We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #51 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“2 nights stay”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here for two nights with my husband room was clean, only issue was i was a little cold, staff were friendly, enjoyed breakfast both mornings.
Its a very handy hotel if your planning a trip to kings Theatre and its literally right beside charing cross

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liannekennedy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thanks for your review. Its great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn. It remains our main objective to provide a high standard of service and we’re so pleased you feel we achieved this on the cleanliness of your room and your breakfast each morning. I am sorry to hear that you were a little cold. We do have extra portable heaters that can be provided as well as the in-room heating, please do not hesitate to ask if this is an issue again for you. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Premier Inn on your next trip to Glasgow. Thanks once again for taking the time to review your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    796
    398
    147
    91
See reviews for
452
711
173
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Great stay with very helpful staff room was clean very good for a budget hotel. Bargain at only £29 per night. Within walking distance to city center or only £6 for a taxi if its raining. Plenty of places to stay in the area and plenty of bars.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevewalker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thanks for your great review of Premier Inn Glasgow City Charing Cross. It's nice to hear our Team looked after you on your stay and provided you with a clean and comfortable room. Our location is very good for getting out and about in the city and close to many bars too just minutes away on Sauchiehall Street. Be sure to keep an eye on our main website for all our best prices and offers! We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I use Premier Inns for business and have found them, in the main, really good value for this, so as I needed a hotel in central Glasgow for one night at short notice I went for another Premier Inn. There are several in Glasgow and this one was well placed for bars and a choice of restaurants. It's right next to the station and on a very busy road but the secondary glazing on top of double glazing took care of that. The hotel is in an old tower block and the public areas are ok, clean and tidy. Staff were pleasant and helpful even when they overcharged for room and breakfast they sorted it out promptly without problems. Breakfast to usual good standard with plenty of choice. Car parking outside on street or in car park, at additional cost, next door. Now on to the rooms. We had two rooms for three adults. The adult on their own managed ok in the tiny room and even smaller bathroom. The two adults in the other room struggled. Rooms were 1011 and 1015. There is only a tiny bit of clothes hanging space and that is difficult to access as the minuscule dressing table blocks access to it. If you have anything other than a hand luggage sized case with you, there us nowhere at all for it to go, it will simply block the door or take up floor space, really dangerous. The space around the bed on one side is barely big enough to get in and out of and there are several really sharp corners at floor level on which to catch your toes - my husband can testify to this as he has the injured toe to prove it. The TV is very small and wall mounted, worked ok. In the bathroom the loo is so close to the wall it's just useable, the shelf over the sink makes it difficult for anyone over 5 feet 6 inches to wash their face as they'll bang their head while doing so. Soap dispensers barely part with their contents making showering a bit of a challenge. In my view these rooms should not be let as doubles, they are only large enough for one person. I note from the floor plan that there are several of these rooms on each floor, suggest when booking you ask for room with sofa bed as these look considerably bigger. The room decor is pretty sparse and much more functional than many Premier Inns that I've stayed at, felt very down market in room, not good value for the price at all. All in all the in room part of this stay was very disappointing. Wouldn't stay here again, there are newer Premiers in City and I'd go for them. An overall suggestion for Premier Inns is to sort out the standardisation of their hotel rooms, some are very poor and almost cell like compared with others and that puts me off using them again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fromhome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high quality of accommodation in all our establishments, and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. As you mention we are a converted office block tower and this means that some of our rooms are a little off model to a purpose built Premier Inn, however your comments have been noted and we will be sure to pass these on to the Property Team for review.

I am glad though to hear that our Team and Breakfast were to the usual high standard you have come to expect from your visits to many Premier Inn hotels and if you do decide to come back with us again in the future please feel free to call in advance where we can try to allocate you a room of your choice if possible.

Once again thank you for your feedback, and we do hope to welcome you back to one of our many Premier Inn hotels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Good value,comfortable,quiet in a great location. Helpful staff particularly the bar manager who was on his own and really busy.we were on the eight floor and the views across the city were great. Shops, restaurants and bars all within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a good stay and you found our location convenient during your travels and had a nice visit to our bar before retiring to your room to admire the views! Thanks again and the Team look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Whilst visiting friends, rebooked this hotel after staying last October.
Requested the same room prior to stay which was reserved for me without hesitation.
Ideally located for train station and also shopping area too.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugeabbafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your top rating of your recent stay at Premier Inn Glasgow City Charing Cross. The Team are delighted that you rated us top marks for all aspects of your stay and it's great to see that the Team managed to fulfill your room request from your previous visit with us a few months ago. We look forward to welcoming you back in April!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The facilities were better than I expected as was the level of cleanliness and comfort.The staff were most helpful not only to me but when dealing with other guests. I would not fault this experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre Charing Cross. It's great to see that we exceeded your expectations and that the Team were most helpful to all our guests. We strive to deliver the best in customer service and great reviews like this help us to know we are on the right track! Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Good location near the city centre and most attractions, Right next door to Charing cross station. Next to multi=storey car park with reduce rates for hotel users, Clean spacious rooms with helpful staff

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre Charing Cross. It's great to see that our location proved well for you and that you found our Team to be helpful throughout your stay. Our Housekeeping Team do their best daily to deliver clean and comfortable rooms to our guests and it's great to see that you felt we achieved this. Thanks again and we hope to see you on your next trip to Glasgow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing