was fairly easy to find and was close to transport links (underground subway system and buses) The staff were friendly and efficient, I was very pleased with the room and my stay in general.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I stayed in Room 7 for 3 nights. Generally tidy and clean but the bathroom could do with refurbishment. The grout in the shower's tiles was dirty and the soap dish was broken. The bathroom heater did not work but reception knew about it.
Sound proofing between rooms could do with improvement! Smell of cooking pervaded the room in the morning.
Generally good value for money in most respects, especially given its location.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

My second visit here in a month. This time we had a twin overlooking the rear car park . Room not large but adequate as were Bathroom facilities. Handy little fridge plus tea/coffee facilities. The best thing about this hotel is the friendly staff . Breakfast comes a close second. Very close to botanic gardens and handy for shops and bars in west end. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cel_longridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting the in laws and it was such a great location in the middle of Glasgow's west end. The rooms were clean and great value for money. We had 2 children and the staff were happy to help with suggestions on things to do with the kids. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for somewhere with a great location and value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cpirr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

On arrival I was greeted with a warm welcome and check-in was dealt with very efficiently. It is a cosy hotel and staff will go out of their way to help with any queries. My room was very clean and comfortable. There was a good choice of breakfast on offer, and the hot breakfast was freshly cooked to perfection. The hotel is situated close to the West End and within easy distance to the City Centre. I couldn't have been happier!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheilaM247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Ambassador Hotel is a perfect place, if you are looking for a quite place to relax with your family or friends. All the guys here are very cool and they will really make you feel at home. They are very polite and understand the needs of travelers very well. Rooms are very clean and well-appointed with things of comfort. All meals are good. I stayed here recently with my boyfriend and really enjoyed a lot. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebnemAnkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Albion Hotel
#49 of 93 in Glasgow
295 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#50 of 93 in Glasgow
436 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 93 in Glasgow
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#69 of 93 in Glasgow
312 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 7 Kelvin Drive, Glasgow G20 8QG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £50 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Glasgow's fashionalble West End, surrounded by numerous shops, bars and cafe and only 1 mile for the City Centre. This stylish 3 star hotel is the ideal base for a leisue or corporate stop over in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing