We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #57 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Salamander Bay, NSW Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We recently stayed here for one night. It's a little tricky to find using a GPS, but we eventually got there, parking is difficult on the street in front, but there is a small carpark around the back. This was a last minute booking, and we were pleasantly surprised. The outlook of the hotel is lovely and inviting. The room (19) was very spacious and had French windows that opened onto a little courtyard, lovely. The room had been recently refurbished, and was done very well. Bedding was comfortable, spotlessly clean, good sized bathroom with walk in shower, which was a bit noisy, but when mentioned to the manager, he said he would have it looked at. Breakfast next door in the adjoining building which can be accessed via the back entrance, was delicious, although the dining room is a little crowded. Cost is well worth it. Staff were pleasant, and the manager was very helpful. Plenty of places close by to eat, and opposite the botanic gardens, so nice and quiet. The hop on/hop off bus stops about 500 meters from the corner of the street. I would recommend this property of anyone going to this area of Glasgow, it was a great find for us.

Room Tip: Don't use Booking.com contact the property direct, it doesn't cost any more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brayzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    92
    52
    14
    9
See reviews for
55
84
45
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

When I got into the room, the bed was broken. I got moved to a room that far too small. The first room was small but the 2nd room was like staying in a cupboard! There was bleach stains on the carpet, hole in shower room roof that was stuffed with news paper. Lovely building from the outside but I've never paid to stay in a hotel like that before and won't be again. Staff nice but that doesn't reflect the price I paid. I won't be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank 1408MaggieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
With regard to the broken bed, as soon as the manager was aware of the problem you were moved to another room, unfortunately the hotel was busy and there was only 1 room available, it is unfortunate that this room was smaller than the room you should have been in, however you were only in the smaller room for 1 night as the broken bed was replaced the next day and you moved back into that room. The hole in the shower ceiling is not in fact a hole, it is a drain duct, specifically put in that position so if there were any problems with leaks etc it would drain into the shower. We do agree there are bleach stains on the carpet, and we apologise for that, a new carpet is on order and will be fitted shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Situated in a very leafy quiet road in the West End of Glasgow, minutes from Byres Road, opposite the Botanical Garden, the hotel is in an ideal location.
It claims to be 3* which is accurate. The double room we had was small, likewise the bathroom was a bit tired, but it was all clean and warm. The bed was queen size which did seem small to us, being used to super king, and I would imagine this to be the case for many guests, we would certainly have booked a twin room on reflection.
That said, the breakfast was very good with quick service. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, indeed they prepared bacon sandwiches for us one morning as we were departing very early to visit Arran, and would have missed breakfast otherwise.
We would certainly stay at The Ambassador again and recommend it to others, it may be more traditional and older, but better that than some of the characterless larger chain hotels that dominate our cities.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 667Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Very small single room with not much room to move around but reasonable shower. Good breakfast, especially the cooked options. Okay position. As a female travelling alone I would have liked a safety chain on the door. Also the space for luggage is minimal. If you're on the ground floor don't expect to get much sleep as lots of noise from reception and front door.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
invergordon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was our 3rd stay here. Its such a nice place in a lovely quiet area of Glasgow. We always feel right at home here. Its not posh or luxurious but it has everything you need and it is clean and very comfortable. Always get a good night's sleep in the Ambassador/Embassy. Right beside the Botanic Gardens and Byres Road, so loads of places to eat/drink. Hillhead subway within walking distance too, so really easy to get into town.
A few things I'd like to point out that weren't ideal......1. We had booked a triple room but got a single bed and double bed which were together with no space between, fine for us but I think this would be quite awkward for some. 2. Because of the room layout and the way the beds were there was only one bedside cabinet. 3.Our room was beside the front door and the bed was beside our door, so every time the front door was opened there was a huge draught that came right onto me!! I resolved this by putting the cushions along bottom of the door, like a draught excluder.
Staff are all very friendly, helpful and polite and we will definitely be staying here again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Hotel car park was difficult to find, there is free on road parking which is probably used by the workers in the area as there was never any room left. We stayed one night and took up the offer of an 'upgrade' for an extra £9.00 which gave us a room in the apartments next door. The room was large, very clean and with a nice view, however the fridge in the kitchen area kept us awake most of the night, there was no fresh milk as stated in other reviews we were given a small dish of tea/coffee with two packets of plain biscuits with the usual UHT milk. Bedding was very clean, but beds/pillows a little hard. Breakfast was fairly reasonable and freshly cooked, orange juice wasnt the powder/water mix you get in some places. The area around the hotel seemed OK during the day, however on our way back we were met on the road close to the hotel by a drunk/drug addict who wanted £10 which could have been disconcerting for a person on their own (he went into a building next to the hotel). Although this hotel was just about average it is doubtful we would return due to the cost and the large choice of alternative places in the area to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

It seemed expensive for a tiny single room and no breakfast included. Handy for son in nearby uni halls of residence and easy walk to shops, cafés and the underground. Shower was poor and bathroom so cramped I banged my head on the shelf above the sink while bending to brush my teeth! Wouldn't choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Albion Hotel
#60 of 95 in Glasgow
251 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 95 in Glasgow
289 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#70 of 95 in Glasgow
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 95 in Glasgow
775 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#62 of 95 in Glasgow
310 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#54 of 95 in Glasgow
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: 7 Kelvin Drive, Glasgow G20 8QG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Glasgow's fashionalble West End, surrounded by numerous shops, bars and cafe and only 1 mile for the City Centre. This stylish 3 star hotel is the ideal base for a leisue or corporate stop over in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing