We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic - No attention to detail!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #36 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Basic - No attention to detail!”
Reviewed 3 April 2011

I booked this hotel as a birthday treat for my boyfriends birthday, having spent 2 nights in the The Mint in London, i was looking forward to a luxurious stay, but unfortunately this wasnt the case.
I had phoned ahead to confirm a river view room, and to advise it was a special evening, so that my expectations may be exceeded and the hotel could provide a small surprise such as fizzy wine, chocolate covered strawberrys, basically the nice little treats luxury hotels do to make a stay special.
On arrival to our room, we were dissappointed, there was nothing there.
I think its attention to details like this that make a stay somewhere go from nice to special, obviously the hotel do not think so.
The room was visually clean, but sparse with supplies, and our large ben was two twins shoved together with a large quilt, not ideal for a romantic evening.
The bed had a throw along the bottom which on closer inspection, had 2 large black pubic hairs, not nice! The tea/coffee facillities were inside a dirty dusty drawer, which had stains on the tray the items were sat on, and the condiments for refreshments were minimal. In the bathroom, for 2 adults we had one tiny shampoo, no conditioner and one tiny moisturizer, no soap! and no mini toothbrushing facillities which should be complimentary but are inclued in the exorbitant rates within the minibar in the room. There were two bathrobes provided, however these werent fluffy and comfy, more scratchy and really only for necessity.
There was a small ice box which is handy, except there are no indications to tell you where abouts the ice machine was to fill it.
The hotel boasts a range of complimentary serivces, one is a movie library for the room, when i called to enquire, i was told this wasnt available, another dissappointment, and also with regards to a late check out, the norm is 12 midday, however when i called to find out about the later checkout i was told it was complimentary until 1pm, but it was £10 per hour thereafter!! make sure you take advantage of the free hour, as they do not tell you about this at reception when you check in.
As part of my rate i payed for a cooked breakfast, and as i had done so, you were allowed to choose what you liked from the continental choice also, this was nice, and it meant there was alot of breakfast brought to the room (for a £3.50 room charge!) however, the toast was stone cold, there was a tiny jug of milk supplied for 2 bows of cereal, which wasnt enough,and they didnt bring the orange juice up with the breakfast, a call to reception had someone come to the room, but they advised one of our choices wasnt available.
Overall the stay was pleasant, the beds were comfy and staff polite when spoken too, however the lack of all these small details means that this hotel isnt in anyway a luxury hotel and would be better used as a base to stay in whilst going elsewhere,to a gig or show in the closeby SEC, rather than staying in and enjoying the hotel facillities, and as far as a romantic night goes, i definately wouldnt book in here again, which is dissapointing for the hotel, as the branch in London is far superior. Such a shame.

Room Tip: make sure you use the complimentary late checkout
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsrocafella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at Mint Hotel Glasgow.

Please accept my sincere apologies for Mint Hotel Glasgow not meeting your expectations.

It is understandable that you were disappointed on arrival to find that your special occasion was not recognised by us and I am sorry this did not happen.

We have a clear focus on customer service and believe that we deliver an experience that exceeds expectations, your recent stay is not what is normally provided as can be seen on majority of reviews, I would be extremely grateful if you could contact me directly to discuss further:

brian.mcnelis@minthotel.com or 0141 227 1032.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,019
    974
    317
    105
    41
See reviews for
273
1,075
135
588
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Just returned from a 4 night stay. Couldn't have been bettered (apart from the fact that the bar had run out of Baileys!). Smaller than most Mint Hotels but none the worse for that, although the bar area can get crowded early on if there is a show on nearby. Excellent food throughout and the staff were ALL courteous, efficient and friendly. Allocated a river view room - without any extra charges - so not sure about a previous review, unless a suite was perhaps being requested. Hotel is about a 10 minute (£5) taxi ride from central Glasgow, or a 20 minute walk along the river walk. Open top bus service stops directly outside the hotel for anyone interested in the tour.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Well we stayed in the Mint Hotel and we were delighted with the Mint Hotel. On arrival at hotel we were greeted my very efficient and friendly staff! Check in was prompt and even though we were slightly earlier than expected we were still given access to our bedroom instantly.

Although the room was slightly smaller than most, it was fab! It was very modern and exceptionally clean.

Everything about our stay was excellent and will be booking this hotel again next time I visit Glasgow!!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Went to great show mamma mia and also excellent hotel The Mint.Arrived early, this was no problem for check in staff,allocated our room straight away.Room was very comfortable and clean,didn't have dinner in hotel(India Quay across road very good but would advise you to book)but breakfast was very good.Free internet was also available in the room(big plus).Very close to secc .Parking was £5 for 24 hours.You won't be disappointed if you stay here!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbawmagraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

This is a plea, not only to the Mint Hotel but, to most hotels. We like to hang up jackets, coats, scarfs, hats, bags, etc. on coat hooks. We also like to hang up towels robes, soap bags, etc. on hooks in the bathrooms. The Mint Hotel didn’t have any coat hooks and only had two hooks in the bathroom. This seems a fairly trivial complaint but it is so annoying having to leave stuff on the floor when few hooks would be much appreciated.
Anyway to the review. We enjoyed our stay at the Mint Hotel. Check-in was quick with the staff attentive and pleasant. The room was small but comfortable but view to the north from our first floor room was not the best I’ve seen. The air-conditioning took an age to change temperature, therefore we were too hot at night and room was cold when we came in from the cold outside. Would have preferred a large TV rather than the apple mac system provided. The bathroom was small with superb shower and good lighting (this is another gripe: poor bathroom lighting for us contact lens wearers). Breakfast was good. A large cooked breakfast menu and good continental buffet, but please allow us to finish our cereal before bringing our cooked breakfast. The hotel’s position is bit out of the way for the city centre, requiring taxis, but good situation for the SECC.
Overall we enjoyed our stay but will probably stay nearer the city centre next time

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lumberjack231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We had stayed here a couple of times before and found it to be amazing value for money and we were happy to return when visiting family in Glasgow - however we were shocked by the price rises as of January! The hotel underwent a chain rebranding (from City Inn to Mint) in January 2011 but the hotel was NOT refurbished and remained exactly the same as it was before the rebranding - sadly the prices did not remain the same. Room prices jumped by an average of 25%, they also now charge £20 per night extra for a river view room (this used to be free when available) and now parking has gone from free to £5 overnight or per stay. This was all a bit of a surprise and way above inflation rates and (as the hotel has not been refurbished) this seems very harsh and was a bit of a shock.............
HOWEVER..... it is still a good hotel - bang on the SECC site and a short stroll from the IMAX - and still represents good value for money based on other hotels in the city. The rooms are calm and clean and the showers are fantastic. The rooms are a little small, but not cramped, and the beds are comfy with opening windows for fresh air. The restaurant has good value fixed-price menus with good food and I've never found the staff rude as a couple of reviewers have suggested. There does seem to be an issue with front desk communication (on a couple of stays we have asked for simple things - more milk, tea etc - and despite assurances that we would have it sent up.... no sign of it!)
If I had not stayed before the HUGE price jump, and sneaky extra charges like the parking and supplement for the river view, I would be content with the value for money and even with all that I am sure that we will stay again.
***OH - handy tip - check out the Trip Advisor room availability for this hotel because there are better deals available than are shown on the hotels own website****

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingPicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire uk
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Stayed in hotel with my partner as we were going to show at SECC. the hotel and staff were excellent and made our stay very enjoyable would definitely recommend and would make this my first choice.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuRumsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#39 of 95 in Glasgow
2,313 reviews
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#62 of 95 in Glasgow
1,100 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 95 in Glasgow
3,209 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 95 in Glasgow
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at our bar & restaurant, offering seasonal menus prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Prestigia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing