We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kelvin Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Clifton Hotel(Glasgow)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Alfred(Glasgow)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albion Hotel(Glasgow)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyll Hotel(Glasgow)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
112
120
47
30
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
120
47
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanic gardenswest endbyres roadgreat western roadoran morsingle roomcooked breakfastcity centrechoice of cerealssmall roomnice breakfastbed and breakfastideal locationbreakfast was includedbeanspleasant staystayed one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Good location, although the parking facilities are limited (but the whole of the city centre is this way!) very close to the botanic gardens and the subway so loads to do during the day.
Rooms clean and warm, although the hotel is quite old so there was a lot of creaking about when upstairs were walking around.
Breakfast was standard, it was nice to have the option of a cooked breakfast, a lot of city hotels I've stayed in plonk some stale cereal infront of you!
As said previously the hotel is quite old and the decor definitely needs a freshen up, rooms are basic but looks like they haven't been decorated since the 70s having said that it is clean and comfortable. Would've liked an extra pillow and a more comfortable mattress but this is my own preference.
Would probably stay here again for a flying visit but not to my taste for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outandabout91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We’ve just returned from a weekend in Glasgow and had booked the Kelvin as there were 7 of us up for my stag weekend. I didn’t have huge expectations as we’d gone for a ‘budget’ option but I was really impressed with the hotel and the staff, in particular Sandra – who seemingly never sleeps and was always there to help with any queries and have some light-hearted conversation. The hotel was very accommodating to us, as we were arriving at 4 separate times, but everything worked exactly as arranged. My room, number 19, was at the top of the building at the back and was massive and quiet, with a huge ‘tenement’ bathroom. The other rooms were on the ground floor and in the basement and again, were very large with en suites. The fixtures and fittings aren’t exactly gold plated but it’s a 2-3 star hotel – the Hilton’s just up the road if you want luxury. The rooms were clean, the staff were polite & ever helpful, the cooked breakfasts were just what the doctor ordered to soak up the booze, and the location of the hotel cannot be beaten. Thanks Sandra & team!

Room Tip: Room 19 is at the top of the annexe at the back of the building and is huge, quiet and has an en suite
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Quite handy being just off the main road. The carpark at the rear was full, but was given a parking card which allowed us to park right outside the front of the hotel. The room was clean and presentable with a wash basin. There is a shared shower and toilet on the 1st floor which was clean and had fresh hand towels and foot mat. Breakfast was lovely and the service was great. Would definately return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sutherlandY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Booked late for a double en suite. Received a pleasant welcome and got our keys.Room was in the basement.No probs with that.Place was immaculate with flat screen TV on the wall. Breakfast was fine, help yourself to cereal and juice before toast and a cooked breakfast is served. Well situate B&B - right on Great Western Road, regular busus to the city from outside.Tube station is a 5 min walk.Will return next time in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderinwullie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and were very happy we did. We received a very warm and helpful welcome. The parking here is very limited so we parked just outside. The hotel will sell you a ticket, not expensive. We stayed in room 21 which is a family en suite room. I booked that for the extra space even though we are just 2. The room was fine, although cold initially until the heating came on. Smallish shower room but perfectly usable and clean. Beds comfortable and warm. Breakfast the next day was lovely and filled us up nicely. The hotel is very close to the Botanic Gardens and Byres Road, and only perhaps a 5 min walk to the Hillhead tube station. There are many eateries within easy walking distance. We opted for Zizzi on Cresswell Lane just off Byres Road and it was superb. Getting the tube into the centre is easy and inexpensive, but we walked back later.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews