We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for SECC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #34 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect for SECC”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Stayed overnight following concert at SECC. Arrived after 4.00 pm to find room not ready but were offered a complimentary drink in the bar whilst we waited. Room small, and not the twin room I'd booked many months earlier but the receptionist had already said the hotel was full so we were stuck - not ideal if you're not entirely comfortable with your room mate (in this case my daughter so no problem).

Spotlessly clean, comfy bed, nice view if you get a river view and very quiet. Restaurant/Bar attractive, enjoyed our pre concert supper (it is more pricey than eating in town but that's what you expect).

All employees very friendly & welcoming.

Perfect location for SECC, it was so good to stroll a few minutes along the side of the Clyde back to the comfort of our room without the hassle of taxi journeys into town. Even better was to then stop at the freezer in the lobby to buy mini tubs of ice-cream before bed time!

Would certainly stay again if attending an event in the SECC area but not my choice for a shopping/cultural visit to Glasgow.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REALLYMR&MRSSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,012
    959
    313
    103
    40
See reviews for
269
1,062
134
581
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I stayed here whilst attending a conference at the SECC. The rooms are lovely and the staff helpful. Would stay here again if attending events at SECC but might choose a more centrally located hotel if I wanted to do more sightseeing. Although it was only a 20 minute walk to the city centre along the Clyde..

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the Clyde
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We've just stayed for 2 nights at the former Mint Hotel, now Hilton Garden Inn, Glasgow. We chose it for its slightly out of the city location and because its by the river. We booked through Expedia and paid £60 per night including breakfast.

Warm welcome from nice staff and allocated river view rooms. Room was clean and bright. Fab Apple iMac TV system!!

The Glasgow City Tour bus picks up right outside and is well worth using as its £11 for 2 days use. It covers the whole city and we used it instead of taxis to get in and out of town.

Breakfast was lovely - nice Scottish touches, real Black Pudding, potato scones and haggis.

One tiny issue was that in the late evenings smokers on the terrace can mean a little noise in the rooms above, but it would only bother light sleepers.

All in all, definitely to be recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Pleasant stay all round, small room, very well presented and immaculately clean, very small bathroom, again, spotless, nice Neutrogena products. The air conditioning in the room we stayed in wasn't very easy to control. The i-mac is an inspired idea which needs to be copied by other hotels however it does leave you without a tv if one of you is busy on the net.

Nice enough breakfast though busy this morning and disorganised to say the least. Above average for this style of 'inn' hotel.

Ideal if you're attending an event at the SECC, quiet waterside location which leaves a bit of a walk into town or a 5 minute cab ride.

Room Tip: Also Check out the William St. Hilton rates as advanced purchase prices are often similar and the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I stayed for one night on businness. It is a bit of a walk into the centre of town but area was nice and quiet. Receptionist was lovely with efficient checkin. Room wasn't huge but was light and airy with a great view of the river Clyde. The iMacs are great, much better than just a t.v. I ate in the restaurant and David and the team were all first class and really made me feel welcome. Food was tasty and good value. I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We were attending an event in Govan and booked this hotel as it is 10 minutes in a taxi. We stayed for one night on a Saturday after Armed Forces Day. Excellent location right on the river. Staff were great and rooms were clean, comfortable and had everything you would require. Booked on Expedia and for a double room we paid £78 which I thought was good value. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th Floor overlooking the river which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilJackieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penistone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights. Originally only planned for one but due to extreme weather I couldn't get a train back to Yorkshire and booked in for a second night.

The rooms were great, lovely views of the river, comfy beds, soft carpets and brilliant showers. As I booked room only the fridge was really useful, as I could keep bottled water and milk in there.

The iMac is an inspired idea - I used it for watching tv, playing dvds and using the internet. As my second day was unplanned I was at a loose end and used it to access my lovefilm account, so I had plenty of entertainment. Although I didn't watch them, I noticed they had all the Sky Sports channels too.

My only criticisms, more suggestions, are that I would have liked the option of later room service and room service available in the morning. I know the pantry is available but I didn't fancy going down and microwaving food in my pyjamas.

I would also like to say a special thankyou to Shona on the front desk, who helped me check back in very quickly when I realised I was stranded. She made sure I could check in early, which saved me from hanging about Glasgow in the torrential rain. Great customer service.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#38 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,166 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#27 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,604 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at our bar & restaurant, offering seasonal menus prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing