We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Glasgow(Glasgow)
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$344
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$255
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Central Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,468)
Filter reviews
2,468 results
Traveller rating
739
909
488
201
131
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
739
909
488
201
131
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskings theatremitchell librarycity centresauchiehall streettrain stationcar park next doorcorner roommeal dealbudget hotelgood nights sleepreception staffstayed here for two nightstwin roomnight's sleepwould stay againcomfy bedwest end
Filter
Updating list...
1,410 - 1,415 of 2,468 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The staff were super friendly couldn't help enough when we we're checking in.
The hotel is so central just over a 10 minute stroll to Buchanan Street. Lovely clean rooms and clean beds. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review of Premier Inn Glasgow Charing Cross. Its great to hear such nice comments about our super friendly team and that they couldn’t help enough on check in. Thank you for your comments on the rooms and I’m delighted that you will stay again in the future.

Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

very good service we had not been to this one before and seeing as we were in Glasgow decided to stay there , nice people , nice view, perhaps if we are round that area again and have stayed at the other premier inns we could do this one again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Premier Inn Glasgow Charing Cross. Its great to hear you enjoyed very good service from nice people and you enjoyed our fantastic views of the City.

Thanks again for your comments and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel is easy to get to from Glasgow airport ( the bus 747 from stand 6 stops a 3 min walk from hotel) and is within easy walking distance of many cafés, restaurants and major attractions. The city centre is an easy 10 mins walk away. So for location I would definitely stay here again.
The hotel itself is quite basic and a little dated but has everything you would need for a short city break, the rooms are clean and there is a good bar/restaurant area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review of Premier Inn Glasgow Charing cross.

I’m really pleased you enjoyed your stay and found it very convenient. Thank you for your comments about it being clean but a little basic and dated. We appreciate all your feedback, as it allows us to make improvements so all our Guests get a great night, every time they come to stay.

Thanks you once again for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Rooms are small. With 2 children and their respective beds, there's barely enough room to move. Coupled with the lack of storage space (no wardrobe as such - just an open shelf with hangers, nowhere to put bags, a radiator and bin taking up part of this space) you'll be very limited in the use of the room. Strictly sleeping only, which isn't great when the children are in bed by 20:00, as you'll find yourself unable to do anything. Not even reading, as the lights are terrible, without even the ability to control bedside lights independently. The main lights barely illuminate the room.

Speaking of lights, the bathroom lights are equally bad. The main light is directly behind you when looking in the mirror, so it has the dubious distinction of both blinding you and leaving you in the dark. Good luck if you want to put make up on. Your best bet is to try using only the light on the mirror - that way you'll be able to enjoy life as in the 17th century, as if by the light of a candle.

If you get a room right next to the door to the lift/stairs, you'll want to check that the door closes silently. Ours didn't. Cue a whole lot of banging all night, and not the sort I wanted.

The hotel isn't ideally situated for transport either. On paper it looks great - literally seconds away from Charing Cross station. In practice this is pointless if you want to explore Glasgow. You'll need to walk 10 or 15 minutes to get the subway instead - far from ideal with children. We ended up spending far more time in taxis than we'd have liked.

Breakfast wasn't great. Not sure if Premier Inn have changed their breakfasts and now provide less fruit selection, no hot chocolate/chocolate milk options, and what appears to be synthetic scrambled eggs instead of the real thing, or whether this is all specific to this hotel. Staff at breakfast were generally surly - if they got as little sleep as we did I don't blame them.

Also not sure whether this is the case with all Premier Inn's, but the lack of a room safe is a right pain in the... neck. Walking around with all your valuables in a bag is not much fun, and it's hard to gauge whether they'd be better off unattended in a hotel room or lugged around town all day.

In summary, definite no with children. Probable no if you're staying longer than one night. If you're a reclusive monk you'll probably think this is luxury.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRG_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review.

I was sorry to hear you felt the family room was small, with a limited amount of storage space. The shape of this particular Premier Inn, makes some rooms smaller than others and I’m sorry this had an impact on your stay.

Thank you for your feedback on the lights, I will look in to the wattage we are currently using in the rooms to see if we can improve the lighting. I was sorry to hear the door was banging loudly during your stay, should you experience any problems our teams are on hand 24 hours to help and we can get things like this resolved for you. Our maintenance team are checking all the corridor doors to rectify this problem.

Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast. Premier Inn do review and update the breakfast offering, based on our Guests feedback, regularly however we have not made any changes with regards to the items you refer to. Hot Chocolate or Chocolate Milk is not currently part of our breakfast, however if you wish Hot Chocolate, it’s available to purchase at our Bar. We do make fresh scrambled eggs, I’m sorry they were not up to our usual standards and I was sorry to hear you felt the team were surly at Breakfast, rest assured I will look in to your comments.

Thank you for your feedback regarding an in room safe, its not something we currently provide at Premier Inn, however should you wish to leave valuables we can store them in our safe.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we do hope you will stay with us again, at Premier Inn, in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

In recent times we have come across some excellent Premier Inns, this was not one of them.

Will list some things that irritated us... On one side of the bed no cupboard, therefore nowhere to put a clock, book etc, missing shelf in bathroom, could see where it had been... nowhere to put your toiletries, bathroom floor very dirty and stained, this could have easily been rectified with a ten minute proper clean, the bin in bathroom not emptied, teaspoons left dirty, there was a general lack of cleaning and maintenance about the whole room. However, the worst thing ... we arrived back and I was desperate to go to the loo, and there in the loo was a big poo looking at me!! I immediately blamed it on my husband, who assured me he hadn't 'been', nor had I. So, it was either the cleaner or leftover of a previous occupant and had re-surfaced...

We paid £85 a night, plus £8.75 pp for breakfast, this makes it £102.50 a night. Is this supposed to be a budget hotel? They should stop paying all that money for Lenny Henry ads and clean up their act. We have now decided to go back to Travelodge, as the quality of the Premier Inn is about the same as them but their prices are not!

Room Tip: We were on the ninth floor and could not hear any traffic noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seagulls2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us.
At Premier Inn we really do strive to deliver clean and comfortable rooms to all our guests and give them everything they need for a great night's sleep. I sincerely apologise that on this case we have not achieved this. Can I please ask that you get in contact with your reservation details and date you stayed and I will look in to this further.

Apologies once again and I look forward to helping to resolve this for you.

Kind regards,
Shonagh Love
operationsmanager.glasgowcharingcross@whitbread.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews