We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room but good standard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #49 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Small room but good standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night to attend a concert. Have stayed in a fair few Premier Inn's and always choose them over other budget hotels. This one had the usual pleasant staff and clean rooms, if a bit on the small side, but does the job for one night. Cracking view from the 11th floor though

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HazelB1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review on your stay at our hotel. We are glad to see that you found our Team to be pleasant and the room to be clean and that it suited you for your one night stay. We do have three different sized rooms at this hotel and if you hopefully choose to stay again please feel free to call in advance where we can try our best to allocate a bigger room if needed, depending on availability.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    769
    386
    142
    84
See reviews for
435
675
171
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We go to the Glasgow Film Festival each February and this year I booked the Charing Cross Premier Inn by mistake. We normally stay at the Buchanan Galleries one, which is next to Cineworld. Premier Inns are ideal for this type of stay, where what you are basically looking for is a bed and not a lot of hotel amenities. The room was £29 for each of the three nights, so even adding breakfast made it a very cheap stay. Breakfast was fine with freshly prepared poached eggs, and a reasonable buffet. Service was friendly and efficient. The room was what you expect in a Premier Inn, fairly basic but comfortable, particularly the bed.
As it turned out there were some advantages to this location compared to Buchanan Galleries. The NCP carpark with preferential rates for long stays is next to the station and hotel, so it was no distance to take our luggage. One stop west from Charing Cross on frequent trains takes you to Partick, and there are signed footpaths and short walks from there to the Riverside Museum and Kelvingrove Museum and Art Gallery. There is a good selection of restaurants at this western end of Sauchiehall Street, and the Glasgow Film Theatre where most of our films were on is a short stroll away.
Because this end of the city centre is less popular than Buchanan Galleries and the merchant city it seems to have more availability and better rates. From thinking I had made a mistake in booking this location I ended up thinking it was a good choice. It is also very close to the motorway and quick to reach and get away from. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petefLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your nice review on our hotel for your recent stay. We're glad to see you felt you made a good choice and that you received good value for money during your stay with us. It means a lot to us that you recognised the Team to be friendly and efficient - thank you for this. It is also great to see you found the bed to be comfortable and hopefully managed a great nights sleep.

Thanks again for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Budget hotels are OK - a bed & a shower.
The restaurant is just a joke.

My company paid for a "meal deal" for two nights. I asked for a refund for the second night.

House salad is completely inedible, I had to ask what it was supposed to be (seriously!). It was a bit of thinly sliced carrot & cabbage, probably cut some weeks ago and left to dry out in the kitchen. It came with the starter and then came back again with the main (even after I'd asked what it was & the waitress had fe my comments to the kitchen - she said)

Nothing is fresh

Expect frozen shoved in the deep fat frier / oven

WIFI!
Why do they charge? You can go into any local coffee shop / fast food place and get it unlimited for free.
They do give you a free 30 minutes - wow wee! arren't they generous?

The hotel is what you would expect from a budget chain - it's OK
Premier Inn ruin them by really really terrible food

Room Tip: Just don't eat here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmccnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay whether this be the bedrooms, service or the food in our restaurants.

I am sorry to hear that the 'house slaw' garnish that comes with a few of our dishes did not meet your expectations. This product is a recent addition to our menu and please be assured I will be happy to share your feedback with our Menu Development team for review.

Premier Inn are also working on the Wi-Fi issue you have raised. As you mention we do currently offer 30 minutes free each day to every guest and then a £3 charge for a further 24 hours. Work is in progress on this and we hope to offer you more in the coming months.

Thank you again for your feedback and we will be sure to take action on the issues you raised. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Premier Inn again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and I were staying for the second time in almost as many months due to another hospital visit for our little'un. I cannot say just how great the staff were in looking after us during our stay. The hotel is always very well presented, it's in a great location for almost anything, the underground station literally just outside the entrance makes it a great place as a base for exploring around the city. The rooms are a nice size and I've never faulted them on cleanliness. The restaurant is very good too with a great choice. The one thing I would say is best of all are the staff, always pleasant, very helpful and never without a smile, no matter the time of day or night (as we found out). I would recommend staying here wholeheartedly, having stayed in (moderately expensive) hotels in Washington DC, New York and London, the staff here has some of the best customer service we have seen.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south / west areas have the best views over the river, especially at sunset / evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review. It's great to see that this visit was just as fantastic as your previous one. The Team are delighted to read your kind comments about them and this is very much appreciated that you have taken the time to acknowledge this.

We hope to welcome you all back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

me and my husband stayed here for my 50th and wedding aniversary we had a brilliant time from moment we went the staff especially (glyn) made our stay here special with banners in our room and chocs and cards and the breakfast treat of them amazing they made us feel so special thank you for that ,the food was really good not far to walk to shops bars resturants plenty will recomend this hotel to all friends and family and we will be back glyn is a credit to hotel thank you again .april and billyx

Room Tip: go here you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calips01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leak such a glowing review. It's great to see that you gave us top marks for all aspects of your review and we are so happy to see that we helped contribute towards a brilliant stay for you and your husband.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The staff and location were great but the room itself was very sub-par. My wife and I managed to get a deal on a few nights so it was worth it, but I would never pay the standard rate. The room was small, the bed felt like a piece of plywood, and the television was about as big as my hand. Probably wouldn't return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATXHungerSquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review on your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we strive to ensure that every guest has a clean and comfortable stay in all our hotels and I apologise if we never met this for you on this occassion.

Hopefully you managed to raise your issues with reception during your stay and we were able to assist you on them. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to get in contact with your details and reservation number and I would be happy to look in to this for you if needed.

Kind Regards,

Jamie Cattigan
operationsmanager.glasgowcharingcross@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-furness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel is in great location next to the M8 with easy, reasonably priced parking next door and within five minutes walk of main shopping areas and local theatre. The views from our tenth floor windows were breath-taking. Breakfast above average for a Premier Inn. All restaurant staff helpful without being intrusive. All staff cheerful and reception team helpful and well informed when asked about local tourist attractions. I will definitely stay at this hotel on my next visit to Glasgow.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review on your recent stay at our hotel. It's great to see our location suited you well on your visit and that you found all our Team to be cheerful and helpful throughout your visit - the Team will be delighted to see this.

It's fantastic to see you will definately stay again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing