We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is definately a Budget hotel”
Review of Brunswick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brunswick Hotel
Ranked #86 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“This is definately a Budget hotel”
Reviewed 31 May 2010

The rooms were extremeley small, with a window facing another wall, bathroom tiny
Not a comfortable place to stay

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    124
    68
    64
    68
See reviews for
36
180
35
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

As ever TA was our adviser, in this case for two nights in Glasgow and having had our fill of corporate establishments, this time for our fourth break in the city in the last few years (we like the place!) we took a chance and what a place the Brunswick turned our to be. Informal but organized it was pretty much as other reviewers have stated but in our view if anything better with quite outstanding, amazing and eclectic staff. We asked for and got a quiet room although one night one of us was woken at 0400 by a couple of loud-voiced inebriated 'ladies' on the landing who were clearly unused to the concept of doors let alone closing them once in their rooms but that can happen anywhere. The Brunswick is absolutely unique and now our place of choice. On the one hand I wish it were a chain on the other the danger is that everything that makes it so special would be diluted, just go, see for yourselves and enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InvictaHerneBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Spent a night in Glasgow with 5 friends. Booked two rooms, and had a great experience. Very helpful and charming staff, good cafe/bar attached to the hotel, great location, clean and colorful. Even met one of the owners of the hotel late at night at the bar next door, nice guy who is dedicated to the hotel.

Overall, given the price, it is a great hotel which deserves an excellent rating!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oyvind82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2010

I booked this hotel at the last minute as I was catching up with friends and wanted a overnight stay in town and the location was excellent, couldn't be better for access to pubs/restaurant's etc within city centre. However, I did wonder what it would be like for £50 for a double room. As a B&B proprietor myself I am a bit fussy when it comes to accommodation and you don't get much for £50, particularly in the city centre.

I was not disappointed, from the young gent that checked me in to the young lady that checked me out I have to say the staff were excellent, with good Scottish Humour thrown in.

My room had fresh spotlessly clean bedding, fresh soft towels and a really comfy bed and pillows. The bathroom was basic, but very clean.

I actually overslept as the blackout curtains lead me to believe that it was earlier than it was and it was so quiet, normally in hotels you are woken by guests pulling luggage about, I missed breakfast but when I went downstairs the bar staff happily made me a super latte and fetched me a small continental breakfast, thanks guys.

For fifty pounds for a double room, it's a bargain, I WILL CERTAINLY BE BACK. If you want posh go stay somewhere else, if you want a clean bed and facilities at a reasonable rate right in the heart of Glasgow 's night life then you will not be disappointed.

I didn't stay for lunch but the daily specials being posted up on the menu within the bar looked very appetising, next time.

I am already looking forward to my next sleepover at the Bunswick !!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtonroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

For my friend's birthday a group of us stayed here and had a fantastic time. The rooms are small but who cares if you're going for a night out in Glasgow?? The staff were so nice and friendly. We had food there and it was lovely and the restaurant staff were also great. All in all a brilliant place to stay in Glasgow city centre.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k8ellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

My wife and i have now stayed in this hotel 4 times. One each occasion, our stay has been very wonderful. The staff, are exceptional, and always make us feel very welcome. The menu gives a wide choice and the food is top class. The bar is warm and friendly and if the sun shines, they have a tables and chairs on the pavement to watch the world walk by. This hotel gets my vote every time.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lower232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We both found the Brunswick Hotel a friendly and welcoming p[lace to stay. The room was comfortable and the restaurant offered a good range of food at very reasonable prices. Staff were very heloful. Tony Hider and Brian Baylis

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mendip411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#84 of 95 in Glasgow
377 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,069 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 95 in Glasgow
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunswick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick Hotel

Property: Brunswick Hotel
Address: 106-108 Brunswick Street | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1TF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brunswick Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Brunswick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunswick Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing