We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location & Friendly, Helpful Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #50 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
charleville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Location & Friendly, Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a 6 day break. We were going to a soccer match & 2 concerts over the 6 days. It is just around the corner from the ABC 02 Academy, where one concert was held and it just took 20 mins in a taxi to go to the Breahead Arena for the other concert from this hotel. The train station is next door. We drove over to Glasgow for this break and parking for the 6 days worked out at just £10.00-£12.00/ per 24hrs, the carpark was next door. Hotel was easy to find, the GPS coordinates are on the website and the sat nav as good as brought us to the door. Great location for shopping, few mins walk away from Argyle St. Restaurants and bars are just around the corner. Alot of the restaurants had good early bird menus. The staff were very helpful and friendly. When we checked in, the room we were given was small, ok for 1 or 2 day break but not for 6 days. When we contacted reception they changed the room to a bigger one straight away and they were very busy as there were alot of check ins at the time. The hotel has its own restaurant and bar which we used a few times and the staff were very friendly and good spirited. Most nights we walked back late to the hotel and felt quite safe. I read in another review that the hotel may be in a red light district but saw no evidence of that. This hotel was perfect for what we needed for the type of break we were on.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myhrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    770
    387
    142
    84
See reviews for
436
676
172
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

Have never stayed at a Premier Inn before, so didn't have any expectations. was not disappointed - considering we weren't spending any time there other than to sleep I didn't need a lot of amenities. the room itself was fine, nothing fancy. the location of the hotel was great, though. a restaurant right across from the lobby let us bring food to our room one night, even though they don't offer take-away. we just had to bring the plates and silverware back the next day. if you want to take the train it is literally next door - especially convenient if you are traveling elsewhere in the UK by train. the hotel is very close the theatres and shopping, and easy to spot if you get lost trying to find it (like we did) - look for the purple lit up sign in the sky. just around the corner is a pub called the Griffin Bar - I highly recommend spending time there.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staciegwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2010
Thanks for your review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had a good time exploring the City Centre. We welcome your feedback is it very important to us that our guests enjoy their time stay with Premier Inn and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

We were booked into the Premier Inn as part of a prize so cannot comment on value for money - location for the theatre was great as it was right next door and is only a 5/10 minute walk in for shopping. We had a twin room on the 1st floor which was cost and decent size but the heating was awful - we did have the dep manager come up but still remained frozen all night after returning from a night out. We were also warned by the taxi driver upon arrival that its in the red light area but to me I would rather have known that than not when going out at night - made me more security conscious.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlisle
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

stopped here for a couple of nights on 9th floor amazing views room very compact but bed very comfy overall aceptable would stop again , and very central

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2010
We are really pleased that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the views from your room, thanks for your feedback we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

What you'd expect of a Premier Inn - nothing much in the common areas, cramped rooms. But amazing bed, duvet and pillows - if anything TOO soft. Would have thought it could have been a bit better value though

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DirtyWeeHallion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2010
At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay, and aim to provide our guests with the highest standard of service. We are really pleased that our clean and comfortable rooms met your expectations we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

Do not stay here! Tiny, dingy, noisy, plus dingy, horrible bathroom with not even enough room to put a wash bag. Not enough room to fit a small suitcase in room. Not upto the usual Premier inn standards; felt like being in a prison cell! In fairness going by the fire escape plan I had one of the smaller rooms but just not good enough!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dp1033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2010
We are disappointed that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. At Premier Inn it really matters to us that you enjoy your stay and we are sorry that your were not happy with your visit. Please be assured that your feedback will be passed to the Management Team and will be duly followed up. Your feedback is very much appreciated in our endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customers needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
341 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

You usually get what you pay for at a Premier Inn, nothing flash but value for money. And this is one such place. The rooms are a reasonable size and quite comfortable. The location is good right above a subway station so it is a quick trip into the city. The hotel restaurant is also good but as this is a popular business hotel it can get very busy at breakfast time. And there are quite a few good restaurants in walking distance. Negative is that parking is in a carpark next door to the hotel and although there is a special daily rate, it is still expensive.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing