We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly people and good breakfast at the Kelvin”
Review of Kelvin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelvin Hotel
Ranked #65 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 12 August 2009

The Kelvin is a bed and breakfast in the Westend of Glasgow. This is the University area and is in transition, a little gritty, but not scary. Plenty of places to eat, the Botanic Gardens-very nice-are almost across the street. The Glasgow Museum and other attractions are within walking distance. The Kelvin was very clean, comfortable rooms, very friendly and helpful staff and a great breakfast. It is easy to get to other areas of Glasgow by underground. We had a throughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmitchKansasCityMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2009

The Kelvin Hotel is situated very handily for public transport into the centre of Glasgow, Kelvin Grove Museum, Botanical Gardens and the West End, as well as many local shops, pubs and restaurants. It's comfortable (especially room 19 which is enormous, altho' we didn't get it this time!), but it's best to ask for a room away from the road. Parking can seem difficult but spaces usually appear on a regular basis at the front of the hotel. Parking around the back is limited. The dining room ceiling is a joy to behold and altogether it's a grand old house with warm hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrosmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

After an absence of four years, I was delighted to be back in my old neighbourhood. The hotel is even better than i expected. Efficient staff, very helpful and friendly. Hotel was comfortable and suitably Victorian. Very close to Botanic Gardens and Byres Road. Would definitely stay here on my next trip home.

A delightfully quiet room, overlooking tall tree and greenery, breakfast was great, host was gracious.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Usherboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

The hotel was very nice, however the neighborhood seems to be on the decline. We parked our car on the street behind the hotel (parking in front of the hotel is tough to get and on a very steep hill). It took us two trips to unload our car and within this short time period our window was smashed and a camera stolen from the car! Several other cars were victimized as well, some were keyed or mirrors shattered. In broad daylight! The local neighborhood watch representative told us they think a deranged teenager is on the loose.

Anyhow the lady of the house was very nice helping us deal with the police and rental car company, the room was clean and spacious, the free wireless internet was a nice surprise. Also the hotel is within 10 minutes walk of two subway stations and also of a stop for the tourist tour bus that goes around the city.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rooks8027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Six female friends had a four day visit at the Kelvin Hotel. We found the staff welcoming and friendly. Without asking our bottle of White Wine that was in one of the bedrooms was put in a fridge to cool and six wine glasses were set out ready for us on our return. - what good and thoughtful service
As a group we were particularly interested in visiting Mackintosh houses etc. and going on the Tour Bus. Without realising we paid separately for the various visits and for the Tour bus only later realising that it would have been much more economical to purchase a ticket for £12 that allowed travel on the tour bus and free entry to the various exhibitions. A concert at the Glasgow Concert Hall is recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProlificTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Located on the Great Western Road near Oran Mor, the Botanic Gardens and Byres Road this Hotel gives great value for money, as well as giving an insite into the way Glasgow's rich lived not so long ago.
It is a great location for exploring Glasgow and the staff are friendly and helpful.
Check out the dining room.
We are going back there.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

After a diappointing visit to Stepps on my previous trip in December it was a real pleasure to find The Kelvin,although it meant commuting to Motherwell the hotel was nicely situated with SPL underground station in either direction by 5 minutes or bus route right outside, i will be coming back to Glasgow several times this year and won't hesitate to stay at The Kelvin on each visit,nice staff, clean rooms and facilties and excellent breakfast

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ialawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#59 of 93 in Glasgow
339 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
348 reviews
Albion Hotel
#48 of 93 in Glasgow
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#71 of 93 in Glasgow
272 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#60 of 93 in Glasgow
593 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvin Hotel

Address: 15 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 8EB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £34 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kelvin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvin is a bed and breakfast in the heart of the vibrant West End of Glasgow. Parking can be reserved and free Wi-Fi is available. Bedrooms at The Kelvin are light and airy and are tastefully decorated in soft pastels. Some guest bedrooms have en-suite facilities, and all have a TV and vanity units with shaving points. A fully fitted, communal kitchen, equipped with kitchenware and utensils, is available to guests.The grand Victorian townhouse also offers free Wi-Fi in the guest lounge and in most bedrooms. The dining room boasts floor-to-ceiling windows and looks out onto the tree-lined Great Western Road. There are many shops located opposite the hotel and many bars and restaurants in the area.Glasgow International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the Kelvin, and the hotel is located just 2 miles from Glasgow Central Railway Station & 10miles from Glasgow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Kelvin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing