We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic Art and Furniture Collection”

The Burrell Collection
Ranked #15 of 274 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Burrell Collection is temporarily closed until 2020 for refurbishment. This museum houses the collection of Sir William Burrell, gifted to the city of Glasgow.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eclectic Art and Furniture Collection”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is a wealthy man's personal collection of various treasures gathered over a lifetime. So it's a diverse array which the museum has done its best to organize into some categories. If you appreciate antiquities of all kinds, you will love it. I would allot a couple hours to see it all, and more if you choose to study the objects. The collection is located in a beautiful park which is worthy of some time itself. In the same park is a house owned by another wealthy family that you may also want to check out while you're there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    768
    335
    76
    24
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It was our first time that area of Glasgow so it took us a while to find the entrance. It was not well sign posted and we left our car outside and realise it was a long walk to the Burrell Collection. We collected our car and drove to the designated car park.

There is a charge for car parking, £1. At the car park you will see a large play ground and ample ground for picnic. You can spend hours there. Just next to the car park, you will see the Burrell Collection building. I was rather impressed by the collection and the moderation of the building.

Entrance to Burrell Collection is free. However, there is a suggested donation.

There a cafe and you can get some food there.

I will visit again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great day out at the Burrell”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Visit the Burrell and spend all day if you like looking at the beautiful collection of arts gifted to to the people of Glasgow by Sir William Burrell, you can have your lunch, afternoon tea, or what ever you fancy from the cafeteria downstairs. This cafe is very family orientated, and prams/wheelchairs can go downstairs in the lifts. After tea you can walk around the beautiful Pollok Park, enjoy the beautiful gardens at Pollok House. Entrance to Burrell is free, however on leaving you can make a donation which goes toward the upkeep of the Burrell.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyholiday2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“An interesting collection”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have wanted to visit this collection for some time and finally made it on a recent visit to Glasgow. The museum is situated in a lovely park and luckily the rain held off long enough for us to enjoy a walk here too. The collection is superb and so varied. We went the 'wrong' way round (finishing the visit with the earliest pieces), partly to avoid the school parties that were just setting off and partly because we were particularly interested in the paintings and wanted to start with them. Unfortunately the paintings had been moved from upstairs because of water damage through a leaky roof and so we weren't sure whether we saw the whole collection or not. There were other places where exhibits were missing too, either being restored or because of repairs to the building. On the whole though this did not mar our visit too much and it gives us an excuse to return when the building has been repaired and things are returned to normal. The variety and quality of exhibits is exceptional and there is plenty of information without it being too much to take in.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank susiedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good Gallery”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a good gallery set in a magnificent park. The Gallery is on the outskirts of Glasgow and it is a 15 minute train ride to get there. There are some excellent artworks in this gallery. My main interest is painting but there is a lot of different artwork that may interest others. Definitely work a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cumbrianworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Burrell Collection also viewed

 

Been to The Burrell Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing