We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different”

Sharmanka Kinetic Theatre
Ranked #41 of 279 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Permanent exhibition of Eduard Bersudsky's amazing kinetic sculptures. Hundreds of carved figures and pieces of old scrap perform an incredible choreography to haunting music and synchronised light, telling the funny and tragic stories of the human spirit as it struggles against the relentless circles of life and death. Main show (45 min)- Wed-Sun 3pm, Adults£6, conc £4, children age 4-11 - free. There are additional shows during high tourist season and school hols - please check our website for details. Full show (70 min) - Sun & Thu 7pm.(Adults £8, conc £6) Advance booking by e-mail is essential
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

If you like art and like to see something a bit different then this is the place to go. Amazing figures made out of junk that are dedications. Was extremely impressed. I don't know if it would suit really young kids as they might be easily bored.

Helpful?
4 Thank ScotsJen81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zhuk, Owner at Sharmanka Kinetic Theatre, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for the review. Yes, some children are bored while others are very enthusiastic and come back to see the show again and again. I am not sure that it depends on age - we have got very young enthusiasts aged 4 and bored 12 years old. Also we do not recommend the show for those who are younger than 4, as they might be scared by darkness and loud music, but sometimes we have got 3 years old dancing alongside kinemats - and recently 10 years old girl was scared. Again - it is difficult to explain and predict.
I would recommend to check with the child himself in advance is this something he or she really wants to see. You can do it by showing him video on website or bringing to the gallery earlier and seeing kinemats in static (which is free and available from 1 till 3 pm Wed-Sun)
Generally Sharmanka is not a children theatre - but some children enjoy it very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    44
    9
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Sharmanka!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

A weird, wonderful and unique experience! Well worth a visit. We saw the afternoon short show and will definitely return for the evening full show when next in Glasgow.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Leafy_Bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Glasgow”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

One of the kinds of activity we like to do as a family when we are away. Something different but well worthwhile. Arrived half an hour early to look around at all the pieces then at 3 the gallery doors closed and the 35 minute performance began. The staff member was very helpful afterwards explaining the stories of both the artist and his pieces. Similar to other reviews - needs to be seen to be explained. 8 & 10 year old girls loved it in particular.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Prof_and_Mrs_Pilsner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Weird and different, but not for everyone is expect”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

My 13 year old son and I visited this theatre (loosely using the word theatre here, it's more art sculptures as exhibits that are made of junk & mechanically move to music) after a long day sight seeing we caught the last 'show' so felt I was a little too tired to stand and walk around for the 45 min show (which you have too, there is not a central viewing point) but regardless still enjoyed it & don't regret seeing it. However my 13 year old didn't enjoy it as much. We're not really an avid arts loving family although we do take in the odd gallery, maybe that's where the contrast lies between my review and others. I'll agree its unusual.

Helpful?
7 Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zhuk, Owner at Sharmanka Kinetic Theatre, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for the review. I cannot agree more - Sharmanka is not for everyone. It is loved by different people for very different reasons - but it is surely not a mainstream entertainment.
I would recommend to check in advance is it your piece of cake or not by browsing our website - there are a number of videos and plenty photographs. It will give you some idea.
And if you bring your child with you, please, show him/her this images and see if he would be really interested. The thing is that Bersudsky never thought about his machines as an entertainment for children, and while some of kids fall in love with kinemats and coming back many times while growing up, others are scared or bored.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic off the beaten path activity”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We read about Sharmanka on TA and knew it was going to be the kind of fun, eclectic activity we love.
We were not disappointed.
The show began at three and lasted 45 minutes. It's hard to explain and must be experienced to be understood.
You won't regret stopping in here.
For five pounds (four for students) it's a real steal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Myles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sharmanka Kinetic Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Sharmanka Kinetic Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing