We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen Night”
Review of Brunswick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brunswick Hotel
Ranked #81 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed at the Brunswick as I was on a hen night in Glasgow. I booked a king room for £95 including continental breakfast. The room was set up as 2 singles as my friend was staying with me. The room also had a sofa and table plus all the necessary accompaniments ie: ironing board,iron,kettle,toiletries.Ellen on reception gave us a very warm welcome on arrival. Any small niggles were dealt with quickly eg. no kettle in the room. Breakfast was great and very relaxed.Plenty of choice even thought no hot food.It is not a smart boutique hotel but for its location it is great value. Definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are further away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect from this hotel after reading the reviews however I found the Brunswick Hotel to be perfectly fine, my room (103) was a decent size with a large bathroom and was clean. For £85 a night I would have expected the continental breakfast to be included but it wasn't.

We ate in the restaurant at night which was beautiful, everyone at our table really enjoyed their food. The honey and lime burger was delicious. We also had the haggis nacho's which were tasty however there was hardly any haggis in them only a light sprinkling.

Location is ideal, very central and in walking distance from the train station and round the corner from Merchant City.

Overall good basic hotel - will return again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dbdeen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Came hear for the Commonwealth games. Bar staff are brilliant. No hassle getting checked in. Owner is a legend. Even got a beer with him. Location was brilliant. What more can you say. I would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cammac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This is more than a hotel! It's a budget hotel very very cool. Michael the owner is a legend! Amazing food cooked by Richard and the service from Amy and Sharon was ace! Stayed for a week didn't want to go home! Thank you Brunswick it's been emotional

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Gumserello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband dont get a way very much and we wanted to be close to family that stay in glasgow and we came across the brunswick hotel. As soon as we walked into reception the lady on reception was fantastic she told us our room 205 and we get a free drink it was great for what we paid and spotless the only fault was the blue walls in the hallways not a big fan the bar staff were fantastic to will be back again great value for money thanks

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank ross b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

As a Birthday treat, we booked the Brunswick, instead of using our usual Glasgow B&B...paying £170 for 2 nights with NO breakfast included, we assumed the rooms would have the wow factor. What a dissapointment. The stairway up was filthy and dark, covered with bits of carpet remnants for 2 days,they could have just been vaccumed up in 5 minutes! the room was tatty, in need of a lick of paint, where the glass bedside shelf should have been, just an ugly plastic bracket stuck out, one bedside lamp was hanging upside down and didnt work. The shower had severe headache inducing water hammer. To top it all a sanitary towel was underneath the wee purple chairs in the room..eeeew! it had definitely not been cleaned properly and the floor was filthy. The staff however, were charming. Dont waste your money ...go elsewhere to avoid feeling ripped off!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

So, on a recent visit to. Glasgow, I stayed in The Brunswick. I don't do this very often, in fact, never, however, I was so disappointed with the hotel, I felt I should show you my room....

I've not exaggerated this at all. We asked if we could change and we were told that I could upgrade to the penthouse for an extra £100 however, the penthouse is a suite of several rooms and we didn't want me alone rattling around.

The room was like an oven. Had no air conditioning, just a small 5" desk fan and a window which would barely open.

On the third day of my visit, I asked at reception if anyone was planning on cleaning my room or even making the bed. Until then, no one had changed my towels, replaced the dirty cups and saucers or even stepped in the room at all.

I was told that the bed should be changed every day. Eventually at 14:00 that afternoon, someone came to do my room. When I looked, they hadn't changed the dirty sheets (a stain was on the sheet from the start) were still on the bed. They didn't clean the shower.

In photos that I took, you can see the mould in the bathroom all over the ceiling, on the sealant and the grout in he mosaic tiles. The shower ona itself flexes so much when you stand it, you think it's going to collapse.

You can also see the cigarette burnt and stained curtains and how small my room (room 102) was. With my bag on the floor, I couldn't move around the bed. To get past the TV to get to the window, I had to lean over the bed.

The bed itself appeared to have either been folded and stored in half or someone with a very heavy bottom had broken all the springs in the middle of the bed causing anything on the bed to roll into a huge dent. The middle.

I can safely say, this is the worst hotel room I've ever stayed in. When I confronted the front desk about the sheets and lack of cleaning the lady said 'oh, you should have told us the first day it wasn't done'. No, it should be cleaned daily.

Absolutely appalling.

Room Tip: Take earplugs. Stay in the penthouse if you don't want to be squashed or baked alive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank ScottHunterXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#84 of 93 in Glasgow
425 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
1,172 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
656 reviews
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunswick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick Hotel

Address: 106-108 Brunswick Street | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1TF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £40 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brunswick Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Brunswick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunswick Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing