We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money & handy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #50 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Value for money & handy location”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I booked this hotel 2 months before my stay and got a great rate of £19 per night (room only). I have stayed in Glasgow a lot but had never stayed in any of the Premier Inns in the city.

I wanted a hotel that was easily accessible to the West side of the city as well as the city centre and this was great. I could be in Kelvingrove Park or Buchanan Street in 10 mins.

The hotel is next door to/above Charing Cross train station so there is some noise from this - usually limited to the occasional 'rumble' of trains or the sound of the female announcer! This didn't impact on me adversely and wouldn't deter me from staying here.

There was some noise from the corridors at night when people let their doors slam rather than closing them quietly but that can happen anywhere.

The hotel room was plain and simple but clean and tidy. Everything I would expect for the price. I didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on the food but the menu looked ok.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    819
    420
    152
    98
See reviews for
462
741
181
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here, along with a group of about a dozen on each occasion, to attend an exhibition. Despite a potentially complicated combination of bookings it was quickly and efficiently dealt with at check-in.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful. the only problem was a long wait for dinner on the first night as there was a very high demand and insufficient staff, but this was not a problem subsequently.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElginHolidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Big clean comfortable bed, good warm powerful shower, clean towels every day. low reasonable price. no fancy stuff. Just what you need if your just looking for a place to stay for a couple of nights while going about your business.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my sister in February 2013 as we were going to a gig. I cannot praise the reception staff enough for the attitude and service we received from them. It was outstanding! Lovely room, clean, spacious. The noise protecting windows worked wonders. The bathroom was nice and clean, and all the facilities were fine, good tv, kettle etc. breakfast the next day was delicious, we were very happy and I would stay here again and my sister and I plan to stay here every time we come to Glasgow now.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

we have stayed here a couple of times & it is a good quiet city centre hotel. The shops are within 10 minutes walking distance & there are plenty of restuarants around

Glasgow itself is a lovely place to explore - we tried the motor museum this time. There are also walks along the river so you can get an idea ofthe city shipbuilding heritage.

Room Tip: rooms higher up are probably best - but is well insulated so no road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This hotel is centrally located , they have big family rooms,the rooms are clean and modern. And the breakfast is exceptional and all for a pittance

Its a steal and must not be sniffed at. Perfect nights sleep .Great staff too

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJellyFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I often use Premier Inn as I travel a fair bit.
I have to say, the Charing Cross inn was great!
I stayed in February 2013, for two nights with my partner. For £59 a night, the room was fab! comfy double bed with extra bedding and pillows, lots of lighting, a very clean shower, toilet and bath and great heating controls.

Positive points (11+!)
- The fantastic staff and reception, quick and easy check-in and check-out process, good food and atmosphere, sleep quality, the excellent view of glasgow, modern and functional rooms (includes hairdryer, lots of towels and bedding, and kettle), the safety, quietness, security and comfort of rooms and building. Very pleased.

Negative points: (Only two!)
- Slightly grotty bathrooms. NOT dirty - just out of date and discolouring. Perfectly clean but needs updated, as it looks dingy and lets the rest of the room down.
- A little bit noisy in the corridors, and noise can be heard from other rooms. No noise from the outside, but a little noisy inside the building.

Despite being literally metres away from the motorway, their sound-proofing is very good. I slept like a baby! Not much noise at all. The corridor and other residents are a bit noisy, but this is not the hotels fault. Possibly better soundproofing in the rooms?

The location is very good; right on top of Charing Cross train station - excellent for nights out too - The Garage, Campus and Buchanan Galleries just around the corner. Quiet, secure, and comfortable. We felt safe in the room and the reception was open 24/7.
The staff were absolutely impeccable - one of the main reasons I will be back. The reception girls and restaurant staff were just fab - very helpful, polite, informative and dressed very smartly. Good sense of humour too! They made me feel comfortable and welcome, I was very impressed. Other staff in hotels I stayed in (Hilton, EasyHotel) have not been as friendly, informative or polite.
The food was very good despite being pretty cheap, and was served quickly. Was great to have as part of our package, no hassle. The whole system is great - booking, checking in and out, adding things to my package, even the cleaning is done while I was out - very handy!

The only thing that lets the rooms down is the bathrooms. Although very functional and tidy, they have not been furnished like the bedrooms have. Having stayed in various different rooms in three different Premier Inns, the Charing Cross bathrooms let the rooms down.
They are slightly grotty and dingy - although they are very clean, the sealant around the tiles and the tiles themselves are a bit dated and dirty looking, just with age I think.
It's not very modern looking, and was a bit of a let down. However, the toilet, sink and tub were very clean, and working perfectly. For £50 - £90, I can't really complain. Functional, but just needs updated. The hallways between rooms are also a bit grotty - the carpet was uneven in some places, with a dodgy off-white paint on the walls. Not very pleasant, but not a major complaint.
I very much enjoyed my stay and I will definitely be back. Thank you Premier Inn.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor, then the 11th - 4th wasn't so good view wise - if possible, get a front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j90s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#17 of 95 in Glasgow
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Central
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#10 of 95 in Glasgow
404 reviews
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing