We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jaded but good sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #49 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“jaded but good sleep”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

if you want a good location this is right next to a railway station, bit further out of the main city centre so either a 20 minute walk or taxi -don't know where the bus stop was so cant advise. great location for motorways too.First room I was given on the second floor was TINY which I asked to change as at £90 was extortionate-was also needing some attention to its shelves and décor. Moved up to the second floor from the top which was huge in comparison, comfortable bed, minimal furnishings and tea facilities (not replenished on second day).Again needed some attention to décor-threadbare carpet! As it overlooks the M8 motorway there is a constant hum of traffic even with extra glazing so take ear plugs if a light sleeper!

Breakfast pleasantly surprised-good choice of cereals (9) with juices (3) Costa coffee machine and hot food constantly topped up. Good quality too. Hotel was fully booked and I felt sorry for girl trying to seat people who were waiting no longer than 5 mins but got irritated with her- believe her name was Brenda (10/10 Brenda! )

Evening meals were very disappointing, expensive for what they were and microwaved to point of inedible (lasagne) salmon was nicer second night but have had a lot better for less money. I gave back the salad it was so tiny with brown edged lettuce. What let the place down too was the constant loud chatter and squealing from kitchen and waitress staff from the back of the restaurant -so bad I moved tables twice to try and avoid. Poor waitress was left on her own to cope in a busy room. meals took too long to appear too due to carry on. Only redeeming points were the comfortable bed and breakfast. I would stay again if a cheaper rate was available-but would definitely not eat there, glasgow's full of brilliant places to eat.

Room Tip: ask for one of the larger rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank isikelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent visit. We value all feedback, whether positive or negative, as gives us a good insight as to where we may have needs for any development. It's great to see you had a good nights sleep followed by a nice breakfast the following morning. However I am sorry to hear of the issues you had with the restaurant at night. Please be assured I will pick up the issues raised with our restaurant team and hopefully resolve so this will not happen again.

It's nice to see you will choose to stay here again and be sure to check the main Premier Inn website for all our best rates. Thanks again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    811
    410
    146
    93
See reviews for
460
727
176
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
139 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night and it was exactly what you expect from premier inn -simple, clean and a good nights sleep with good value. Public car park adjacent to the hotel and friendly helpful staff. We would stay again if in glasgow

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bonniebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We’re so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us here at Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn and we do hope to see you again in the very near future. Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel premier Inn in a great hotel to live in but the price is a bit high.Good to live in the hotel. Had a good sleep in the night but only thing which was missing is beautiful scenery from the window.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKJ_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a great stay and a good nights sleep. Be sure to keep an eye on our main Premier Inn website for all our best rates. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The room was a bit tired but the bed was excellent. The location was central to everything and there is a nearby Hop on Hop off bus stop which is handy for tourists to the city. Practically on top of Charing Cross train station which is very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a good nights sleep on our comfortable beds and that you found our location convenient during your travels. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balloch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My Partner & I have stayed twice in the last 4 months found the staff friendly & very helpful, reason for stay was to have a couple of nights out in Glasgow. The rooms are very basic, but your only using it for sleeping in. Will stay here again on our next weekend in Glasgow

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are delighted that your return stay with us at Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn met your expectations again and you experienced the high level of service we endeavour to give our guests. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staff were quite pleasant and welcoming but did not correctly enter my details in which meant a trip up to my room and then back down before i could actually use my room after a long drive not what I wanted. The food was average and compared with what was on offer in Glasgow city centre expensive. The bedroom was cold, furniture has seen better days and the tv had limited amount on offer. I have used this chain across the country and this was the worst I have stayed in, my next visit to Glasgow is only a week away and I have not booked with them. . On the positive side it is in a good position to see the sites of Glasgow especially if like me on short business trip

Room Tip: Choose a floor higher up and within the 'quiet zone'
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55mo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us. Firstly I would like to apologise that all was not up to the usual high Premier Inn standards on this visit. Please be assured I will take on the issues you raised in your review and investigate as to what had happened.

Hopefully you managed to raise these issues with the Team during your stay and any action taken to resolve this for you at the time. Apologies once again and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to get in contact with your booking details and any further information.

Kind Regards,

Jamie Cattigan
operationsmanager.glasgowcharingcross@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Where do i start?The breakfast was perfect,very nice but thats about it.I was stuck in a room opposite a huge office building so had to leave my curtains closed all evening,but that didnt matter because the window was bolted shut anyway.For some reason everything is screwed down,the tv, the kettle,even the table was screwed into the bottom of the closet which ment i had to lean across the table to reach the closet.The bed is perfect for anyone on the smaller side but at 6ft i was falling out of the end of the bed.To top it all off i had to pay in full before check in which ment diving to the end of my bag as you need id when paying cash.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sim0ng86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations.

It was nice to read that you had a perfect breakfast during your stay but sorry to see that the in-room facilities caused you concern during your stay. The items secured in the room are a standard across Premier Inn and the windows are made secure for guest safety with us being a multi storey building. At Premier Inn we have always used payment on arrival, this meaning no queues at check out allowing all guests to get on with their day upon departure - hopefully this helped you have a nice quick and easy check out.

I am sorry you did not find the bed to be suitable for you during your stay. All our beds are Hypnos Mattresses and vary from Single, Double and SuperKing Size at this hotel. Hopefully you managed to speak with the team on this during your stay, as we should have been able to relocate you room depending on occupancy that evening.

Apologies once again and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to get in contact.

Kind Regards,
Jamie Cattigan
operationsmanager.glasgowcharingcross@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Central
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 95 in Glasgow
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing