We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, clean and friendly”
Review of Kelvin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kelvin Hotel
Ranked #69 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I paid £32 for the room and was pleased with the experience overall. Good location for the West End, friendly and efficient staff. The shower and WC was a few yards down the hall and the room was not large, but I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EH4chap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Kelvin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2011

This place is a gem and very good value. Staff are excellent and always happy to help. My family of 4, including two teenage boys, stayed in the apartment for one week. The living room, come kitchen and dining room, is very spacious. One of the bedrooms is small, the other very large but such is the delights of staying in a converted Victorian townhouse. The en-suite shower room and the general bathroom are both fairly small but perfectly adequate. Overall the apartment is simply furnished and is very clean. We only ate breakfast once and it was excellent. The dining room is worth a visit as it is a fine example of the Victorian splendour that once graced this part of Glasgow. This is not an upmarket boutique hotel but more a simple traditional British B&B and it is all the better for it.
The location is perfect. My favourite part of the city. Bars and restaurants are plentiful and the Botanic gardens provide a beautiful "back garden"! The city centre is within easy reach by either bus or underground. There is also a taxi rank just round the corner.
We had a car and found parking to be no problem and there is a small hotel car park at the back. However, be aware that residents and metered parking is about to be introduced (April 2011) so best to check with the hotel as to what their plans are. You really don't need a car but something to bear in mind if you are intending to drive there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarperzMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Down to earth and spotlessly clean. Exactly what I was hoping for in terms of what we paid and very relieved to have found a place to stay for short trips to the city. Hearty breakfast, friendly staff and excellent, safe location. Traffic on Great Western Rd can get a little noisy the first night, but you quickly adjust, it's a city after all. Reckon there is little to beat this hotel in Glasgow in terms of price vs quality.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

A nice hotel in good location in the city. Room was nice and clean had everthing I needed. Would stay again

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank businessman39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

This is where to stay in Glasgow. It’s a B&B certainly, so don’t expect any of the associated prettiness of a hotel. But thankfully the scale of The Kelvin means that there are no “good grief, why am I staying in a complete stranger’s house” moments to intrude upon your stay. Phew.

I first stayed at The Kelvin earlier this year while in town for a conference hosted by the University of Glasgow. Not only is it close to the university, it’s also a minute’s walk from the legendary Byres Rd (morning skinny latte and wildly delicious pear tart at Heart of Buchanan is a must) and it is positioned right on the Great Western Rd where there is excellent vintage shopping and buses right into the centre of Glasgow.

Alas...the first room I stayed in was not particularly inspired. In the basement, tiny and dark, it served no other purpose than as a place to rest my jet-lagged head. Hey-ho. But the next room I was allocated was a great improvement. Although still a single room, it seemed far roomier owing to the high ceilings of the first floor, which also made it lighter and brighter, and afforded a mesmerizing view over the busy Great Western Rd. On an exhausted night back at the B&B, the better quality television of the first-floor room was also a source of some delight. So when booking at The Kelvin always ask for anything but the basement. But if nothing else is available, the basement will certainly do the job.

So, after a very pleasant first stay, I didn’t hesitate in booking into The Kelvin when I popped back to Glasgow last month. This time – travelling as part of a small group – I decided to reserve the two-bedroom apartment attached to the B&B, at a very reasonable rate. Each of the two bedrooms (one with en-suite) is a good size, as is the main bathroom which is accessed via the private hallway. The apartment (all on the ground floor) also has a large kitchen/living room, with lofty dimensions and fabulous original features. Ensconced in there on the first evening of our stay, lounging on the comfy sofas, watching trashy British television and munching our way through a feast fit for a king – prepared in the apartment’s handy little kitchen – we thanked The Kelvin that we needn't venture out again into the Glasgow rain. Of course we thanked Marks and Spencer too.

This place is excellent value for money. The service is impeccable and the hosts are very welcoming, nothing seems too much trouble!

Just another little hint: if you have a spare hour or two and want to sample some of Glasgow’s off-the-beaten-track delights, make sure you google-map Otago Lane which is not more than 20 minutes walk away from The Kelvin. After winding your way along to the end of this cobbled lane you’ll find the most delicious chai this side of India, which you can enjoy outside on folding chairs or else inside in the grungy opium den style cafe. And for those travellers who like to declare “damn the torpedoes” when it comes to luggage weight, there’s Voltaire and Rousseau along there too – a bookshop adventure. I do love Glasgow!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agatha_Runcible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Stayed for 2 nights. Had single en suite. Good sized room, small bathroom but spotlessly clean. Arrived late but was still greated with a very warm and friendly welcome. Good breakfast, furniture wee bit dated but very clean. Staff lovely and very helpfull. Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinnyjlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

As previous residents of Glasgow we occasionally visit for some bright lights and always stay in the West End rather than city centre. This hotel is very well positioned near the tube and all the West End amenities.

We had reserved one of the more expensive rooms but it was in the BASEMENT. We hate basements so this was a bad start! It was gloomy, tired and dated with a shoebox bathroom and threadbare towels.

The difference here however was how it was run. Housekeeping was excellent - better than many a 5*. It is family run and it shows. Breakfast was average ingredients served in a fantastic dining room by friendly people with as much toast and tea as you like

In conclusion we felt this hotel punched above it's weight thanks to the hard work of the staff and great location at reasonable price. Just hope we don't get the basement next time!

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank idletourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#73 of 93 in Glasgow
266 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#66 of 93 in Glasgow
67 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#47 of 93 in Glasgow
306 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#50 of 93 in Glasgow
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvin Hotel

Address: 15 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 8EB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £40 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kelvin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvin is a bed and breakfast in the heart of the vibrant West End of Glasgow. Parking can be reserved and free Wi-Fi is available. Bedrooms at The Kelvin are light and airy and are tastefully decorated in soft pastels. Some guest bedrooms have en-suite facilities, and all have a TV and vanity units with shaving points. A fully fitted, communal kitchen, equipped with kitchenware and utensils, is available to guests.The grand Victorian townhouse also offers free Wi-Fi in the guest lounge and in most bedrooms. The dining room boasts floor-to-ceiling windows and looks out onto the tree-lined Great Western Road. There are many shops located opposite the hotel and many bars and restaurants in the area.Glasgow International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the Kelvin, and the hotel is located just 2 miles from Glasgow Central Railway Station & 10miles from Glasgow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Kelvin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing