We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better ones.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #50 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed here again on business. The hotel is perfectly located right beside the main road into the city and with a car-park behind which is important in Glasgow. The staff are excellent, very friendly and genuinely concerned that your stay is perfect. My room was large with a massive bed and was impeccably clean. I was on the 12th floor but there are three lifts and I never had to wait long on one. The breakfast, for a budget hotel, was amazing with lots and lots of choice. For convenience of location, price and the staff I would not stay anywhere else in Glasgow.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff they are always willing to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Secularkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,322 - 1,328 of 2,263 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

The room we had 1211 was tiny. The bed was not a king size like the advertise. The head board was filthy and we found a tablet under the bed. We asked for the head board to be cleaned and gave the tablet to the manager. The cleaner came and wiped the head board with a cloth which didn't make much difference.The manager just shrugged and mad an excuse about hair products and needing special chemicals to clean it. Oh, yes the tablet was just skirted over, good job there weren't any ypung children with us. Still had a good sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andysbarbershop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments regarding the room issues and how it was handled have been noted and I will personally follow this up with the Team at our hotel. I am happy to hear that you still had a good night's sleep but apologise again for the issues raised. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Oh what an average hotel! There is nothing wrong with this hotel at all but equally it is not exactly filled with personality or excitement... fine for a business trip but not for romance or anything like that. I would recommend breakfast or dinner or anything else across the courtyard at Baby Grand rather than in house - Baby Grand having been recommended actually being the reason I stayed there. I also went to a pub just around the corner - the Griffin which was also nice and not rough or busy (plenty of tables) even on a Friday evening but with nice beer

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doctor_Monkey_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

A comfy hotel, clean, in fact very clean. The rooms standard Premier inn, nice bed simple bathroom etc. My only problem was it was way to hot in the room and on my return later in the evening I couldn't no matter what i tried, I couldn't open either window. If it had not been close to midnight and i wasn't completely exhausted i would of contacted reception as i prefer to sleep with a open window.
Apart from that the place was good value for money, handy for city centre etc.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loudnorthernbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you found our hotel to be comfortable and very clean. The Team work at hard at delivering the highest standards and we are glad that you felt we achieved this for you.

I am sorry to hear that you had a small issue with the window. With our bedrooms being over a 12 storey building our windows are restricted in access for the safety purposes of all our guests. In saying that though each room still does have a window that will open so far to allow fresh air in to the room and our hotel is fitted with air conditioning. I apologise that you were unable to open the window and understand why you chose not to contact Reception. However our Team are here 24 hours so should you experience any such problem again in any of our hotels please do not hesitate to let us know - your safety and comfort are our main priority.

Thanks again for the kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The staff at this Premier Inn were very welcoming and excelled in their helpfulness. All was nice and clean and definitely value for money. It was really handy having the multi storey car park next door. We will definitely use this Inn again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

A comfortable hotel spotlessly clean with exceptionally friendly staff. Very nice breakfast and plenty of it with fresh items continuously being added to ensure a good selection no matter what time you were seated.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thanks for your review. Its great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn. It remains our main objective to provide a high standard and service and we’re so pleased you feel we achieved this.

Great to see also that you had a very nice breakfast to start of your day in the city. Thanks once again for taking the time to review your stay and we hope this is the first of many stays at Premier Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Arrived here thur 6.3.14 until sun 9.2.14 was checked in quick allocated 525 which I think was a family room because it was very big amd spacious compared to what others have wrote about double rooms being small.
A portable heater was in room which was very handy as we got soaked on the Thursday and dried our clothes on that.
Very well located we walked to sauchihall matter of 5mins and ur on the road lots of shops and bars waxy o conners and campus were our favs :) right next to charing Cross station ideal for the satday when went to Edinburgh for the rugby!
There is so much to see and do in glasgow we will have to come back again. Really enjoyed our stay here especially the breakfasts we had twice on our stay and drinks in the bar were reasonable to :) bed was massive could roll twice and only be in the middle hehe.
Staff friendly just a lovely place to go to will deffo recommend to people and me and my partner will be back in the future wish I was still there now :) thankyou to all at p.inn charing cross. Nadine and john dodd

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nad86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £44 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing