We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #49 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
uk
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Hotel room was spotlessly clean. I had a room on the 8th floor with a great view over Glasgow. Staff were really lovely particularly Caroline in the restaurant who was just so helpful friendly, and extremely professional- a credit to the hotel . The food in thyme exceeded my expectations . I will certainly stay again when I'm next in Glasgow .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkDarcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    831
    427
    155
    100
See reviews for
481
749
186
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night with family member in 2twin rooms
Rooms clean but bathrooms didn't have working soap dispensers and the bar didn't have Drambuie in stock"...........disgraceful.......... meaning I had to drink whiskey and end up with the mother of all headaches the next day
The staff were really pleasant though!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. We are glad to see that you found our rooms to be clean and our Team to be really pleasant, they will be happy to hear this! We will be sure to get our Maintenance Team to check over the soap dispensers and be sure to get the Drambuie stocks built up for your next visit.

Once again thank you for your review, we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here last week as we were going to the theatre and it was so handy,we were pleasantly surprised with the hotel as we had never stayed in a premier inn before,we were on the eighth floor and the view over Glasgow was stunning.the bed was huge could have slept four,the room was spotless and staff were friendly.there was a good variety at breakfast and was good quality.
Overall good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catthiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thanks for your review of Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn. It is great that our clean hotel, helpful friendly staff and facilities met your expectations and that the big beds made your stay a comfortable one. We endeavour to deliver the highest level of service in all our establishments and your feedback helps us focus on doing this. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn on your next trip to Glasgow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
450 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I'd actually score this at three and a half if you could give half marks. We stayed here because it was convenient (ish) for SECC. Spent two nights in a family room with our two boys. I've certainly had bigger rooms at premier inn but it was certainly clean enough.

The hotel itself is a high rise block which isn't terribly attractive and with low ceilings inside can be a little claustrophobic. Probably could do with a bit of a facelift. Having said that, it was certainly pretty good value for a stay in Glasgow.

We ate in the restaurant one night and it was fine, although they'd run out of a few things which was disappointing. I got the feeling they were missing some staff too.

Breakfast was good, the typical premier inn fayre.

Staff were all really pleasant and helpful.

Parking available in NCP next door at a price.

Would consider again but maybe also look at other premier inns as there are a few in Glasgow.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hawklord_pxr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyiv, Kyyivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Disadvantages:
Wouldn’t stay here again.
- It felt like a huge assembly line, where you are an insignificant screw.
- The personnel on the night shift is atrocious, talking to them was little different from taking to robots.
- In the evening there are many questionable characters in the lobby and in the lifts.
- The worst thing: I got sick after spending one night under their air conditioning system. I felt sore for about a week. In case you didn’t think it was a coincidence, my husband also felt under the weather on the first morning, but he managed to recover faster.
- The room was so small: forget all swinging (no cats, no dogs etc.).
- It was a rolling bed (there were rolls attached to the legs), so whenever you leaned against it, it started moving, which on several occasions almost led to an accident.
- Wi-Fi was free only the first 30 minutes. Such generosity – lost for words. They offer it for free in the cheapest of hotels now.
Advantages:
- in the city centre
- right above the train station
- good breakfast at the Brewer’s Fayre
- apart from the air conditioning and the racing bed, the sleep quality was good
- check-out is at 12 noon
Final grade: C-------

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna_I_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed last week in this hotel and had a room on the 7th floor with views over Glasgow. It was a good experience, the staff, young, friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable and it is ideally situated right next to Charing Cross Station for a quick (2 minute ride9 into the City Centre, Queen Street Station. £ 1.50 off peak return. Buses to the north west run past on Bath Street and one street up, Sauchihall St. the buses run into the centre. Ideally situated right next to the motorway and also for parking.
With Premier Inns in my 20 year experience, you get what you pay for and a guaranteed good nights sleep.
The downside is, that if coming from Glasgow Airport on the express bus, you are dropped off quite a way down from the hotel and the walk up Pitt Street is quite steep and tiring with baggage. On my return I took a taxi to the airport and it cost £19.80 one way. Worth it.
I ate in the Thyme restaurant within the hotel. the full breakfast is very heavy on the fat, fried sausage, bacon, hash browns, tomato and mushrooms plus a fried egg or as an alternative scrambled egg. Otherwise the Light breakfast was excellent, especially the freshly made porridge. In the evening, most menus seemed to be served with french fries but the food is freshly cooked and value but certainly not to eat for nights at a time. There are hundreds of eateries in the area so the choice is great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swiscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Great location right at charing cross low level train station, one stop from queens street station. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the room reasonably sized set on a corner so two large windows and a great view over the city rooftops. As I had read reviews here I phoned the hotel prior to arriving to ask for one of the larger rooms and we were happy with the room we were allocated. TV, hairdryer and a plug in heater in the room and a lovely deep bath with piping hot water and plenty of towels. There were tea/coffee making facilities in the room and the beds were reasonably comfortable. I would definitely go back to this hotel as it is a few minutes walk from King Tuts and great value for money.

Room Tip: I phoned beforehand to ask for one of the larger rooms, so worth a try. The corner room was quite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosylips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Central
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
504 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#32 of 93 in Glasgow
3,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing