We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Scottish Glogetrotters”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This hotel does NOT represent value for money. The rooms are clean but small with a tiny bathroom. The food was mediocre and the dining area at breakfast was similar in experience to eating in a works canteen. The one good feature is the proximity to the Hydro.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank ian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear ian f

Thank you for your review.

Your comments are obviously disappointing and I have contacted you directly for specific feedback.

The majority of reviews compliment the standard of food served in our restaurant due to our policy of sourcing quality ingredients that are freshly cooked to order.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,585 - 1,591 of 2,640 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

We did pay a high rice for our stay as the hotel was very busy this weekend but the wine incident spoil t our stay completely as we both suffered sickness and distress and could not enjoy the meal we had booked in the nearby restaurant that night , I did not make a big fuss about this at the time to your Bar Manager but I think he should have took my complaint a bit more serious although he was busy at the time , but we where only offered a free drink ?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Andrew B

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you were unwell during your stay, as discussed on the evening and in direct correspondence to you the wine was not corked as claimed.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst visiting a friend. After getting my room key I did bump into a pilot in the lift. Nice touch I thought! The room was lovely and clean and when I discovered the remote for the Mac didn't work it was replaced asap. Breakfast was good with a nice view of the river. You can walk to the city centre, it takes about 15 mins and they do have a bus that stops outside the hotel. I just prefer to explore by foot. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollymermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear mollymermaid

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you found our clientele to your satisfaction!

Our floor to ceiling windows in the restaurant allow a fantastic back-drop when dining at breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel recently whilst away with work. It's a great location for places such as the new Hydro and the SECC. The rooms, whilst a touch on the small side, were comfy and had everything that I needed for my stay. The breakfast was buffet style and had an excellent variety with plenty of things on offer. Overall, a pleasant stay and a hotel that I would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear simonc22

Thank you for your review and scoring of 5/5.

Your kind comments are very welcome and thank you for highlighting how much you enjoyed breakfast and that you will definitely stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

A great location and terrific rooms, the Garden Inn is perfect for business or pleasure! The rooms are great! Modern, comfy beds, good showers and very clean! The bar is good although the choice of beers is a bit limited. The staff are great, very friendly and helpful BUT, the restaurant is really poor! Ear out if you stay. Heavily processed food (avoid the lasagne at all costs), luke warm and served with little prude. Didn't have breakfast (despite the reduced price offer) but a colleague said it wasn't up to much! So recommend the stay but book elsewhere to eat!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Charlie H

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay however your comments regarding the food are disappointing.

All of our food is freshly prepared in the kitchen, including the lasagne that is on our bar menu. I am sorry that it was not warm enough and not to your taste.

Our breakfast generally receives great feedback on Tripadvisor and I would recommend trying it for yourself should you return.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Well arrived at the city Cafe restaurant after booking in for the night, ordered a starter of haggis potato and turnip as a starter, main of sirloin steak, ordered as cooked through, which I explained was basically no red meat but before being well done, staff didn't understand the concept and was asked if I wanted it blue!!!!!!

At the beginning of the order I ordered a Kraft of tap water, had to remind staff twice about it, also ordered wine which was uncorked before the starter arrived!

ok not a brilliant start

Starter arrived was presented with a plate with a all spread of turnip topped with a "commercially frozen" potato croquette which was just warm through and hot enough to eat, there was a slice of haggis, which was sliced in half and coated in breadcrumbs, that was ok, but nothing to write home about!

The main arrived was served a steak which was pink in some parts, cooked through in others and almost blue in others, the hand cut chips were so hot and dried out as they had been left under the hot lamp waiting on the steak I think, they were revolting!!!!! called over waitress who apologised and she went to the supervisor, who didn't have the decency to come to my table, even though he was the person who took my order, waitress returned and took my meal and told me she was going to speak to the kitchen, my reply was that I didn't want anything else or the meal replaced as I had been put off by the presented meal.

Small time later the supervisor came over to my table apologised and asked if I wanted anything else, said no and asked him to clear away the remaining sides from the meal etc as he was turning away from my table, needless to say breakfast should be interesting!!!!!


hotel room is a standard Hilton room, had difficulty with my Hilton Elite Gold status which wasn't showing on the system so all in all so far what a poor show Hilton.

Wouldn't recommend so far!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear George G

Thank you for your review.

I have checked your profile and can confirm it is showing as HHonors Silver, not Gold – you may wish to contact HHonors directly regarding this as this is outwith the control of the hotel.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal, our haggis dish is served as described on the menu and is one of our most popular starters – everything is made fresh in the kitchen including the potato croquette which is not ‘commercially frozen’ as you have claimed.

Please accept my apologies for the confusion regarding your cooking preference for the steak, our interpretation of steak with no red meat is well done. I fully appreciate your frustration that we did not cook it to your liking at the first time of asking and it regretful that you declined the offer for the dish to be re-cooked.

What has not been mentioned in the review is that the reviewer was not charged for the meal.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

On arrival I informed the reception was pregnant and if possible to receive a room asap; due to my condition. The answer was NO and was just told to wait as everyone at the bar. First Impression was really poor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Mirta Mrs P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Mirta Mrs P
Thank you for your review.

I am aware that my reception manager has contacted you directly regarding your experience when you arrived.

Although you arrived 2 hours before our check-in time we should have tried to get you into your room as soon as possible.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#36 of 93 in Glasgow
2,411 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#64 of 93 in Glasgow
1,179 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,416 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £57 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing