We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #50 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Darvel, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A good night's sleep”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Have stayed at this Premier Inn on several occasions. Excellent for a stop over in Glasgow whether business or pleasure. Refurbished several years ago now the property is aged but still fit for purpose and serviced well. Many Overseas visitors stay at this hotel and it can be busy but once inside your room it is quiet. In a very good location close to railway station, restaurants and pubs. One the one occasion I was not satisfied with my room the hotel honoured their good night sleep or next stay free. The Reception Staff are helpful and you can eat in the hotel too if you wish. There is also a pleasant Bar area for those who Iindulge.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 625sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your comments on Premier Inn Glasgow Charing Cross. Its Great to hear you have stayed with us on several occasions and I’m delighted to hear you feel its Excellent for a stop over, quiet and the team are friendly.

Thank you for all your Great comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    819
    420
    152
    98
See reviews for
462
741
181
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at this hotel which I stayed whilst working at the Commonwealth Games. It was clean, centrally located and it was lovely to have air conditioning as it was unusually hot in Glasgow. the bed was super comfy and whilst it was fully booked surprisingly quiet. A good selection for breakfast

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kymosavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your comments on Premier Inn Glasgow Charing Cross. I was delighted to read your comments regarding the cleanliness of our rooms and our super comfy bed. The Air Conditioning was a Great during the unusually warm weather and I’m glad to hear you enjoyed a quiet stay.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This review is coloured by the fact that we stayed at the time of the Commonwealth Games and proves were hiked to an absurd figure.
The room we were allocated was on the eighth floor. It was much more cramped than the usual Premier Inn room and almost seemed like a single room with a double bed. The furniture and fittings were barely adequate. WiFi connection was tempremental and the windows were very dirty.
On the positive side food in the restaurant was well prepared and reasonably priced. Classing it as a city centre location is pushing it a bit as it is quite a trek to the main shopping area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear you felt the price was high during the Commonwealth Games, our prices are competitive with the local market however I’m sorry you felt it was absurd figure. Thank you for your comments regarding the room, we do have some rooms that are smaller than others, due the shape of the building and I’m sorry if this had an impact on your stay. I will look in to your comments regarding the windows and get those cleaned up.

Thanks again for your comments and I hope this wont deter you from staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

On trying to check in early we were told that the room type we booked was not ready. At stated check in time our room was still not ready and the receptionist suggested we wait in the bar, which wasn't even open! After going back 40 mins after check in our room was still not ready. However when I communicated my dissatisfaction there was suddenly a room of the right type available. We stayed 9 nights and the beds weren't changed even once. I know because I spilled something on my duvet. One day we had towels so dirty it looked like someone had played football before putting them in our room. Disappointing that the bar had such restricted hours. The breakfast and restaurant staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thanks for your review.

I’m sorry you found your room wasn’t ready when you arrived at the Hotel and your beds and Linen were not up to our usual standard, rest assured I will look in to this to find out why this was the case. Thank you for your kind comments about our Team, I will pass these on.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

At the higher end of the budget market but don't be expecting luxury. Double room was quite small but the bed was comfy and everything was clean. The staff were friendly & welcoming, the cooked breakfast is definitely worth a visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RGCBBURN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thanks for your comments on Premier Inn, Glasgow Charing Cross.
I’m glad to hear you felt your bed was comfy and everything was clean. Its Great to hear your kind comments about our Team and I’m delighted you got to enjoy our cooked breakfast.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Great location right next to the train station and an easy 10 minute walk into Glasgow. Not a very pretty hotel and is a bit tired but has everything you need and, as always with Premier Inn, you get a warm and friendly welcome.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thanks for your review of Charing Cross. Its Great to hear your comments on our location and our Team. Charing cross is an older Premier Inn, however we do agree its our Team and location that really make all the difference.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed over for one night as we had games tickets, tired and soulless hotel. Rooms are functional and clean, bed was really comfy. Staff were nice and helpful. The best parts of this hotel is the location to Charing Cross station and M8, decent multi storey car park and a really good breakfast with Costa Coffee. We didn't pay anywhere near what other reviewers did so we've no complaints .

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank newmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thanks for your review. We were pleased you found the bed comfy and the room functional and clean, however we were disappointed you felt it was tired and soulless. Its great to hear nice comments about our team and thank you for your comments on our Breakfast and location.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#17 of 95 in Glasgow
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Central
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#10 of 95 in Glasgow
407 reviews
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing