We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #52 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 28 June 2012

As frequent visitors to Glasgow we have used the Argyll Street Premier Inn believing the other Premier Inns to be out of town.A chance remark led us to discover this excellent budget hotel close to the city centre within walking distance of Centre and West End and with train and taxi links a minute's walk away.We found staff helpful and food excellent. Reception can get very congested at times. Overall very pleased and will return.Easy connections to the Airport as well.Staying here leaves all options open for getting around.We were on the 10th floor and it was a very tranquil location-no noise from outside at all.

Room Tip: Higher floors might be quieter-less noise from outside anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuala1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,797 - 1,803 of 2,269 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

I stay in a lot of hotels with work and premier inns although not glamourous are usually a safe bet - you know what you're getting.

This was the worst premier inn I've stayed in and was really disappointed - a tower block, with tiny rooms that resembled student halls. Very basic and not at all your typically mid range business/city hotel.

The location again wasn't great and didn't feel that safe.It was central-ish and walking distance to the actual 'city centre' but about 25 mins walk. Next to a motorway, opposite a lap dancing club (100m) and a train stain under the building.

Would definitely suggest elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high level of standards in all our establishments, and we sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed two nights for a very reasonable sum of money. We were on the 12th floor with great views out over the city. The room was clean and tidy and staff were helpful. The only downside to my stay was the fire alarm test at around 10am on a Wednesday morning. This sounded without warning and could have caused quite a panic to guests on high floors. I was only informed it was a test when I contacted reception.

Stayed: June 2012
1  Thank Doaghtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This tower block hotel is typical of a city centre business hotel which is what most guests seemed to be. It is situated next to Charing Cross station and is about 25 minutes walk from the city centre and Queen St and Central stations.The rooms are very small with little space to put clothes in what is best described as an open wardrobe.The bed however is superb(as they guarantee a good nights sleep) and the bathroom adequate. There is soap and shower gel dispensers in the bathroom,towels changed daily and tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfast is £8.25 and is ok for a buffet with the added extra that the chef will cook porridge or poached egg if you ask. The a la carte dinner is again ok for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennis6611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here a couple of weekends ago for going to see Westlife at the SECC, which was very close and probably within walking distance. However we took a taxi and was only about £5 each way. Would be beneficial to get directions and walk home though as we waited over an hour for a taxi. Check in staff was not very helpful and I had to ask for coffee etc for the room. Room was spacious however the bathroom was tiny.

Restraunt staff in the evening and morning were all very friendly and helpful. The young male who was working in the evening (unsure of his name) was very nice and kept us laughing through our meal. Excellent service!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I love Scotland and Glasgow! Lovely hotel! :)
The beds were perfect and the rooms were small but nice. They had a good standar, clean rooms.

The onyl thing that was bad, we had a room in the third floor so we didnt get to see much, the windows were dirty from outside and windows can not be opened and the breakfast buffee was awful! The restaurant is much better when you have a la carte menu later at the day.

I would definatly come back, slept sooo good! Rigth next to the undergound and driving taxi is so cheap in Scotland. A lot to do and see there too! Didnt talk so much with the staff, so i have no idea what to say about them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up to get a view! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yolosdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Saker S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £45 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing