We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem on the Clyde”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Gem on the Clyde”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

There was a time when the name "Hilton" was synonymous with luxury and quality.
Sadly, not any more.

The Hilton Garden Inn illustrates the inconsistent contemporary fate of this hotel chain. They've simply swallowed up a number of small independent hotels (this was originally the Mint Hotel) and given them the 'name', if not the trappings, of the brand of yesteryear.

There's nothing particularly wrong with this hotel - but then again there's nothing particularly right either. The rooms are small-ish (nothing new there). The view from the window, if you're in an odd numbered room, is grim (nothing new there) and the television and internet provision is poor (again, nothing new there).

There's no bath, no mini bar and no complimentary newspaper. The buffet breakfast is the usual stewed fayre - although certain items are made to order and there is a DIY 'waffle station'(!!) although I never actually saw anybody use it. That benchmark of Scottish hotel breakfasts - Haggis (anecdotally only really eaten by tourists and certainly never for breakfast) is poor, tasting more like Paxo stuffing.

If you just want a place to put your head down after a visit to the SECC or Hydro (which are both conveniently next door) then this place is absolutely fine. But, if like me, you've been 'put here' for days on end over several weeks, it just doesn't really hit the mark. In fact if you're looking for that 'home from home' or 'fun' experience (I'm thinking the Malmaison in Manchester), then this hotel really misses the point completely. Let's start with the basics...You can't call yourself the 'Garden Inn' if there isn't a piece of greenery within viewing distance and you can't include 'City Centre', if you're a good fifteen minutes walk from the main railway station. The decor is a little tired and very functional - and the lighting in the rooms is, well, 'fierce'. There's not a lot of shade here.

But let's not be completely negative. After all, for some bizarre reason, this was voted 'Business Hotel of the Year 2012' at the Scottish Hotel Awards. Something that probably says something dreadful about Scottish 'business' hotels or, more likely, the business people that stay in them. The saving grace has to be the staff, who are always very helpful and friendly - absolutely charming. The bed is a reasonable (if not generous) size and is quite comfy with an adequate supply of good varying density pillows. So no complaints there. The shower is efficient (albeit a tad underpowered.

I just wish I didn't feel like a business pigeon put in an appropriate hole.

Still, I better not complain too loudly. They're building a Premier Inn across the river and since our accounts department believes in seduction by price, this will no doubt be my next port of call. So, on reflection, I think the Hilton Garden Inn City Centre Hotel is an excellent hotel. A veritable diamond in the rough and definitely worthy of our support.

Room Tip: Even number rooms have a river view. Odd number rooms look out on a building site
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,053
    999
    326
    109
    44
See reviews for
289
1,114
137
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Callander, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Nice comfortable room, free wifi, pleasant staff at reception, bar and at breakfast. Ideal location for a dinner held locally. No complaints at all with my stay. Will definitely be back if ever in the area.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Markeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGI2014, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Markeveret,

Thanks for the positive review and it’s great to read you enjoyed the customer service we provide. I am glad you enjoyed the free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in February and found everything about the hotel to be excellent. We had a river view room which seemed very close to the 'squinty bridge' but due to the soundproofing of the room you couldn't hear a sound from the passing traffic. The room was of a much higher standard than expected and was well kitted out and very modern. Stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast was as good as can be expected with a buffet. Car Parking next to the hotel was more than adequate. Will; definitely use again.

Room Tip: River view rooms are definitely better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed here for the first time March 2014 as an overnight after going to a concert at the SEC Hydro. I was very impressed and strongly recommend the hotel. The building is very new and modern and everything is bright and immaculately clean. I had a top floor room overlooking the river and was very impressed with everything from the bed to the shower. I slept very well and found the bed really comfortable. The buffer breakfast was excellent - great quality and very good value fro money at GBP 10 per head. Overnight parking was GBP 5 peer night and I was offered and accepted a GBP 5 upgrade for a top floor room. The price per night was great and this included free WIFI, bottled water, newspaper etc. The room had a fridge and on the ground floor there was a vending machine selling all kinds of sandwiches, drinks etc to stock the fridge if required. Everything was very reasonable priced.

The staff were great. The reception people were very polite and efficient and the restaurant staff just as good.

The SEC and SEC Hydro are just down the road - no more than 400 meters so you can walk it in a couple of minutes. The city centre is easy walking distance or you can jump on a bus or train if preferred. The hotle is right next to the squinty bridge and the Finnieston Crane so it is handy for the BBC Scotland Offices, Glasgow Science Centre etc.

I really rate this hotel and will stay definitely stay here again. It is now my favourite Glasgow hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor river view. It might cost a fiver but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGI2014, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Bill W

Thanks for your great review and I am glad you managed to experience what the hotel has to offer including our free Wi-Fi and fresh Scottish Breakfast. Next time why not try our City cafe Bar and Grill where we use the very best of Scottish produce.

My team hope to welcome you back soon,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed with my girlfriend as part of our anniversary, both were looking forward to the night as had read good reviews but was massively disappointed with this hotel. We arrived around 5.30pm and went straight to dinner, only to be told we had to wait until 8pm, about 7.30pm we decided to try our luck and go down and the resteruant was completely empty! Server was very rude and completely ignoring us when we got there, once we were seated the staff proceeded to move tables and chairs right beside us squeaking along the floor. I ordered the steak with onion rings and my partner ordered the "City Titan burger" her burger was completely tastless and she barely touched it, my steak was tiny and salty and the onion rings were seriously undercooked, I complained and got a cauliflower cheese and it was disgusting aswell with cheese sauce like water by this point we had both had enough and asked for the bill, we had 25% taken off our bill but £40 for a meal both of us didn't enjoy was still ridiculous. About 11pm we were both starving so I came down to the 24 hour pantry for a sandwich which was completely empty! Room was ok but my girlfriend had arranged for flowers and wine to be in the room which also weren't there. Massively disappointed in this hotel and will not be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaceyKelsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGI2014, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear StaceyKelsy

We have since spoken and have come to a resolution. I look forward to your return visit.

The Hotel was full due to the Michael Buble concert and the City Cafe Bar & Grill was also fully booked before the concert hence the reason we couldn’t accommodate the early dinner request. We did advise 8pm due to the fact the restaurant has to be re-set and organised after being full of concert goers. The staff did allow you to come in early due to trying to meet your expectations as they were aware that you were disappointed earlier. In hind sight the staff should have requested that you wait while they organised the restaurant. The food quality will be addressed and as others have commented in other reviews the food and beverage is of high quality. All food items are locally sourced and fresh each day.

The Pavillion Pantry is a very popular outlet and should have been replenished throughout the night for which I apologise. It was stocked later in the night.

In regards to the flowers and wine. This request was never passed on by the 3rd Party booking site you booked through. Please be assured that customer service is our main priority and we would have definitely delivered the request should it have been received.

Once again, thanks for your feedback and i am sure your next experience will be one to remember.

Kind regards

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Fantastic experience staying at this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly upon arrival and departure. The room was spacious, very clean with a fantastic river view. The food in the restaurant was of a very high standard. The breakfast buffet in the morning provided a good variety of choice. the hotel is ideally located for nights to the city centre or to the SECC. Would definitely return again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGI2014, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Thomas A,
Great to see you rated us 5/5, we do aim to please.

I see you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and it is great to read you found our customer service excellent.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed 1 night during SECC event. Compact, but fresh and well-appointed room with interesting view of the Clyde, comfortable beds and chair. Great soundproofing on windows and internally, no plumbing noises and bearable aircon (I am a light sleeper). Pleasant restaurant but my companion likes to eat early and we were disappointed that the a la carte menu was not available before 7.30 pm - our set-price meal was OK but not what we had hoped for, especially as next table were eating venison by the time we left! A good selection for breakfast, including excellent made to order omelette (miles better than in a 5* world-famous Scottish hotel I stayed at recently!)
Best asset of the hotel is its young, friendly and efficient staff, who created a very welcoming atmosphere, even for us oldies. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: River view is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGI2014, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thanks you for your feedback. The hotel was built with privacy in mind and the fantastic soundproofing of the bedrooms is one of our many attributes.

The City Cafe Bar and Grill we serve a choice menu on concert nights due to the volume of people we have to serve before the show. We do this to ensure we can deliver the best service as we are conscious people don’t want to be late to their seats. There is ample choice on the menu and if there is something else a guest would prefer we will do our very best to accommodate his/ her needs.

I am extremely pleased you found the staffs service excellent, friendly and efficient as we pride ourselves on customer service. Also, thanks for the comment on breakfast. We have an extensive buffet and the ‘made to order’ option which gives more choice to our customers.

I hope to welcome you back soon and we will have a Venison waiting for you!

Kind regards

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
2,348 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#60 of 93 in Glasgow
1,124 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing