We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel- beware the neighborhood.”
Review of Kelvin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kelvin Hotel
Ranked #72 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
East Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice hotel- beware the neighborhood.”
Reviewed 26 June 2009

The hotel was very nice, however the neighborhood seems to be on the decline. We parked our car on the street behind the hotel (parking in front of the hotel is tough to get and on a very steep hill). It took us two trips to unload our car and within this short time period our window was smashed and a camera stolen from the car! Several other cars were victimized as well, some were keyed or mirrors shattered. In broad daylight! The local neighborhood watch representative told us they think a deranged teenager is on the loose.

Anyhow the lady of the house was very nice helping us deal with the police and rental car company, the room was clean and spacious, the free wireless internet was a nice surprise. Also the hotel is within 10 minutes walk of two subway stations and also of a stop for the tourist tour bus that goes around the city.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rooks8027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    114
    43
    25
    14
See reviews for
47
90
41
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Six female friends had a four day visit at the Kelvin Hotel. We found the staff welcoming and friendly. Without asking our bottle of White Wine that was in one of the bedrooms was put in a fridge to cool and six wine glasses were set out ready for us on our return. - what good and thoughtful service
As a group we were particularly interested in visiting Mackintosh houses etc. and going on the Tour Bus. Without realising we paid separately for the various visits and for the Tour bus only later realising that it would have been much more economical to purchase a ticket for £12 that allowed travel on the tour bus and free entry to the various exhibitions. A concert at the Glasgow Concert Hall is recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProlificTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge,
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Located on the Great Western Road near Oran Mor, the Botanic Gardens and Byres Road this Hotel gives great value for money, as well as giving an insite into the way Glasgow's rich lived not so long ago.
It is a great location for exploring Glasgow and the staff are friendly and helpful.
Check out the dining room.
We are going back there.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings,east sussex
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2009

After a diappointing visit to Stepps on my previous trip in December it was a real pleasure to find The Kelvin,although it meant commuting to Motherwell the hotel was nicely situated with SPL underground station in either direction by 5 minutes or bus route right outside, i will be coming back to Glasgow several times this year and won't hesitate to stay at The Kelvin on each visit,nice staff, clean rooms and facilties and excellent breakfast

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ialawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2009

We stayed at the Kelvin Hotel for 6 nights and found the room to be comfortable (clean and warm!!) and the staff extremely friendly. We especially enjoyed relaxing in the lounge at the end of long days exploring Glasgow city, the West End and surrounding hills and towns. Free and secure wireless internet access allowed us to meet work committments and keep in touch with family and friends. We found the Kelvin Hotel to be great value and convenient to quality resaurants, bars and cafes. Staying at the Kelvin Hotel enhanced the wonderful experience we had of holidaying in Glasgow. A big thankyou to all the staff!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SatisfiedCustomer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

I stayed here twice in 4 months on vacation and had a pleasant stay each time.

This hotel near the University of Glasgow is in a neighborhood that felt safe to walk around and was within walking distance of many restaurants and museums with the Botanical Garden nearly right out the front door. Walking paths along the river allowed for peaceful walks away from traffic. There are also 2 subway stops close by making for a quick trip downtown (and to the train station for destinations farther away).

The Hotel is family run and what a kind family they are. Seemingly always in motion, whether during the breakfast rush or tending to the daily needs of the hotel and clients, they were always ready to share a smile or a story and very helpful in answering all my travel questions. I had to change my reservation plans a few times and they were so patient and accommodating.

The accommodations are comfortable, clean and basic. One visit I had an en suite room and the next, just the in-room sink and I have no complaints. I could have my coffee or tea in my room and the coffee pot and cups were clean.
On my first stay, I did originally get a room in the front where I was able to hear street traffic but when I was in a room facing the back, the room was very quiet.

Nothing fancy, not luxury but perfect for my vacation needs- safe, clean, accessible to so much in the city and pleasant owners and staff.

  • Liked — location, price, cleanliness, quiet in the back
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CuriousRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunkhannock, PA.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

It was amazing to see a few negative reviews; this says more of the reviwers than the hotel.
This is a true GEM with the best staff I've ever found and ever helpful to an amazing degee and this includes many five star hotelsa we've stayed in. We spenbnt 10 deligthful days here; the place is spotless, l;arge rooms for two people with very comfortable beds- sunggle up in these and you'll get a great and warm sleep. Breakfasts are unbeatable-bacon or sausages, eggs all done to ytour taste, cereals, juices-, etc. This is a trfue SCOT breakfast and will take you well past lunch.
Transportation-taxis just around the corner or hail one on street-very easy; you are midway between two subway stops. Kelvin Bridge exit will loead you past many pubs and reataurants and if you like fish and chips at end of bridge is Philadelphia Fish and Chips-best I've ever had. Hillhead stop is on Byres Road-a small city in itself with a huge supermarket minutes from you, Woolworth's with great barghains, restaurant after one another for any taqte or budget, you can walk to the University tho it is a bit long, old pubs and modern, every type of store you could want.
With all this you would expect noise- don't fear-this is the quietest hotel I've ever stayed in.
Price for the West End of town is EXTREMELY reasonable, and my only negative about the Kelvin is too many will discover it and make it difficult to get a room here pourselves!
Here you find the best of old Scotland mixed with the new, and there is free, if limited parking. very difficult to find in Glasgow. Glasgow itself is fabulpous, and tho Edinburgh has great history s doeas Glasgow and the people are unbeatable especially taxi drivers-ask them anything and you'll get a trughful answer and often a long detailed one.
Buses to town center take about 10 minutes and run so frequent you won't wait long, but you must have exact change.
Hotel does not convert currency, but post office directly across street does at best rates in city and no long l;ines like all others-if you convert always use a post office-they give the best rates.
This was the best stay we had anywhere in over 30 years; I miss it daily.

  • Liked — Comfort, QUIET, staff, food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank custer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#71 of 95 in Glasgow
260 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 95 in Glasgow
310 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#65 of 95 in Glasgow
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 95 in Glasgow
775 reviews
Albion Hotel
#61 of 95 in Glasgow
251 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#69 of 95 in Glasgow
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvin Hotel

Property: Kelvin Hotel
Address: 15 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 8EB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kelvin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvin is a bed and breakfast in the heart of the vibrant West End of Glasgow. Parking can be reserved and free Wi-Fi is available. Bedrooms at The Kelvin are light and airy and are tastefully decorated in soft pastels. Some guest bedrooms have en-suite facilities, and all have a TV and vanity units with shaving points. A fully fitted, communal kitchen, equipped with kitchenware and utensils, is available to guests.The grand Victorian townhouse also offers free Wi-Fi in the guest lounge and in most bedrooms. The dining room boasts floor-to-ceiling windows and looks out onto the tree-lined Great Western Road. There are many shops located opposite the hotel and many bars and restaurants in the area.Glasgow International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the Kelvin, and the hotel is located just 2 miles from Glasgow Central Railway Station & 10miles from Glasgow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Kelvin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing