We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but noisy Saturday night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #52 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Perfectly good Premier Inn in a slightly less salubrious part of town: didn't feel completely safe outside at times but the hotel itself felt okay. Very good value for my stay but unfortunately woken several times during the night thanks to inconsiderate guests. Par for the course on a Saturday night perhaps at this end of the market?

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. It's great to hear you found our hotel to be great value during your stay. However I was sorry to hear that your stay was disturbed by noise from other guests. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be sure to discuss with our Nights Team to increase corridor patrols to hopefully prevent this for future stays. I hope this unfortunate incident won;t stop you from returning and be sure to keep an eye on our main Premier Inn website for all our best rates!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,376 - 1,382 of 2,312 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel needs some work done. The rooms and bathrooms are tired and nowhere near as nice as other Premier Inns we've stayed at. It hasn't put me of staying at Premier Inns but I won't be coming back to this one. The service however from the front desk staff was fantastic- they couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful during check in or check out. 5* for the staff.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. Firstly it's great to hear that you found our Team to be fantastic and friendly - and giving them a 5 star rating, they will be delighted to see this. They really do work hard to deliver the best service possible and great feedback like this helps us to know we are all on the right track to doing so.

I am sorry though that you felt our hotel was a bit tired looking. Our hotel is one of the older Premier Inns and a little off model to the purpose built Premier Inns. However I will be sure to pass your feedback on to the relevant people at our property team to review.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to one of our many hotels in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay at premier inn as always! Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was a bit small but was very clean and perfect for what we needed which was just a place to stay. we ordered food from the bar which was very nice. Would always pick premier inn if it's just a bed for the night!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kirsty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I agree with previous reviewer. Location is central (very close to M8 and trains- this can be good or bad...depending if you need to stay in that area and if you cope with the noise and traffic). Room and bathroom very clean. Breakfast was ok. Staff and service very good. Check in and out very fast. In a nutshell a good value for money. I would not consider this for a holiday but for a business trip was fine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mmerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Finally got a Premier Inn room at a decent price and looked forward to the stay. On arrival there was nowhere to park except a nearby street out of site of the hotel, and no signs informing customers of the hotel where they should park. Had to carry heavy luggage quite a distance to the hotel reception. Arrived at reception and girl more focused on relaying all the compulsory bumf about trying to sell me dinner, breakfast, etc - and the good night guarantee and parking arrangements, etc. So much so - I forgot my room number (which wasn't written on the card they gave me) so I had to go back to reception to ask again and felt like a fool.
That said, the room was nice and clean, the bedding excellent, and a decent tv too, but the room was a bit cold and the temperature control panel didn't work so had to use the hairdryer! Overall, good value for a budget hotel and nothing so bad that I wouldn't go back again - but only because of it's nearby location in relation to the following day's work I have.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here in Feb 2014 with a friend in a twin room. Only paid £54 in total for both of us for two nights so was very happy with the price. Room was super clean and beds were very comfortable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jevgenijad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

just back from a short break in Glasgow.Great staff at reception and breakfast - welcoming, enthusiastic and informative.Easy walk to Kelvingrove or the city centre. Good value breakfast and great value overall.We had a room overlooking the motorway but never heard any traffic

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collierm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#64 of 93 in Glasgow
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £44 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing