We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff not to blame”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #50 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Staff not to blame”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My girls bought this for Christmas, lovely gift, the 2 days Friday 14th and Saturday 15th February, So we thought great break, good time and one of the hotels we have not stayed in before. Travelled down from Aberdeen got taxi to hotel as was not sure where it was, On arrival the reception was busy but the staff dealt with it well, its a 12th storey hotel we were given 9th floor(924) but that's no problem. Entering the room it is very small even for a budget hotel, bathroom the smallest we have ever seen, and the so-called King-Size Hypnos Bed WAS NOT!
It was a 3/4 bed with no Hypnos mattress and certainally not enough room to swing a cat ? ! ? !
I do not know how old the hotel is but it looks as it needs a re-furbish before now . As it was Valentines my wife and I went to the restaurant for a meal as weather was dreadful(rain & snow)
decided to order the meal deal good value( 3 course dinner & eat as much as you can Breakfast) for £23 each , the restaurant was quite busy but got table right away ! All staff running about like headless chickens !!!!! Surely extra staff on because of the day and big parties of dance group children ? ? ? Bad Management Eh ! But the staff working the restaurant that night did everything to please the customer, I know because I work in the trade as a Head Chef, the food was good ,tasty and well presented as well as being hot . Could not sleep that night because of the bed and that has never happened before, I always get a good nights sleep in a Premier Inn and even my wife who can sleep anywhere did not sleep to well either. Went to the close by shops of the plenty as it is close to Sauchiehall street and all the centres(walking in 10mins) on Saturday had plenty of food to eat during the day so did not eat in the restaurant that night , so stayed in room to watch T.V. only to be disturbed by the room next door heaps of screaming females( ok fair enough its Saturday night) but at 3:45am it started again with party poppers ,slamming doors and loud giggles and laughing so yet again not much sleep ! ! ! The room very hot asked cleaner if she could open windows as we could not but nobody did anything to help us there. Went for Breakfast Sunday morning beautiful well organised plenty staff (if not maybe too many) well -cooked and presented again very tasty. As I had a foot operation in December I need room at table for my Air-Boot and there is plenty.
Was going to complain about the room but reception very busy as we left at 11am Sunday .
"They say a good hotel needs great staff " but the staff are let down by a tired and run-down hotel

Room Tip: I do not know if any room bigger than the one we had
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan and Caroli... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    797
    399
    146
    91
See reviews for
452
714
173
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I had an excellent night stay at Premier Inn and would stay at this hotel again as this is my second stay at this hotel in the past year. I also like the location of the hotel as it is close Glasgow centre but far enough away that it had peaceful surroundings at night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thanks for your lovely review regarding Premier Inn Charing Cross. It's great to hear that you have stayed with us before and we're pleased that you found your most recent stay to be peaceful. A great night sleep is very important to us, so much so we guarantee it. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

For the price it was a perfect night, room, may be small but for one night no problem. - how much do which to pay for space which you do not use much. Breafast the next very good specially the eat as much as you wish breakfast.


  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thanks for your great review. Its great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at Premier Inn Charing Cross. We were delighted to hear that you had a perfect night. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn very soon. Thanks once again for taking the time to review your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Another great stay.
Yes some of the rooms are on the small side, but I think the staff really make up for that.
The restaurant staff really go the extra mile! They are so helpful , and the food is always just amazing and plentiful. Thanks to all the team for their efforts.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkDarcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Many thanks for your Premier review! It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We’re so pleased to hear that you had another lovely stay with us here at Premier Inn Charing Cross. Thanks for your comments regarding both the restaurant team and our food, I know the team will be delighted to receive your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatehouse of Fleet, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Reasonable stay, food in the restaurant disappointed though, as was cold on arrival to table and had to repeatedly ask for drinks and condiments, possibly due to being understaffed for the amount of people in the restaurant. Staff friendly and rooms clean and fresh feeling.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael1991duff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you found our team friendly and our rooms to be clean and fresh. However, please accept my apologies for both the slow service you received in the restaurant and the temperature of your meal. Your comments regarding this have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at the hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We arrived earlier than they like on Friday, no problem, we were booked in and given keys in seconds. The stay has been brilliant, the staff just can't do enough and the rooms although old are very clean comfortable.

Room Tip: Top floor is so quite you could be on another planet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshirePandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review regarding your recent stay with us at Premier Inn Charing Cross. Your feedback is important to us and we are delighted that you had a brilliant stay. Your comments will be very well received by all our team members as they are committed to giving our guests the best possible service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Absolutely recommended! The Kings is literally on the doorstep and the central location is ideal. I will most certainly return. Good breakfast and plenty of it with exceptional staff. And at a £29 advanced booking price per room the whole weekend was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review regarding your recent stay at Premier Inn Glasgow city Charing Cross. It's great to see that our location came in handy for your visit to the Kings Theatre - as you say it really is on our doorstep! It also great to read you found our team to be excpetional and that you managed one of our 'All you can eat' breakfasts before you checked out. Thanks again for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing