We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location & Hotel”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #52 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Luton
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Location & Hotel”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at the Ambassador Hotel for three nights in September.
The hotel is in a perfect location in the west end and is within walking distance of all the restaurants and pubs. It is also near public transport including the subway.
I felt very welcome by the hotel staff and the room was comfortable
I would recommend the Ambassador Hotel if you were to visit this part of Glasgow.
John

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    98
    55
    16
    9
See reviews for
59
90
48
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tucson
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Pleasant spot, lovely staff and the building itself is clean and modernized if only they would take the extra step. I had a small room, more like a long closet with a window that looked out onto the street and although the room was comfortable the bed was not. The mattress sagged in the center and as it was a twin mattress there was no where to roll to to avoid the sag. The other issue was the bathroom. Clean and modern with a demand hot water in the shower but you couldn't turn on the light without a very noisy fan running as well and because of the narrow room to open the bath door meant blocking the entry completely which was quite awkward. Breakfast was fine, cooked to order but the coffee came out of a dispensing machine, something that always makes me nervous as one doesn't really know how clean it is.
All in all I am sure there are better spots to stay but for the money its in a good location and as I said the staff is great so if you don't mind a bit of discomfort this is a great place to stay when in west Glasgow.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjw1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
We are sorry your stay at the Ambassador was not as good as you had hoped. We have replaced the bed, if you had spoken to reception while you were here we do have a stock of mattresses and it could have been changed immediately, we do rely on guest's to report these things to us so that we can take some action. The reason there is a fan running in the bathroom when the light is on is because there is no window in the bathroom and regulations demand that bathroom's are ventilated, we will however check to see if it needs replaced. We do however take exception to your comment about the coffee machine, as you remarked the hotel and room etc were clean, the same applies to our cofffee machine, it is run through its cleaning cycle each morning after breakfast, if it is not cleaned properly it will stop working, we pride ourselves on our standards and that applies across the board, including breakfast routines. The staff appreciate the kind comments with reference to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We paid a fleeting visit to Glasgow and booked the Ambassador as previous experience proved very comfortable indeed.
On this occasion we had been upgraded to the apartments next door. Apt 9 was very big with a double and single bed quite close together then a 3 piece suite and a dinning area under a huge bay window overlooking the river. The bathroom was very clean but really needed a better shower.
We didn't use the kitchen facilities but you could quite easily self cater here there seemed to be everything you would need.
Breakfast was available in the main hotel but we didn't have it on this visit.
Sleep quality was a bit disappointing as our mattress was very hard and past its best.
Same friendly service as always. We will stay again and as I informed the receptionist, I hope the mattress will have been replaced with something more comfortable.
In short if you want a great little hotel close to West End shops and bars this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cel_longridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
invergordon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel in such a quiet peaceful area of Glasgow but not too far from the city centre. Right beside Botanic Gardens. Not far from subway. Spacious clean ensuite rooms with kettle, tea, coffee, milk, sugar & biscuits (which were restocked daily). Small fridge, dressing table with mirror and full length mirror. Telephone and tv with all the freeview channels. Extremely comfortable beds with adequate pillows and bedding.
Friendly helpful staff. Easy and quick check in and out. Simple to use entry system (keys).
Just brilliant, would definitely recommend and will return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Friendly receptionist, freshly cooked breakfast but that's about it.
Hotel has no bar, no restaurant, no laundry service and no air
conditioning. I had a room in the roof during the hottest spell
of weather this Summer and it was hotter than Hades.
Will never return.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kintyrejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
I am sorry you feel that the Ambassador has fallen short of what you expected. However we do not advertise that we have air conditioning, all our windows can be opened and air con is not something that is generally needed in Glasgow. All of our hotel rooms are also furnished with fans, and if the room had still been too warm with the window open and the fan on, you could have asked reception for another fan or to move to a different room. The hotel has never had a restaurant and all the websites we use to advertise have all the relevant details about the hotel so you would have known before you arrived about no air con etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Good sized room, clean, good location, great price. stayed in the hotel, not apartments. second stay here and will return if in the area again. They have fridges in the rooms too, which is great for beer or milk etc

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cidersuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Because of dietary requirements I prefer to cook when I'm away, hence a serviced apartment. The service apartments here are spacious and the kitchenette has an actual cooker as well as a microwave. The building itself is an older terrace building by the botanical gardens. The staff are very friendly and the furnishings are fine. It's a little off the beaten track, 40 minutes walk to the city centre, but half of this is via the kelvin way and park, a delightful walk through parkland. Free wifi too.

It's not for people who want frantic nightlife entertainment, but it's on a quiet cul de sac and scenic surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snodlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Albion Hotel
#58 of 95 in Glasgow
268 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#71 of 95 in Glasgow
298 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#31 of 95 in Glasgow
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kelvingrove Hotel
#69 of 95 in Glasgow
567 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#50 of 95 in Glasgow
427 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#64 of 95 in Glasgow
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: 7 Kelvin Drive, Glasgow G20 8QG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Glasgow's fashionalble West End, surrounded by numerous shops, bars and cafe and only 1 mile for the City Centre. This stylish 3 star hotel is the ideal base for a leisue or corporate stop over in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing