We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Base For A Glasgow Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I have stayed here twice now for weekend breaks to see my daughter who is at Glasgow Uni.

The rooms are compact & lack baths, but are comfortable with good facilities & the rooms overlooking the river have a great view.

The bar & restaurant are good & the cooked to order breakfast (seems to be only if the hotel isn't busy, otherwise it is a buffet) is good.

There seem to be good offer prices for weekend stays which make this excellent value. Taxis are cheap in Glasgow so the slightly out of town location isn't a problem.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robh9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,565)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,081 - 2,087 of 2,565 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

Excellent hotel in a great location! If your looking for a hotel in Glasgow but not right in the centre then this is the hotel for you. The rooms are spacious, clean and nicely decorated. Would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Guest

Many thanks for marking us 5/5.

Your comments are greatly appreciated, our location is an ideal base for heading into the centre of Glasgow and if you are attending an event at the SECC - the new national indoor arena that is under construction is even closer!

Kind Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Did not stay in hotel (but TA would not allow review without completing all fields) just took mum for a birthday dinner. She loved it. Food was excellent (nom nom nom) and staff were all fantastic, in particular the Restaurant Manager (Chris?), who my 7 yr old niece said "was a very nice man" Would definitely recommend a visit. Cracking views of Glasgows "squinty" bridge which is gorgeous at night and of the River Clyde. Lovely atmosphere. Thank-you for a lovely evening.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed here in January 2012 for three nights. Excellent hotel in a great location - somewhat out of centre of town but right on the river - the view over the river and floodlit bridge at night was great. You can walk into town along the river - about 15 - 20 minutes. The food was excellent too - breakfast cooked to order and room service was quick and very good. Staff both on reception and in the dining room were great. Having internet access in the room was a great bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room if possible.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colette62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Good location next to the water although you do need to cross a few busy roads to get there if you are arriving by foot. Good cafe with good food. Friendly staff and good mint hotel/city inn hotel room. Great computer and having free wifi is now a must for all hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepysp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Good clean hotel - breakfast cooked to order & not buffet style (top) - comfy bed (bathroom a bit on the small side - but I wasn't living in there)

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColonelSande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I booked this hotel mid-dec for Hogmanay, and our experience was fantastic. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was well-equipped and spotless. We ordered room service which was prompt, tasty and hot. Unfortunately they did forget the vinegar even after we had called to add it to the tray, but they did bring it up about 5mins later and still knocked on our door to apologise. Considering it was new year and they were very busy,it was a minor inconvenience. We loved the imac in the room and lovely 'white company' toiletries. Breakfast was great, even better as they extended it til 12pm as it was new year. We would definately recommend it and return. We would also like to compliment the friendliness of the mostly Scottish staff... not a sour face in sight! Well done, we would even consider one of the other mint hotels in future.

Room Tip: 5th floor was very quiet
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastLothianSooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
2,360 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#62 of 93 in Glasgow
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,334 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
3,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £62 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing