We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to be home!”
Review of Kelvin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kelvin Hotel
Ranked #66 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 12 July 2009

After an absence of four years, I was delighted to be back in my old neighbourhood. The hotel is even better than i expected. Efficient staff, very helpful and friendly. Hotel was comfortable and suitably Victorian. Very close to Botanic Gardens and Byres Road. Would definitely stay here on my next trip home.

A delightfully quiet room, overlooking tall tree and greenery, breakfast was great, host was gracious.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Usherboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2009

The hotel was very nice, however the neighborhood seems to be on the decline. We parked our car on the street behind the hotel (parking in front of the hotel is tough to get and on a very steep hill). It took us two trips to unload our car and within this short time period our window was smashed and a camera stolen from the car! Several other cars were victimized as well, some were keyed or mirrors shattered. In broad daylight! The local neighborhood watch representative told us they think a deranged teenager is on the loose.

Anyhow the lady of the house was very nice helping us deal with the police and rental car company, the room was clean and spacious, the free wireless internet was a nice surprise. Also the hotel is within 10 minutes walk of two subway stations and also of a stop for the tourist tour bus that goes around the city.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rooks8027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Six female friends had a four day visit at the Kelvin Hotel. We found the staff welcoming and friendly. Without asking our bottle of White Wine that was in one of the bedrooms was put in a fridge to cool and six wine glasses were set out ready for us on our return. - what good and thoughtful service
As a group we were particularly interested in visiting Mackintosh houses etc. and going on the Tour Bus. Without realising we paid separately for the various visits and for the Tour bus only later realising that it would have been much more economical to purchase a ticket for £12 that allowed travel on the tour bus and free entry to the various exhibitions. A concert at the Glasgow Concert Hall is recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProlificTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Located on the Great Western Road near Oran Mor, the Botanic Gardens and Byres Road this Hotel gives great value for money, as well as giving an insite into the way Glasgow's rich lived not so long ago.
It is a great location for exploring Glasgow and the staff are friendly and helpful.
Check out the dining room.
We are going back there.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

After a diappointing visit to Stepps on my previous trip in December it was a real pleasure to find The Kelvin,although it meant commuting to Motherwell the hotel was nicely situated with SPL underground station in either direction by 5 minutes or bus route right outside, i will be coming back to Glasgow several times this year and won't hesitate to stay at The Kelvin on each visit,nice staff, clean rooms and facilties and excellent breakfast

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ialawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

We stayed at the Kelvin Hotel for 6 nights and found the room to be comfortable (clean and warm!!) and the staff extremely friendly. We especially enjoyed relaxing in the lounge at the end of long days exploring Glasgow city, the West End and surrounding hills and towns. Free and secure wireless internet access allowed us to meet work committments and keep in touch with family and friends. We found the Kelvin Hotel to be great value and convenient to quality resaurants, bars and cafes. Staying at the Kelvin Hotel enhanced the wonderful experience we had of holidaying in Glasgow. A big thankyou to all the staff!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SatisfiedCustomer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

I stayed here twice in 4 months on vacation and had a pleasant stay each time.

This hotel near the University of Glasgow is in a neighborhood that felt safe to walk around and was within walking distance of many restaurants and museums with the Botanical Garden nearly right out the front door. Walking paths along the river allowed for peaceful walks away from traffic. There are also 2 subway stops close by making for a quick trip downtown (and to the train station for destinations farther away).

The Hotel is family run and what a kind family they are. Seemingly always in motion, whether during the breakfast rush or tending to the daily needs of the hotel and clients, they were always ready to share a smile or a story and very helpful in answering all my travel questions. I had to change my reservation plans a few times and they were so patient and accommodating.

The accommodations are comfortable, clean and basic. One visit I had an en suite room and the next, just the in-room sink and I have no complaints. I could have my coffee or tea in my room and the coffee pot and cups were clean.
On my first stay, I did originally get a room in the front where I was able to hear street traffic but when I was in a room facing the back, the room was very quiet.

Nothing fancy, not luxury but perfect for my vacation needs- safe, clean, accessible to so much in the city and pleasant owners and staff.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CuriousRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#75 of 93 in Glasgow
274 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 93 in Glasgow
340 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
861 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#54 of 93 in Glasgow
610 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#64 of 93 in Glasgow
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvin Hotel

Address: 15 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 8EB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £36 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kelvin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvin is a bed and breakfast in the heart of the vibrant West End of Glasgow. Parking can be reserved and free Wi-Fi is available. Bedrooms at The Kelvin are light and airy and are tastefully decorated in soft pastels. Some guest bedrooms have en-suite facilities, and all have a TV and vanity units with shaving points. A fully fitted, communal kitchen, equipped with kitchenware and utensils, is available to guests.The grand Victorian townhouse also offers free Wi-Fi in the guest lounge and in most bedrooms. The dining room boasts floor-to-ceiling windows and looks out onto the tree-lined Great Western Road. There are many shops located opposite the hotel and many bars and restaurants in the area.Glasgow International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the Kelvin, and the hotel is located just 2 miles from Glasgow Central Railway Station & 10miles from Glasgow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Kelvin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing