We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a comfortable stay for work or leisure in Glasgow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The staff are friendly and the rooms smart and clean. The food in the restaurant is excellent. Perfect as a hotel for business use or for leisure - ideally situated for the SECC, the forthcoming Commonwealth Games and for travelling out to meetings and events nearby. Good value too!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank NKSSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear NKSSutton

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you found us perfect for your needs.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,600 - 1,606 of 2,640 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel over night for a concert at the Hydro and it offered us everything we needed. The room is equipped with all the necessary amenities- aside from a fridge, which we thought was a bit odd but not a deal breaker.The staff were incredibly helpful, including allowing us to check in to our room three hours early so we could get a bit of kip before heading out for the evening. Before leaving we ordered some bubbly and a meal through room service, which arrived quickly and was good quality grub! The buffet breakfast was also very tasty and offered a wide selection- including haggis! Well worth the £12.

My only qualm would be the price of the room. It's a good hotel but definitely not what I would classify as a luxury hotel/destination- therefore I was a bit annoyed that the price was in the luxury price bracket (we paid £169 for a twin room). I definitely recommend people try and book well in advance to avoid having to part with such an amount. Another way to keep prices down is to order local licensed cab services yourself, instead of going through the hotel- this can save you up to a tenner.

Room Tip: We had a riverside twin room. The view was nice but no Niagara Falls so perhaps not worth the £169 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbzTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear AbzTrip

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry you could not locate the fridge in your room, it is located in the cupboard beside the window which also has a safe inside.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Only stayed 1 night for a concert at the Hydro, staff were very nice and helpful. The concert was late starting but they kept us informed. Food was excellent, good portions and fantastic flavors.
The room was very modern and clean with a great view over the river. Breakfast was a good selection too with something for everyone. Loved making our own waffles..lol.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dodge5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I have stayed here on a number of occasions and it is just ideal for location, and the rooms are well sized and have everything you would expect for a hilton. Furthermore i just love the scottish breakfast in the morning

my only issue is its not near a main road, and at night it feels a bit odd getting out

Room Tip: pick water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel is very convenient for most attractions in Glasgow and is situated on the banks of the Clyde. It has an outside terrace (if you're lucky with the weather). You can buy drinks/snacks etc and use the microwave in the lobby 24 hours. Breakfast gives you a good choice but at busy times the layout doesn't work too well with congestion around the toasters. The staff always stock up on items when they run low. The parking is very reasonable for a city hotel at £5 per night. The hop on hop off tour bus stops right outside the hotel and the route takes you to most places of interest.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank klassyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Booked originally to stay out at the airport in one of the hotels there, so glad we didn't. We visited a show at the Hydro and prior to that did some shopping in town, we walked into town, 20 mins slow pace, and caught a taxi back (£6 in rush hour) from the centre. Relaxed and changed we went to the Hydro which was 2 minutes walk away and after the show walked back. We had a river view room, which was compact but very well laid out for its size with everything we needed. Breakfast was great and plentiful. £5 for the day and night parking which was fine. Would I stay here again? Well its not the cheapest, but it was certainly well worth it for the locality to the concert, so yes, without hesitation.

Room Tip: Don't pay the extras for upgrades to an upper floor room and a river view , check in early and j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveuhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We've stayed at this hotel under all of it's guises, City Hotel, Mint Hotel and now Hilton Garden Hotel. It's always a pleasurable experience staying here. Nothing is a problem to the staff. I take the kids to various events at the SECC and it is not possible to book 1 adult and 2 children via their website. I usually just call in advance to make sure their policy hasn't changed but they always tell me to book 1 adult and 1 child and write in the extra requirements section that a second child will be staying and they sort the rest out. They usually ask if we would like an extra bed placed in the room but to be honest the large queen bed is more than adequate for us. Their beds are tall and comfortable just as a good hotel should be, with lovely fresh cotton sheets and we always get great nights sleep here. The rooms aren't huge nor luxurious but they are bright and well equipped. There's the iMac for starters, that keeps the kids entertained. The room has TV, fridge and Tea & coffee making facilities. The rooms are always spotlessly clean too. The bathroom is bright, very well lit, clean and stocked with toiletries.

The hotel is situated just a stones throw from the SECC and the Hydro so it has a great location. It has lovely views of the Clyde from the riverside rooms too. The staff are polite and helpful.

I've read a few negative reviews regarding their breakfast but for us, it's always the perfect ending to our stay at the Hilton. The food is cooked in small batches so it isn't sitting around for a long time, There is a choice of cooked food, cereals, toast, pastries and the kid's favourite - the waffle machine! They love making their own waffles. There are fresh fruit juices, tea and coffee. Yes as others have mentioned it can get busy in the dining room especially the morning after an event at the SECC but you always get served and they never rush you to leave, I don't see what the problem is with being busy, surely that's a good sign?

We will be back in December and are looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeakerMeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#36 of 93 in Glasgow
2,411 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#64 of 93 in Glasgow
1,179 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,416 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £57 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing