We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Was impressed with this hotel. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and they didn't charge for my 13 year old, and considering he ate loads this was fab. The bar was a bit pricey, but again staff very pleasant! The location is very handy for the SCCC and the Hydro, they are practically on the doorstep.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you were impressed with our hotel and found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,509 - 1,515 of 2,594 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

We checked in on Friday 3rd January and was greeted with a friendly welcome.

Room; Perfectly clean room, smaller than your average but this is a Garden Inn Hilton. The bathroom was also clean and had a powerful shower which is always a bonus!

Gym; The gym is small but has everything you could need. Water cooler and towels are provided in the gym.

Restaurant; Although we arrived at the restaurant at 19:50 we where offered a table even though the restaurant closed at 20:00 and the tables where been set for breakfast, when we realised this we chose to sit in the bar area which was also very nice with a view over the river. The a la carte menu is also offered in the bar area which suited us!

Every member of staff that we came across was really helpful, I cannot comment enough about the staff at this hotel - it really goes along way!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Andy L
Thank you for such a positive review and rating your stay 5/5!

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed your meal in the bar.

Our restaurant is normally open until 9.30pm however the hours were reduced during the festive period as the hotel is quieter.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

thank you once again for a lovely stay we stayed 25/26 on visits and grandma duties !
the location is perfect for a stroll into city centre , rooms good , staff very helpfull and friendly . we had grandson on one night nothing was too much trouble ,
well done our 6th visit but not our last ,

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123parki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear 123parki

I am delighted you chose to stay with us again over the Christmas period.

It is always pleasing to read that the team were friendly and helpful.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I booked this hotel last minute as the hotel which I had booked went into liquidation. We paid £150 for one night for this hotel, which I did not mind when booking as like I say it was a last minute booking and really the cheapest option left in what was a busy night in Glasgow.

Arrived at the hotel and checked in, went up to our room to find the bed unmade and dirty sheets, very unimpressed given the cost of the hotel and the fact it is part of the "Hilton" brand. We had to go out but we told someone at the reception and our sheets were changed for us coming back several hours later.

Woke up in the morning and boiled the kettle for a cup of tea, all the cups were dirty from the previous guests using them. Yes, I took them to the bathroom and washed them but again given the price I paid you would expect basic facilities to be clean.

I would not stay here again, I have stayed at better and much cheaper hotels in Glasgow than this one.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicflo1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear nicliv89

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience from July.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the error made with your room, it was accidently made available for sale before it had been cleaned properly by our housekeeping team.

It is regretful that you would not choose to stay with us again due to this error, the majority of review highlight the cleanliness of our rooms.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here happily before so when planning a trip to the Andre Rieu this was my first choice.

Paid extra for a river view room and requested a high floor. Was surprised to receive an offer to upgrade shortly before our stay - £5 for a river view room or £35 for a high floor river view room. Ignored this but it did give me some concern until we checked in and found we did have the room requested. Wonder how many fall for it tho?

Check in was friendly, efficient and professional as always. And informed "breakfast on a Sunday was available until 11 so we could enjoy a lie in". However, no special order involving eggs after 10! Had to queue over 10 minutes to be seated despite more than enough empty & set tables available. Various reasons wrre given to guests why no scrambled eggs available with salmon (salmon offered on its own instead) and no omlettes. Our waitress went as far as to say 'can you believe it we've run out of eggs'. But there were at least teo dozen eggs for chefs to make fresh fried or poached eggs beside the buffet breakfast section !?!

If chef has decided no more egg based orders, please be honest with guests and change your dining times accordingly to prevent your staff having to lie when it's obviously not true. And to allow guests to choose if they want the full breakfast options or a restricted option say between 10 and 11. Had we known we would have come down half an hour earlier.

Did not sleep well due to overly soft mattress, uncontrollable room temp and a noisy air con system (wall switches did nothing). Looks like little change has been made over the years and some investment in decor, beds, bedding and towels would not go amiss.

Will think twice before using this hotel for our next Glasgow trip.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mat_Student
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Mat_Student

Thank you for your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies regarding breakfast. Due to being let down by our supplier we were running low on eggs for a 30 minute period until extra supplies were brought in. To ensure we did not run out, eggs were restricted to fried and scrambled during this time.

I am sorry you could not work the air conditioning, a quick call to reception and our duty manager would have explained the controls.

Your comments regarding décor and beds are surprising as we underwent a full refurbishment 18 months ago, including replacing all of our beds.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

spent Boxing Day at this hotel through an Itison deal and thoroughly enjoyed visit....easy access to car park and nice room with a view which was very comfortable with some thoughtful items added i.e. wine glasses, ice bucket, radio and cool tv!.. hotel is based in Glasgows regenerated river walk (Skypark) and we were lucky enough to have a sunny afternoon to be able to walk into the city...dinner at the hotel was lovely, steaks done to perfection, with breakfast being just as delicious with good choices, mine being scrambled egg with smoked salmon, ending with the bonus of a late check out time of 12 noon....friendly and efficient staff made it an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macmyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear macmyra

Thank you for your review

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found your meal and breakfast to be cooked to a high standard.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed here on a business trip to Glasgow. Rooms were not the most spacious but they were clean and tidy and the bathroom was adequately stocked with everything you need. Obviously an old Citi Inn as evidenced by the Citi Cafe logo on the door and the slightly tired Apple Mac (my mouse was broken and didn't work). Breakfast was superb, however. Self service english breakfast, toast, all kinds of fruit and pastries, tea, coffee, juices and cereals regularly replenished. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#36 of 93 in Glasgow
2,384 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,370 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
3,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £63 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing