We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #53 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great location right next to the train station and an easy 10 minute walk into Glasgow. Not a very pretty hotel and is a bit tired but has everything you need and, as always with Premier Inn, you get a warm and friendly welcome.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thanks for your review of Charing Cross. Its Great to hear your comments on our location and our Team. Charing cross is an older Premier Inn, however we do agree its our Team and location that really make all the difference.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,295 - 1,301 of 2,366 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed over for one night as we had games tickets, tired and soulless hotel. Rooms are functional and clean, bed was really comfy. Staff were nice and helpful. The best parts of this hotel is the location to Charing Cross station and M8, decent multi storey car park and a really good breakfast with Costa Coffee. We didn't pay anywhere near what other reviewers did so we've no complaints .

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank newmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thanks for your review. We were pleased you found the bed comfy and the room functional and clean, however we were disappointed you felt it was tired and soulless. Its great to hear nice comments about our team and thank you for your comments on our Breakfast and location.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Helpful and friendly staff, delicious breakfasts with more choice than most 4* hotels. Liked the option of not having room serviced every day and the dispensers for good quality toiletries. Everything you could want or need without any of the extra 'frilleries' that are not necessary. Didn't even need slippers in the bathroom as the floor covering was not as cold as the usual tiles. Good curtains, well fitting, air-con plus opening windows for fresh air. I have only marked it down in value because we were staying for the Commonwealth Games and every hotel within 20 miles was either priced out of budget or booked up, despite my trying to book nine months before. I am so glad that I managed to get a room at Premier Inn and will definitely use these hotels again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newbeetles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thanks for reviewing Premier Inn Glasgow Charing cross. We were delighted to read such lovely comments about your stay. We were particularly pleased to hear you were glad you got a room at Premier Inn and delighted that you will definitely use Premier Inn again.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Overall this is a standard Premier Inn, however we paid £189 per room per night (excluding breakfast) during the Commonwealth Games, which we felt was a total rip off, with hotels absolutely taking the opportunity to cash in on a popular event! Let's have less price inflation, or at least try to offer something extra if the rack rate is going to more than double!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We were pleased at how you rated the cleanliness, the rooms, the location and service at our Hotel.

We are sorry to see you were disappointed with price you paid for your room, our rates are set with the current business and location and are competitive with the business in the City Centre.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights to visit the Commonwealth Games so the price of the rooms were hiked (3 nights £567) so for that price we expected more than 2 coffee sachets in the room and not to have to ask for more (and then was only given 2). Also the room was very dated, faded curtains, faded paintwork, and carpet not to good either. The bed linen and towels were PERFECT though, but the bathroom shower head needed replacing as wouldn't tighten in a suitable position - staff GREAT and friendly and helpful) location good - just a little outdated in our room

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KathandDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. Whilst some of our rooms are a bit dated we pride ourselves with our fantastic location and our friendly team and its great to hear such lovely comments about them. The number of sachets in the room are a Premier Inn standard throughout, however the team are happy to give you as many as you require when asked.
Premier Inn rates do vary, however if you go to www.premierinn.com you can take advantage of some Great deals, starting from £29.00.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed during Commonwealth Games, so paid a huge amount for the room, even booking seven months in advance. Other than that, no complaints and good hotel. Would probably stay there if I return to Glasgow as the proximity to travel links is very useful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thanks for your comments on Premier Inn Glasgow Charing Cross.
I was pleased to hear you felt it was a good Hotel. Its Great to hear you will stay here again, if you return to Glasgow and we look forward to seeing you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

As we were spending 4 days at the Commonwealth Games we needed accommodation. It was like the Olympics, with prices being hiked to ridiculous prices, so even months in advance we had little choice but to either stay outside of Glasgow and travel or to pay up.
Thankfully the very cheery staff at Charing Cross Premiere inn made up for some of the pain in having to pay a fortune to stay in a room only as large as our bathroom at home!!!!
The room was very clean, comfortable and we had a good nights sleep.
The amount of coffee/milk/tea was pitiful, but we asked for more and were given a generous amount, so that was fine.
The staff are excellent, at normal budget prices this would have been excellent value for money, but at commonwealth games prices it was just OUCH!!!
We had a great games, so thanks Glasgow!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are pleased our Team cheered you up with their friendliness and that you enjoyed your time in Glasgow. Our rates are competitive and reflect the Business in the City. We hope you’ll come and visit us again and take advantage of one our Fantastic £29 rates, which are subject to availability at Premierinn.com.

Once again thank you for your nice comments and we will pass these on to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £43 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing