We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of fun”

Duke of Wellington Statue
Book In Advance
More Info
US$111.36*
and up
Glasgow's Must Sees 5-Hour Private Tour
Ranked #33 of 280 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An iron statue of the Duke of Wellington.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A bit of fun”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

The statue showed a bit of fun and sense of humour in Glasgow. Some may find it overrated but I enjoyed it. Put a bit of smile on my face.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FiveByFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    123
    52
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ahh...the Duke !.”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

If you go to George Square in the centre of Glasgow, you just have to get a photo with the Duke !. (Just around the corner from George square). It's right in front of the gallery of modern art and therefore is part of the Glasgow experience. This is one of the few statues in Glasgow that is not a friend to the birds, so you can get a good photo of yourself with him. I found it worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Statue with a traffic cone”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This is statue is directly in front of the Museum of Modern Art. Usually there is a traffic cone on his head (students put it on sometime during the night) and then police remove it in the morning. I wish I could have seen him with the traffic cone but we arrived at the statue in the evening.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TanzlyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helensburgh --Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“overrated”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

this statue is only mentioned so much because of its constant wearing of a traffic cone, but it's the Museum of Modern Art were it is situated that is special.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank learig29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very funny”
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

I found this hilarious. Absolutely entertaining. The fact that the authorities take off the traffic cone each morning and the student congregation replaces it each night is quite interesting

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ketki05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duke of Wellington Statue also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Duke of Wellington Statue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing