We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms a bit dated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #49 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Rooms a bit dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights to visit the Commonwealth Games so the price of the rooms were hiked (3 nights £567) so for that price we expected more than 2 coffee sachets in the room and not to have to ask for more (and then was only given 2). Also the room was very dated, faded curtains, faded paintwork, and carpet not to good either. The bed linen and towels were PERFECT though, but the bathroom shower head needed replacing as wouldn't tighten in a suitable position - staff GREAT and friendly and helpful) location good - just a little outdated in our room

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathandDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. Whilst some of our rooms are a bit dated we pride ourselves with our fantastic location and our friendly team and its great to hear such lovely comments about them. The number of sachets in the room are a Premier Inn standard throughout, however the team are happy to give you as many as you require when asked.
Premier Inn rates do vary, however if you go to www.premierinn.com you can take advantage of some Great deals, starting from £29.00.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    770
    387
    142
    84
See reviews for
436
676
172
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed during Commonwealth Games, so paid a huge amount for the room, even booking seven months in advance. Other than that, no complaints and good hotel. Would probably stay there if I return to Glasgow as the proximity to travel links is very useful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thanks for your comments on Premier Inn Glasgow Charing Cross.
I was pleased to hear you felt it was a good Hotel. Its Great to hear you will stay here again, if you return to Glasgow and we look forward to seeing you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

As we were spending 4 days at the Commonwealth Games we needed accommodation. It was like the Olympics, with prices being hiked to ridiculous prices, so even months in advance we had little choice but to either stay outside of Glasgow and travel or to pay up.
Thankfully the very cheery staff at Charing Cross Premiere inn made up for some of the pain in having to pay a fortune to stay in a room only as large as our bathroom at home!!!!
The room was very clean, comfortable and we had a good nights sleep.
The amount of coffee/milk/tea was pitiful, but we asked for more and were given a generous amount, so that was fine.
The staff are excellent, at normal budget prices this would have been excellent value for money, but at commonwealth games prices it was just OUCH!!!
We had a great games, so thanks Glasgow!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are pleased our Team cheered you up with their friendliness and that you enjoyed your time in Glasgow. Our rates are competitive and reflect the Business in the City. We hope you’ll come and visit us again and take advantage of one our Fantastic £29 rates, which are subject to availability at Premierinn.com.

Once again thank you for your nice comments and we will pass these on to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Friendly and helpful staff - comfortable room and great breakfast. Location good for SECC and Kelvingrove Park. Very close to Sauchihall street.
Travelled with children who enjoyed the breakfast choice and quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
On behalf of myself and the Team at Charing Cross Premier Inn, we would like to thank you for your kind review.
We are pleased your children enjoyed the breakfast and your room was comfortable. It is a great location if you are looking to visit the SECC and Kelvingrove Park, along with numerous tourist sites and shopping in Glasgow City Centre.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn Glasgow Charing Cross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked 2 weeks before we were due to go and were incredibly lucky to find it had spaces given the Games started on Wednesday.

The hotel is right next to Charing Cross train station so is very handy for trains. Buses can be caught from Bath Street outside the hotel to most places. We didnt have breakfast but found local cafes to have a good breakfast (which was cheaper) and not far away. Loved Glasgow and would stay in a Premier Inn in Glasgow again!

Room Tip: Room on the second floor No. 223 which is a corner room is good although opposite offices so have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillyFY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
I would like to thank you for you review. I am pleased you thought our location was Fantastic and had great links to the city. We are fortunate enough to have plenty of Restaurants, Cafes and Bars within easy reach of our Hotel, it helps to make Charing Cross Premier Inn a great location for a Glasgow City visit.
We are delighted to read that you will return to our Premier Inn and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
272 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked the day before our stay and managed to get a good deal. Our room was spacious as it was a corner room and clean. We had dinner at the hotel using the meal deal offer, great value!
We liked the fact that the waiter explained all the options to an elderly couple staying and as they didn't have the meal deal he changed their order/ bill to reflect the deal. Excellent service.
I wish I could remember the waiters name because he was a credit to the hotel, friendly and informative.
The bar area is a nice area to relax after dinner.
We were able to leave our heavy rucksacks at reception that next day prior to getting our train home, I know this is generally offered but it's nice when there is no fuss.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L_K1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review it was a pleasure to read.
I have passed on your lovely comments to our team. I am glad you took advantage of the meal deal it is a fantastic offer ! Hopefully the Team and I will welcome you back to Premier Inn, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel with very good condition.
The staff is the most friendly staff I saw in a hotel. Breakfast is wonderful
Rooms are non smoking (as it is everywhere). Internet is pretty good. But u need to pay 10£ a week.
Room service is excellent and very considerate.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank malakatheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your review of Premier Inn Glasgow Charing Cross. I was delighted to read such nice comments about the Hotel. Its great to hear your comments on the friendliness of the team and that the Breakfast is wonderful!

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing