We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #51 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Big clean comfortable bed, good warm powerful shower, clean towels every day. low reasonable price. no fancy stuff. Just what you need if your just looking for a place to stay for a couple of nights while going about your business.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    769
    386
    141
    84
See reviews for
435
674
171
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my sister in February 2013 as we were going to a gig. I cannot praise the reception staff enough for the attitude and service we received from them. It was outstanding! Lovely room, clean, spacious. The noise protecting windows worked wonders. The bathroom was nice and clean, and all the facilities were fine, good tv, kettle etc. breakfast the next day was delicious, we were very happy and I would stay here again and my sister and I plan to stay here every time we come to Glasgow now.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

we have stayed here a couple of times & it is a good quiet city centre hotel. The shops are within 10 minutes walking distance & there are plenty of restuarants around

Glasgow itself is a lovely place to explore - we tried the motor museum this time. There are also walks along the river so you can get an idea ofthe city shipbuilding heritage.

Room Tip: rooms higher up are probably best - but is well insulated so no road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

This hotel is centrally located , they have big family rooms,the rooms are clean and modern. And the breakfast is exceptional and all for a pittance

Its a steal and must not be sniffed at. Perfect nights sleep .Great staff too

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJellyFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

I often use Premier Inn as I travel a fair bit.
I have to say, the Charing Cross inn was great!
I stayed in February 2013, for two nights with my partner. For £59 a night, the room was fab! comfy double bed with extra bedding and pillows, lots of lighting, a very clean shower, toilet and bath and great heating controls.

Positive points (11+!)
- The fantastic staff and reception, quick and easy check-in and check-out process, good food and atmosphere, sleep quality, the excellent view of glasgow, modern and functional rooms (includes hairdryer, lots of towels and bedding, and kettle), the safety, quietness, security and comfort of rooms and building. Very pleased.

Negative points: (Only two!)
- Slightly grotty bathrooms. NOT dirty - just out of date and discolouring. Perfectly clean but needs updated, as it looks dingy and lets the rest of the room down.
- A little bit noisy in the corridors, and noise can be heard from other rooms. No noise from the outside, but a little noisy inside the building.

Despite being literally metres away from the motorway, their sound-proofing is very good. I slept like a baby! Not much noise at all. The corridor and other residents are a bit noisy, but this is not the hotels fault. Possibly better soundproofing in the rooms?

The location is very good; right on top of Charing Cross train station - excellent for nights out too - The Garage, Campus and Buchanan Galleries just around the corner. Quiet, secure, and comfortable. We felt safe in the room and the reception was open 24/7.
The staff were absolutely impeccable - one of the main reasons I will be back. The reception girls and restaurant staff were just fab - very helpful, polite, informative and dressed very smartly. Good sense of humour too! They made me feel comfortable and welcome, I was very impressed. Other staff in hotels I stayed in (Hilton, EasyHotel) have not been as friendly, informative or polite.
The food was very good despite being pretty cheap, and was served quickly. Was great to have as part of our package, no hassle. The whole system is great - booking, checking in and out, adding things to my package, even the cleaning is done while I was out - very handy!

The only thing that lets the rooms down is the bathrooms. Although very functional and tidy, they have not been furnished like the bedrooms have. Having stayed in various different rooms in three different Premier Inns, the Charing Cross bathrooms let the rooms down.
They are slightly grotty and dingy - although they are very clean, the sealant around the tiles and the tiles themselves are a bit dated and dirty looking, just with age I think.
It's not very modern looking, and was a bit of a let down. However, the toilet, sink and tub were very clean, and working perfectly. For £50 - £90, I can't really complain. Functional, but just needs updated. The hallways between rooms are also a bit grotty - the carpet was uneven in some places, with a dodgy off-white paint on the walls. Not very pleasant, but not a major complaint.
I very much enjoyed my stay and I will definitely be back. Thank you Premier Inn.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor, then the 11th - 4th wasn't so good view wise - if possible, get a front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j90s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Recently stayed here for two nights, found the hotel excellent value, we booked early and got the rooms for £19 a night, the rooms are comfortable, beds comfy and the staff are very freindly and helpfull. Breakfasts are good too, the baby grand restaurant across from the hotel is also very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pebbles656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Got caught out in Glasgow and had to stay the night unexpectedly. I've stayed here before and have always been satisfied with all aspects of the service. This time though , I had no booking and no advance warning. As someone just walking in off the street, it was rather in hope than expectation that I approched the desk. Tired and fed up , I was anticipating a rigmarole which I could do without. The desk staff could not have been friendlier or more efficient and helpful.I was expecting to get fleeced but I was amazed by their efforts to get me the best deal. In no time at all I had my room at a very good rate and with the minimum of fuss. The three staff on duty were a credit to their profession. I only remember one name badge which was a blonde lady called Mary.So Mary and your colleagues who were with you on that Sunday in February, thanks and if your bosses are reading this, GIVE THESE GIRLS A RISE

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ONLYTHEBEST4US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing