We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #49 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Small but comfortable”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Canny little hotel in a decent location. Extremely small lobby and if you're checking in when it's busy it will be uncomfortable. Very attentive staff. We stayed here on a one night break to see the Killers at Bellahouston Park and we simply asked the desk about it. The lad launched into ringing the train station to get the correct trains and times, gave us directions etc. Very impressed with his customer service. Also our room was ready even though we were there early (1pm) so we were able to go straight up. Our room was on the 6th floor looking out over the city so that was good. On the downside though it was also absolutely tiny, one of the smallest rooms I've ever stayed in. I'm 6' 2" and my feet were a good foot out of the bed! That said it was your typical Premier Inn, clean and tidy. Didnt bother with breakfast as if you don't have kids £18 is pretty steep. We walked 5 mins into the centre and had a bacon roll and some toast in Costa coffee instead. The hotel is about 15mins walk from the central station but its a pleasant walk taking in the big buildings lining the route. We certainly didn't have any problems with traffic noise. We paid £66 for the one night which I booked about 3-4 months in advance.

Room Tip: Higher the room the better the view, obvious I know but it's still a tip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    830
    424
    155
    99
See reviews for
479
747
186
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I stayed here on a business trip. On check-in the Receptionists were very friendly. The room was very clean with all mod-cons. Flat screen TV, dressing table, kettle, hairdryer, bath etc. I had a beautiful city view and the bed was very comfortable indeed!

The hotel is situated right next to Charing Cross Station. There is a bar opposite and the West End is a short taxi ride away.

I had a very good night's sleep and I would definitely stay here for leisure purposes. My only gripe was the cold breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EngelsEngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel, I have stayed here several times, and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Glasgow. The rooms are spacious, clean and the views are amazing. Great location for the city centre, right next to the charing cross underground. And also the restaurant in the hotel is great, the staff are amazing!!! The food is great and service is really good, the staff couldn't do anymore to help us, they were great. And they loved my little boy, and he loved them! There were so friendly and helpful, and I can't wait to visit again. Love everything about this hotel, especially the staff!!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GemmaLuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Good value for money but facilities in room should be checked before offering them to customers as hairdryer did not work or the heating we were freezing at night thank goodness I had a jumper. reception need to Answer the phone 3 times we called down and no answer. What if this was an emergency situation. This needs to be addressed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carleeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your review. It’s great that you found the Hotel good value for money although I was sorry to hear the Hairdryer wasn’t working and neither was the Heating. The Team do regularly check all the appliances in the room, I’m sorry this was missed prior to your arrival. Thank you for feedback regarding the Reception telephone, I will investigate your comments thoroughly.

Thanks again for your review and we do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The location of this hotel is awful. All night it feels like the motorway is being routed right across your pillow and I hardly slept a wink.
The food apart from breakfast is pretty awful as again it seems centrally prepared and no imagination never mind quality ingredients have gone into it.
But what is the saving grace of this Premier Inn is the staff. Unfailingly friendly and helpful they make up what actually cannot be made up. Whatever made them apply for these jobs? They would be so much better employed in a quality hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notstandingstill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read your comments regarding the location of the Hotel and the food. The Hotels location, next to the Motorway, provides great transport links however during peak times it can be noisy, if you contact us at the Hotel we can try to place you towards the back away from the Motorway. Thank you for your comments regarding the Staff, I’ll be sure to pass your kind comments on.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I recently had a 3 night stay at Charing Cross Premier Inn, Glasgow while we attended a convention at the Hydro. The room was pretty much what we expected - small but clean and comfortable - but the customer service far exceeded expectations. The staff, particularly in the restaurant, were friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and extremely professional and courteous at all times. They really helped to make our stay an enjoyable one. Caroline, who served us in the restaurant on 2 evenings, deserves a special mention! We would definitely recommend this hotel for price, location (right next to the train station) and especially customer service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing Premier Inn Charing Cross. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and felt the customer service far exceeded expectations. Thank you for your comments about Caroline, she was thrilled to hear such nice feedback.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed for 1 night and was ok.Room could do with repainting.We were on the 10th floor facing the motorway and didn't have a problem with traffic noise.Great view and good location for most things and the beds were great.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marcleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonagh L, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review of Premier Inn Charing Cross. I’m really pleased you found the beds comfy and its great to hear you enjoy the lovely view. I m sorry you felt the room needed repainting, rest assure we will investigate your comments thoroughly.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Central
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
486 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#32 of 93 in Glasgow
3,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing