We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay for Barry Manilow Concert.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #34 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Stay for Barry Manilow Concert.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

My daughter,myself and two friends stayed overnight on 21 May 2012 as we were going to the Barry Manilow concert acroos at the SECC and we just loved the hotel!!!
The setting is great especially in good weather but that apart we were very impressed by the rooms which were spotless and had lovely river views.
The staff were so helpful and the late checkout of 12 noon is a real plus
In the past we have always stayed at The Crown Plaza -which is now in need of upgrading if our last visit in February is anything to go by,however it will definitly be the Hilton Garden Inn from now on.
Thanks you made a great concert even better!!!!

Room Tip: River views are lovely and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zaza5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    930
    305
    102
    34
See reviews for
256
1,029
131
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed overnight in a twin room with my daughter. We were attending a Concert at the SECC. We enjoyed our stay and ate in the Bar. The food was predictable but well cooked. I have stayed at this hotel when it was the City Inn and when it was the Mint Hotel. I dont really think it has changed but I do not think the breakfast was so good.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room overlooking the River Clyde
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilly581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

My visit here was purely for business-a conference at the SECC which was less than five minutes walk away.Very friendly staff,easy check-out and check-in.My room was for single occupancy,was very quiet with a view overlooking the River Clyde. It had recently been refurbished so it was all very new as well as being clean. The bed was so comfortable! Breakfast was also very good. A 15-20 minute walk along the river path gets you into the City centre where there are numerous good restaurants. Next time I visit Glasgow,hopefully for pleasure, I will stay here.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a walk into the city centre this is a good place for you to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arun7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff. Apple iMac in room a great idea.WiFi was free and easy to log into but weak signal. The room and bathroom were absolutely tiny. Tight shower but it was powerful. I did have a great view of the river though. Breakfast good. Not a great location. Room and bathroom were clean and modern. Just be ware this hotel is a not a regular Hilton but a kind of express/business/budget version. Also some booking websites lead you to believe this hotel has a pool-it doesn't though I think you have free use of a pool elsewhere.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cocoheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We booked the Glasgow Hilton Garden Inn through a LastMinute.com secret saver offer, so we didn't actually choose this hotel initially. The offer was for a "4-star Hotel, Glasgow Centre", but it turned out to be a 45-minute walk from the centre and a £5.20 taxi ride back. Granted it is not in the suburbs either, but Hilton does have a central hotel in Glasgow, and it's not this one.
Having said all that it is very nice and the staff very helpful. Room small but very well appointed as others have acknowledged and we were lucky in having a river view.....the other side of the hotel looks out over an industrial area. Bed comfortable and nice en-suite. Free wired internet via the iMac/TV as well as free Wi-Fi - every hotel should offer this.
The location is on Glasgow's reclaimed ancient dockland and the walk into the centre along the river is very pleasant. This was previously the City Inn, if you try to look it up on Google Street View. We ate out both nights of our stay. There is a large Asian restaurant opposite in the Rotunda building, but it didn't fit in with our plans on this trip. Looks interesting though.
Breakfast is 07.30am to 11.00am. We took up their offer of cooked breakfast for two for £17.50 one morning (you must buy a voucher from Reception - to pay in the restaurant is more expensive), but we were late coming down (10.30am) and most of the food in the warming dishes was getting cold. The potato scone was hard, the eggs however were cooked for us while we watched and there is a good selection of cereals and juices. Sausages and bacon were not too bad.
We got a good enough deal through LastMinute.com, and this hotel is very nice, and the location is quiet, but next time I think we'll try to get somewhere a bit more central.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner have stayed here on several occasions when we go to Glasgow for a night out. It a situated well, directly next to the SECC, a five minute taxi to the west end, a 10minute walk to the casino, and a 10minute taxi into the centre of town. The rooms host a mini-bar( I wouldn't recommend this however as the prices are pretty high). If you would like some snacks take them in yourself. The rooms are spotless. Each room has an apple mac with free wireless which is great if you were there for business also.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cammy8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, first night on business second on leisure. everything was bang on. River view recommended and worth the extra £15-£20. Breakfast highly recommnended too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammy978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#39 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,074 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#23 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the River Clyde, the new Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre (formerly MINT hotel) has undergone a £1 million refurbishment. The hotel offers 164 stylish and fully refreshed bedrooms, all featuring a spacious desk, ergonomic chair, an Apple iMac, complimentary WiFi and a mini refrigerator.The Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre features a contemporary designed lobby, a complimentary 24-hour business centre, as well as the Hilton Garden Inn 24-hour Pavilion Pantry which provides a selection of food and beverage options. The award winning City Café Bar & Grill serves contemporary, locally-sourced food from an enviable riverside location and has a fantastic reputation in the city for offering the very best in casual dining for the discerning customer. Guests can choose to dine indoors or al fresco on the stunning outdoor terrace space. Overlooking the River Clyde, it offers spectacular views of the nearby SECC, Armadillo, Glasgow Science Centre and the Finnieston Crane. A new hi-tec Precor gym has been introduced to the property, doubling the size of the previous facility, offering the very latest in state of the art equipment for gym users. A guest laundry has also been introduced to allow guests the convenience of freshening up during longer stays at the hotel. With ample car parking and a fantastic riverside location, the Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre is the perfect choice for visiting the bustling, cosmopolitan city of Glasgow with its fantastic shopping boulevards of Buchanan Street and Argyle Street. It’s also a short stroll from the city’s bohemian West End with a wealth of museums, parks, boutique stores and artisan delis as well as a diverse choice of bars and night spots.For meetings, conferences and special events, including weddings, the Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre has some of the finest space in the city. Whether its business or pleasure you are looking for, Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre can cater for your every need……and leave you wanting more.Walking distances:SECC 2 minutesCity Centre 10 minutesWest End 10 minutes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing