We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a premier inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #53 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I always stay in premier inns while traveling because you know what you will get ... this is not the case with this hotel. The first room we were given had the smallest "double" bed I've ever seen. The room itself was like a cabin on a boat. I Actually started to feel pretty clostrapobic in this room.thankfully the friendly staff moved us to a larger room and admitted that this was an old hotel and didn't conform to standards set. Can I mention that you do not get told this while booking.

The room we got moved to is larger however much like the rest of the hotel its dirty. The carpet is the first thing you notice. It is long past dew a change out. It seems the staff have given up with it as all edges are very dusty. There is dust on everything. There is no plugs next to the bed being everyone now has phones this seems an oversight.

On to the worst. The bed... a comfortable night this is not. The bed is 2 singles pushed together each with their own separate mattress I keep finding my self falling into the gap in the middle . In one side the mattress is bigger than the base ands when I moreover there the whole bed falls to the floor. The mattresses are hard rock hard nothing like the normal comfy mattresses I'm used to . Pillows supplied are the same . All in room furniture is chipped and damaged. TV doesn't work either some broke pixels and a remote half works. The bathroom reminds me of a primary school bathroom from the 90s . There is an awful smell that seeps into the main room from the bathroom which is very off putting. I'm not sure why this hotel is allowed to operate under the brand but it is not what I've come to expect . I would never stay here again and will have to think twice about using the brand in general.

Ive 2 more night in this hotel and I'm really not sure I can stick it the smell is the worst .i may book in else where and request my "it wasn't a good night sleep" refund

Room Tip: floor nine rooms are tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Conor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured the issues you raised will be fully looked in to.

We believe that you are still in-house at the hotel and we will do our best to contact you today to help resolve this for you for the remainder of your stay. If we are unable to get in contact I will be happy to look further in to this for you if I can ask that you email further details and your reservation number.

Kind Regards,

Jamie Cattigan
operationsmanager.glasgowcharingcross@whitbread.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,414 - 1,420 of 2,399 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel many times and always been treated very well. This time we were attending an event in The Hydro. Happened to mention to the two friendly girls on reception that we were celebrating our golden wedding and the hotel/hydro visit were part of our present from our family. From that moment forth we were treated like royalty. They put us in one of the superior rooms. We were no sooner in the room when one of the receptionists knocked on the door to give us a lovely card congratulating us on our anniversary and we were treated to a complimentary breakfast next morning. Had a drink in the bar after the show and the bar staff were friendly and attentive as well. The staff in the restaurant were equally as pleasant and interested in our celebrations. Can't praise the hotel enough from every aspect. Would recommend it to others - in fact we have done so after previous visits, and this was by no means our last visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review on your stay with us from during your Golden Wedding Anniversary. It's so good to see that you both thouroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that the little touches the Team done to make it even more memorable for you were so well received - they will be so happy to see your kind comments praising them.

Thank you again for the review and for continuing to recommend our hotel. We look forward to making every future visit just as memorable for you both.

Happy Anniversary from all the Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I picked the Premier Inn Charing Cross for a few reasons,I was attending a concert at the SECC Hydro Arena (15/20 min walk from hotel to the arena and about the same to the main part of the city) also the train station is beside the hotel and it suited my travel needs. (It is a short walk to Sauchiehall Street where you will find shops places to eat and a 24 hour grocery shop).

From Check –in to Check –out I found that all staff very friendly and helpful, they answered any questions that I had and made suggestions of things to Do/Go and See.

I found the bedroom small but that was because there was a Double bed and two Single beds in the room (it did not effect my stay), it was clean and with all amenities in working order. The bathroom was the only disappointment it was in need of a make over. The bed was very comfy and I got a great night sleep.

Breakfast was adequate a reasonable choice of hot food and continental, the sausages looked bit under cooked. Other than that it was a good and plentiful.
I ate in the dining room and had a lovely meal in pleasant surroundings and found staff very attentive and friendly.

I would use this hotel again when visiting Glasgow; it ticked all the boxes for what I needed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us. It's great to see that you would use us again and that you feel you got good value on your visit - and most of all had a great nights sleep! We will be sure to take up on your comments regarding the breakfast sausages and pass on your feedback regarding the bathrooms to our porperty team.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff would recommend to a friend. Ideal location with train station on the door step. Walking distance to main shopping centre. Family friendly restaurant and bar area with a laid back atmosphere.


  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. It's great to see you gave us top marks for your visit and we are so glad you found us to be value for money with our friendly team and that our location suited you well on your visit.

Be sure to keep an eye on our main website for all our best rates and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Want a hotel within 15 minutes walking distance from the SECC, Hydro and Clydeside Auditorium? The Premier Inn at Charing Cross is the answer! With easy access from the M8 and a NCP car park next door (discounted rates available) it couldn't be easier by car. There is also a tube station next door! With all the usual Premier Inn facilities and easy booking inn process getting settled in your room is simple. Some rooms are quite compact, but if you are going out for the evening and just looking for somewhere to rest your head, it is adequate. On the 1st floor is the Mezzanine restaurant and bar, with all the usual favourite meals and refreshments, all at reasonable prices! Word of warning, the bar/restaurant doesn't open till 5pm daily, so if you are going out to an early show, you might want to head out for a meal.
If you can book in advance and are able to commit to a Premier Saver booking (no amendments allowed) you can get yourself a real bargain. A city centre hotel for £29 is possible, less than the average concert ticket! You can't say fairer than that!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank DFR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thanks for your recent review on your stay at our hotel. We really are perfectly located for the SECC and Hydro events and as you mention have great access to the motorway too. I'm glad to see that you found our check in efficient and you found the restaurant and bar to have a good offering at reasonable prices.

Thank you again for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again on your next visit away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

had a blast in Glasgow, hotel was clean & great value, bars were great but some of them were quiet, went to see kelvingrove museum & the transport museum, both free and worth a visit.
price of drinks was good and the people were friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankgclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thanks for your review. Good to see you all had a great time on your weekend in Glasgow and happy to see that you found our team to be friendly. We hope to see you all back at Premier Inn on your next trip away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here last weekend as we were attending a rock oncert at the Secc. At check in I asked if we could have a room on a high floor which overlooked the river Clyde the receptionist was most helpful and allocated us a room on the top floor, we were not disappointed what a view. The room was most comfortable, lovely bathroom with a bath and shower. Breakfast the next morning was fab plenty of choice. The staff were very friendly and helpful we would certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PL1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for such a kind review. It's great to see you had such a lovely stay with us and that we were able to help get you a higher room with a great view - the views really are great over the city from most of our rooms. It's great to see you found your room comfortable and our team to be very friendly and helpful. Also good to see you managed to get your next day off to a great start with our All You Can Eat Breakfast and you enjoyed the choice on offer!

Thanks again for taking the time to leave your review and fantastic to see you will use us again - we look forward to seeing you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £47 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing