We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #53 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I had an great time staying here, its so close to the city centre. Their bar was great and well as a delicious breakfst every morning. Staff we're very friendly. Can not fault this place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,072 - 2,078 of 2,399 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

This was a great hotel, central enough - got a Taxi from the Train Station and only cost £3 there and was close enough to walk back the next day - took 15 mins and was simple enough.
Hotel was clean, basic and friendly.
Would stay again. Was cheap and cheerful!
Only downside was only 30 mins free internet then you had to pay! All hotels should have free wireless these days as standard!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseGBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The enthusiasm and level of service was impeccable. We were informed fully of everything we needed without the need to ask for anything. The quality of dining room service was next to none. The room was a delight and we have no problem in thoroughly recommending Premier Inn compared to competitors we have stayed with in the past.

Overall our stay was well managed and presented. The staff were pleasant and eager to please, they outshone competitors (namely Travelodge) in presentation, room cleanliness, information about our stay and local amenities, service and comfort.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMacDonald68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Lovely hotel. 15 minute walk from central station. 10 minutes (maximum) from Sauchiehall Street.
Nice big room, we were on floor 10. King sized bed, very comfy. Good sized bathroom with good shower. Very warm, we kept turning the heating down as it seems to default to 23 degrees but then it was a very mild weekend.
We had the dinner and breakfast combo. £22 for 3 course dinner + drink plus breakfast included.
Loved the free internet for 30 minutes.
I would book and stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojo_from_essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

My wife and I enjoyed five nights here and found it very near public transit, clean, and quite spacious. There was a long work area for desk/tea pot/television and the double bed was really King sized. We asked for a room with good internet service and were put on the 11th floor, which worked quite well. As someone else pointed out, the bathroom toiletries are soap in a wall dispenser, so bring your own shampoo and other necessities. The room did have a hair dryer, however, as well as a digital television. (from NCIS to Gaelic language programs) The hotel is only a stone's throw from the Mitchell Library, where I did work most days, and the staff there were welcoming and gracious. We took the train from Charing Cross to get to the Subway, and from there around Glasgow. (Recommend Caledonia Book Store near the Kelvinbridge exist of the subway for a good selection in diverse areas.) Charing Cross station is not the main station in town, but when we arrived at Glasgow Central from England we took a taxi the short ride and, without luggage thereafter, could connect by Charing Cross to all the trains we wanted. We did not try their breakfast and got the room for a very reasonable price (29 pounds most nights). If in Glasgow again, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awarely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Second visit to a Premier Inn hotel within the glasgow area this year, however first visit to this hotel based upon the price as it was £19 per room per night. Check inn was what anyone would expect from premier inn. Quick and efficient. Room clean and comfortable. Bigger rooms in the hotel end in 05/06 so ask for one of them! Close to all clubs and theatre 5 mins walk to bus station. Dinner was good lovely host Maridh lovely and so welcoming and had a couple of jokes with us. Was Recommended a few clubs to go to by staff which was good.

Room Tip: ask for one ending in 05 or 06 as they are biggest as it shows you on the room plan on the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We are from Australia. Stayed for 2 nights. Room was very clean and comfortable. Exxcellent view. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast/dinner deal was good value. Need to book for breakfast and keep to the time which other guests did not do and were quite upset they couldn't get a table. Staff however were calm and professional. Charing Cross station next door, but no noise from it. 15 minute walk to Sauchiehall Street and Original Sightseeing bus. Ideal location for sightseeing, eating. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Discuss with staff if not happy with room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £47 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing