We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #50 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very comfortable night”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

One night stop for early business appointment next day. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Meals were excellent. Would definitely use it again.
Try it out

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Fantastic to see you had such a comfortable stay with us. Top marks for our Rooms, our Team and our Restaurant is very much appreciated. We are glad to know that we helped make your short trip away from home a more relaxing and enjoyable experience for you. Thanks again and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    819
    420
    152
    98
See reviews for
462
741
181
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This place simply fails to impress. However at circa £50 for a double room it isn't bad value - and not over-priced either. Pokey room which was most claustrophobic, basic breakfast with cardboard 'vegetarian' sausages, and all the atmosphere of Stephen King's Kingdom Hospital. Avoid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munrotop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards and identify any needs for development.

I can see from your reviews that you previously stayed with us early last year and hopefully you were aware for this visit that our rooms sizes are slightly different from purpose built Premier Inns. I will also be sure to feedback with our Kitchen Team on your comments regarding breakfast.

I really hope that this has not dissuaed you from returning to one of our many other Premier Inns over the country on your next trip away from home, it's great to see you are a fan of the brand. Thank you again for your review and if I can be of any further assistance please feel free to get in contact.

Kind regards,
Jamie Cattigan
operationsmanager.glasgowcharingcross@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

When we got to the hotel, we found out that the wrong hotel had been booked. The receptionish offered us a room but we had to pay. she let us use the wifi to sign on and allow us to made a decision. we decided to stay at this hotel. after we payed and got our room, the receptionist told us she would see what she could do about the other hotel. The next day I recieved a Email saying i was getting a refund for the other hotel, i was relieved.
when we got to our room, it was nice and big and the view was lovely. bed was comfy and shower was wonderful.
very good hotel right around the corner from a concert we were going to.
I would definetly come here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thanks for your review. Its great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn. It remains our main objective to provide a high standard of service and we’re so pleased you feel we achieved this. It's great to see you would definitely come here again and we look forward to welcoming you back! Thanks once again for taking the time to review your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night to attend a concert. Have stayed in a fair few Premier Inn's and always choose them over other budget hotels. This one had the usual pleasant staff and clean rooms, if a bit on the small side, but does the job for one night. Cracking view from the 11th floor though

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HazelB1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review on your stay at our hotel. We are glad to see that you found our Team to be pleasant and the room to be clean and that it suited you for your one night stay. We do have three different sized rooms at this hotel and if you hopefully choose to stay again please feel free to call in advance where we can try our best to allocate a bigger room if needed, depending on availability.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We go to the Glasgow Film Festival each February and this year I booked the Charing Cross Premier Inn by mistake. We normally stay at the Buchanan Galleries one, which is next to Cineworld. Premier Inns are ideal for this type of stay, where what you are basically looking for is a bed and not a lot of hotel amenities. The room was £29 for each of the three nights, so even adding breakfast made it a very cheap stay. Breakfast was fine with freshly prepared poached eggs, and a reasonable buffet. Service was friendly and efficient. The room was what you expect in a Premier Inn, fairly basic but comfortable, particularly the bed.
As it turned out there were some advantages to this location compared to Buchanan Galleries. The NCP carpark with preferential rates for long stays is next to the station and hotel, so it was no distance to take our luggage. One stop west from Charing Cross on frequent trains takes you to Partick, and there are signed footpaths and short walks from there to the Riverside Museum and Kelvingrove Museum and Art Gallery. There is a good selection of restaurants at this western end of Sauchiehall Street, and the Glasgow Film Theatre where most of our films were on is a short stroll away.
Because this end of the city centre is less popular than Buchanan Galleries and the merchant city it seems to have more availability and better rates. From thinking I had made a mistake in booking this location I ended up thinking it was a good choice. It is also very close to the motorway and quick to reach and get away from. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petefLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your nice review on our hotel for your recent stay. We're glad to see you felt you made a good choice and that you received good value for money during your stay with us. It means a lot to us that you recognised the Team to be friendly and efficient - thank you for this. It is also great to see you found the bed to be comfortable and hopefully managed a great nights sleep.

Thanks again for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Budget hotels are OK - a bed & a shower.
The restaurant is just a joke.

My company paid for a "meal deal" for two nights. I asked for a refund for the second night.

House salad is completely inedible, I had to ask what it was supposed to be (seriously!). It was a bit of thinly sliced carrot & cabbage, probably cut some weeks ago and left to dry out in the kitchen. It came with the starter and then came back again with the main (even after I'd asked what it was & the waitress had fe my comments to the kitchen - she said)

Nothing is fresh

Expect frozen shoved in the deep fat frier / oven

WIFI!
Why do they charge? You can go into any local coffee shop / fast food place and get it unlimited for free.
They do give you a free 30 minutes - wow wee! arren't they generous?

The hotel is what you would expect from a budget chain - it's OK
Premier Inn ruin them by really really terrible food

Room Tip: Just don't eat here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmccnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay whether this be the bedrooms, service or the food in our restaurants.

I am sorry to hear that the 'house slaw' garnish that comes with a few of our dishes did not meet your expectations. This product is a recent addition to our menu and please be assured I will be happy to share your feedback with our Menu Development team for review.

Premier Inn are also working on the Wi-Fi issue you have raised. As you mention we do currently offer 30 minutes free each day to every guest and then a £3 charge for a further 24 hours. Work is in progress on this and we hope to offer you more in the coming months.

Thank you again for your feedback and we will be sure to take action on the issues you raised. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Premier Inn again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and I were staying for the second time in almost as many months due to another hospital visit for our little'un. I cannot say just how great the staff were in looking after us during our stay. The hotel is always very well presented, it's in a great location for almost anything, the underground station literally just outside the entrance makes it a great place as a base for exploring around the city. The rooms are a nice size and I've never faulted them on cleanliness. The restaurant is very good too with a great choice. The one thing I would say is best of all are the staff, always pleasant, very helpful and never without a smile, no matter the time of day or night (as we found out). I would recommend staying here wholeheartedly, having stayed in (moderately expensive) hotels in Washington DC, New York and London, the staff here has some of the best customer service we have seen.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south / west areas have the best views over the river, especially at sunset / evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review. It's great to see that this visit was just as fantastic as your previous one. The Team are delighted to read your kind comments about them and this is very much appreciated that you have taken the time to acknowledge this.

We hope to welcome you all back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#17 of 95 in Glasgow
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Central
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#10 of 95 in Glasgow
407 reviews
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing