We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ONE OF THE WORST HOTELS I HAVE STAYED IN” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #49 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE WORST HOTELS I HAVE STAYED IN”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

Bed too small, badly shaped room, cant see tv from bed due to position of furntiure,reception staff unhelpful and unfriendly, no acttion taken regarding complaints, lighting far too dim, and lights dont work independently so one person reading means all lights have to be on. reasonably clean and dining room staff pleasant. Glasgow however was am,azing and people fantastic, please visit but use different hotel

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, and we sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    769
    386
    142
    84
See reviews for
435
675
171
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Double beds are small.. We went with a group of girls, quite central breakfast was well worth the money, tesco 3/4 mins walk away for all you need. Bar a bit too strict regardless of having drinks that have just been bought a few mins before closing time.... When it's 1am ur done in the bar an that's that!!!! :(

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twotoilets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, including in the bar, and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by both our Guest Relations Team and the Management team at this hotel. Once again thank you for your review we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
185 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

Clean, comfortable and good value for money. Total satisfaction guarantee provides assurance that if stay was not to standard then money would be refunded.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsguy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

After hours of plane delays and travelling from Edinburgh to Glasgow, the Premier Inn was my Sunday night saviour at a very reasonable rate. Checked in at 12.15am, room was large, clean and I had a good night's sleep. A short walk to/from the roads which take you to/from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdboy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

The hotel was comfortable, clean and had everything you need. Also I saw that some other reviews mentioned the temperature? Well when I stayed there it was lovely! Even the corridors were roasting! At the moment the weather is really bad, snow on the ground etc so they really made sure you were warm. I noticed they left a note in the room explaining all the things they had done to keep the rooms warm and that you could speak to them if you weren't warm enough. They're obviously really trying to look after their customers.

Prompt check in and really helpful at reception - cheery, welcoming, really nice staff.

My friends and I did have a wee knock on the door around 9pm because we were a bit noisy. I'll be honest that impressed me. I would want the staff to do that for me if I had noisy neighbours.

We also opted for the pizza take aways. Quick, pretty good price and really tasty! Staff were really friendly in the bar.

We were going out along Bath St so location was perfect.

I would definitely stay there again. Well impressed by it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoopy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charleville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a 6 day break. We were going to a soccer match & 2 concerts over the 6 days. It is just around the corner from the ABC 02 Academy, where one concert was held and it just took 20 mins in a taxi to go to the Breahead Arena for the other concert from this hotel. The train station is next door. We drove over to Glasgow for this break and parking for the 6 days worked out at just £10.00-£12.00/ per 24hrs, the carpark was next door. Hotel was easy to find, the GPS coordinates are on the website and the sat nav as good as brought us to the door. Great location for shopping, few mins walk away from Argyle St. Restaurants and bars are just around the corner. Alot of the restaurants had good early bird menus. The staff were very helpful and friendly. When we checked in, the room we were given was small, ok for 1 or 2 day break but not for 6 days. When we contacted reception they changed the room to a bigger one straight away and they were very busy as there were alot of check ins at the time. The hotel has its own restaurant and bar which we used a few times and the staff were very friendly and good spirited. Most nights we walked back late to the hotel and felt quite safe. I read in another review that the hotel may be in a red light district but saw no evidence of that. This hotel was perfect for what we needed for the type of break we were on.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myhrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

Have never stayed at a Premier Inn before, so didn't have any expectations. was not disappointed - considering we weren't spending any time there other than to sleep I didn't need a lot of amenities. the room itself was fine, nothing fancy. the location of the hotel was great, though. a restaurant right across from the lobby let us bring food to our room one night, even though they don't offer take-away. we just had to bring the plates and silverware back the next day. if you want to take the train it is literally next door - especially convenient if you are traveling elsewhere in the UK by train. the hotel is very close the theatres and shopping, and easy to spot if you get lost trying to find it (like we did) - look for the purple lit up sign in the sky. just around the corner is a pub called the Griffin Bar - I highly recommend spending time there.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staciegwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2010
Thanks for your review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had a good time exploring the City Centre. We welcome your feedback is it very important to us that our guests enjoy their time stay with Premier Inn and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Premier Inn, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing