We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Service, Poor Restaurant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #36 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

A great location and terrific rooms, the Garden Inn is perfect for business or pleasure! The rooms are great! Modern, comfy beds, good showers and very clean! The bar is good although the choice of beers is a bit limited. The staff are great, very friendly and helpful BUT, the restaurant is really poor! Ear out if you stay. Heavily processed food (avoid the lasagne at all costs), luke warm and served with little prude. Didn't have breakfast (despite the reduced price offer) but a colleague said it wasn't up to much! So recommend the stay but book elsewhere to eat!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Charlie H

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay however your comments regarding the food are disappointing.

All of our food is freshly prepared in the kitchen, including the lasagne that is on our bar menu. I am sorry that it was not warm enough and not to your taste.

Our breakfast generally receives great feedback on Tripadvisor and I would recommend trying it for yourself should you return.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,584 - 1,590 of 2,635 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Well arrived at the city Cafe restaurant after booking in for the night, ordered a starter of haggis potato and turnip as a starter, main of sirloin steak, ordered as cooked through, which I explained was basically no red meat but before being well done, staff didn't understand the concept and was asked if I wanted it blue!!!!!!

At the beginning of the order I ordered a Kraft of tap water, had to remind staff twice about it, also ordered wine which was uncorked before the starter arrived!

ok not a brilliant start

Starter arrived was presented with a plate with a all spread of turnip topped with a "commercially frozen" potato croquette which was just warm through and hot enough to eat, there was a slice of haggis, which was sliced in half and coated in breadcrumbs, that was ok, but nothing to write home about!

The main arrived was served a steak which was pink in some parts, cooked through in others and almost blue in others, the hand cut chips were so hot and dried out as they had been left under the hot lamp waiting on the steak I think, they were revolting!!!!! called over waitress who apologised and she went to the supervisor, who didn't have the decency to come to my table, even though he was the person who took my order, waitress returned and took my meal and told me she was going to speak to the kitchen, my reply was that I didn't want anything else or the meal replaced as I had been put off by the presented meal.

Small time later the supervisor came over to my table apologised and asked if I wanted anything else, said no and asked him to clear away the remaining sides from the meal etc as he was turning away from my table, needless to say breakfast should be interesting!!!!!


hotel room is a standard Hilton room, had difficulty with my Hilton Elite Gold status which wasn't showing on the system so all in all so far what a poor show Hilton.

Wouldn't recommend so far!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear George G

Thank you for your review.

I have checked your profile and can confirm it is showing as HHonors Silver, not Gold – you may wish to contact HHonors directly regarding this as this is outwith the control of the hotel.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal, our haggis dish is served as described on the menu and is one of our most popular starters – everything is made fresh in the kitchen including the potato croquette which is not ‘commercially frozen’ as you have claimed.

Please accept my apologies for the confusion regarding your cooking preference for the steak, our interpretation of steak with no red meat is well done. I fully appreciate your frustration that we did not cook it to your liking at the first time of asking and it regretful that you declined the offer for the dish to be re-cooked.

What has not been mentioned in the review is that the reviewer was not charged for the meal.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

On arrival I informed the reception was pregnant and if possible to receive a room asap; due to my condition. The answer was NO and was just told to wait as everyone at the bar. First Impression was really poor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Mirta Mrs P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Mirta Mrs P
Thank you for your review.

I am aware that my reception manager has contacted you directly regarding your experience when you arrived.

Although you arrived 2 hours before our check-in time we should have tried to get you into your room as soon as possible.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Finding a good hotel can be difficult, so once we had discovered the Hilton Garden Inn we decided we should stick to it. 3 nights this time and the service, room and food were all excellent. The staff at the desk are always pleasant and helpful. Standby upgrades are a great idea, but the standard rooms front or back are fine, simple, clean and well-equipped. Just make sure the heating works in room 540 if you are there in winter!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalEsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear CalEsteve

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you chose to stay with us again and rate your stay 5/5.

My property manager will have a look at the air conditioning in room 540 to ensure it working correctly, thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Hilton, which is right next to the SECC, SSE Hydro and the Glasgow Science Centre, and about a 20 minute walk to the city centre (we're pretty slow walkers though). Checking in was easy, the receptionist was very cheery and welcoming. The room was facing the restaurant across the road (we recommend the 2 course lunch at the Italian) and was compact but well laid out. It had a shower room rather than a bathroom, a great TV, plenty of storage, really comfy bed and a very handy fridge. The TV was first class - it was an Apple iMac, complete with keyboard and mouse in the desk drawer. Very useful. Breakfast was excellent apart from the apple juice which was diluted to the point of being coloured water (disappointing!) We also had dinner one night, which was fantastic. The service was excellent, the staff were all friendly and welcoming and we wouldn't hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiferover94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Fiferover94

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that our location was ideal for you and that you enjoyed your dinner in our restaurant.

The issue with your apple juice will be investigated.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Location was perfect; a 2min walk from the Hydro in Glasgow- great for pain relief of being on our feet all night! Our room was pleasant, clean and tidy. Facilities provided in our room were excellent. Staff were respectable when we needed them. Bar was a little pricey. Breakfast was brilliant and overall, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Shannon M

Thank you for your review and scoring of 5/5!

Our location beside the Hydro is ideal, it is also pleasing to read how much you enjoyed breakfast.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The hotel wasclose to the city centre, SECC and next door to some great music venues. The staff were excellent always helpful and polite. The rooms were smallish but perfectly adequate with all the extras you would expect from a Hilton Hotel. I would stay here again when visiting Glasgow.

Room Tip: Have a room with views of The Clyde
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IainMc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear IainMc2013

Thank you for your review and your intention to stay with us again,

Our staff work very hard and it is very rewarding to receive your positive feedback about how helpful and polite they were.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#35 of 93 in Glasgow
2,408 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#64 of 93 in Glasgow
1,177 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,411 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £58 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing