We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Hydro or SECC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed following a concert in Hydro. Short walk so perfect location. Staff were friendly and rooms were clean. Our room overlooked the quay and was lovely and quiet. Beds were comfy so enjoyed best night sleep we have had in a hotel for a while. We appreciated the choice of self service food available in the pantry on our return from the concert. Overall we were very happy and will return.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank avrilPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,489 - 1,495 of 2,666 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

We recently spent a week here whilst attending a conference at the nearby Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre. It is a very convenient location for this venue and the nearby Hydro entertainment complex. Unless you have a car it is however a bit out of the town centre – only a 15 minute walk but through very unattractive streets, deserted building blocks, and if it is cold, windy, and raining not the most pleasant walk. You will have to decide (if you are attending the Convention area) whether to stay closer into the heart of Glasgow and commute, or have the conference convenience with the disadvantage of the walk or taxis after hours to visit the city centre. It is however very convenient to the Transport Museum and Tall Ship complex, and the Science museum on the other side of the river. The hotel staff were absolutely fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. They are all very friendly and efficient. Our bookings were straightforward. Rooms are rather small (two people fall over each other moving from side to side) and the bathroom very small. They are however very clean and housekeeping was excellent. The bed and pillow were exceptionally comfortable and a very good sleep is ensured. There is a bar fridge but no contents. You can purchase light snacks etc. from the reception area vending machines and there is an onsite bar area that is very pleasant. The adjacent restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinners – breakfast was good but the evening meals we found to be a little basic. The wine list is small but varied and prices very acceptable. Whilst ‘free’ Wi-Fi is available the reception was very patchy and slow in the rooms. We booked a riverside room overlooking the Clyde (much narrower than I thought it would be). This side is preferable to the inland side, which looks over a car park and road. At least it is fun to watch the current flow and the lights come on over the ‘Squinty’ bridge, as the Clyde Arc is locally known. We would stay there again for the joy of the excellent staff and quality of rooms (albeit small) but maybe the town centre would be more convenient.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the Clyde River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilthetravellerXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Two night stay. Arrived on the Tuesday, efficient check in, as you would expect. £5 per night car par charge though. 4th floor room which overlooked the river and bridge. Weather dull, river dull but out with hotel remit.

Room quite small but ok. Clean and crisp, no complaints other than the big red wine stain at the side of the bed. Facilities ok but hair drier rubbish. Room fitted with an I-Mac so no tv. Not brilliant if you want to watch a movie in bed but very modern if that's what floats your boat.

The bed was too hard for my liking but I suspect that's a Hilton standard. The air conditioning was very loud and was promptly switched off, it's Scotland, open the window instead! (They do open).

The breakfast was buffet style. It was pretty good. All the staples and a surprise guest on the plate-haggis. It wasn't too spicy so a good addition to breakfast.

The proximity of the hotel to the Hydro arena is a 2 minute walk, a treat!

Try for a cheap deal for your stay though as £128 per night plus breakfast is a bit pricy on top of a concert ticket.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Westhillfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Great location for Valentines weekend, close to SECC & Hydro not too far from city centre.
Had river view room which was clean and uncluttered.
Dined in the resturant meal was very good but the wine was a bit premium priced.
Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roddy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Located near the SECC on the banks of the Clyde it is very convenient for visiting Glasgow or the exhibition centre.

The rooms are typical HGI in that they are comfortable but not too spacious with a decent work area and Apple TV. Wifi reception is good and I think complimentary - at least it was for me.

In the hotel you can eat in the small bar or the restaurant - both offer a reasonable selection at affordable prices but expect to pay a bit more in the restaurant.

There is a small fitness room with a couple of treadmills and bikes a cable machine and some loose weights. OK for a quick workout and fairly standard for this brand.

Breakfast is a buffet with a good selection of hot and cold and cooked to order items.

Parking is next to the hotel which for a city centre is a bonus. Font desk staff are friendly but there is only two stations so you can wait a little while to check in if there is a queue.

I will definitely be staying again and making this my regular hotel when in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divepetem9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I have stayed in this hotel 4 times now including 2 times since it was rebranded as a Hilton. I stay here when on nights out in Glasgow but only if there is a cracking deal otherwise it ain't worth it as it's £12 return to the City Centre in a taxi. Rooms are very nice with a big comfy bed, rain shower (no bath) and iMac rather than a TV. Breakfasts are the usual buffet style so a heart attack on a plate. Had dinner this time and it was OK. Spoiled a bit by the most miserable waitress ever, can't remember her name but she did have 'in training' on her badge. Rest of staff are the usual happy courteous type and provided excellent service. There is a car park attached but it's £5 a day charge which is pretty poor considering the price for a night and it's not really City Centre but it's probably because who there neighbours are.

In conclusion it's a lovely hotel but only go here if there is a deal as the distance to the City Centre is an issue but as it's next door to The SECC, Clyde Auditorium and The Hydro it's perfect for concerts.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Iain1692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Came to stay here as I was seeing a show at the hydro.. Didn't think it would be as close as it was! Room and hotel in general was lovely! Staff were all friendly, room was very clean and good facilities in the room.. Having your own fridge was a nice touch! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inglis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#36 of 93 in Glasgow
2,423 reviews
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#67 of 93 in Glasgow
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,449 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £53 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing