We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel for Concerts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #34 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel for Concerts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

On first opinions of the hotel on arrival were really good, we arrived early and got checked in straight away which was brilliant. Rooms were really tidy and spacious, good view over the River. However when we came back late at night the hotel room was roasting, and the bed was really uncomfortable, so after a long sleepless night. We told the receptionist at the desk that the air conditioning was not working, we were informed that they would get someone into look at it. This didn't happen and another sleepless night in a roasting room didn't do us any good. It spoilt our weekend away. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again due to the heating issues. We stay in Glasgow a lot next time we will be staying at the trusted Premier Inn, we never have any issues and it's a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear DLL6

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that there was an issue with your air conditioning, this should not have been the case and should have been resolved after highlighting to reception.

It is surprising to learn that you found our beds uncomfortable as other guests have enquired where to purchase them, although I understand that everyone has their own personal preference.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    994
    943
    310
    103
    38
See reviews for
261
1,046
133
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

stayed at this hotel last Friday we went to Justin Timberlake gig ,HOTEL was good had dinner bed and breakfast food was great .room was perfect clean tidy and all that you required will do it again for the next gig

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seve63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear seve63

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you found our food to be great and that you intend to stay with us next time you are attending a concert at the Hydro.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
150 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

What a shame that a small pack of Pringles cost us £2.25 --- £2.25! Ridiculous.

The other let-down was that the white wine we had late night was not chilled.

This left a really sour taste (no pun intended) and it's a shame as the hotel service, ambience and comfort were all pretty good, as was the self-service breakfast.


I complained about the prices but just got a shrug.

Shame.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirlham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear shirlham

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that your scoring has been impacted by the price of Pringles, as you mentioned at check-out that you would otherwise have scored 5/5.

We are always grateful for feedback and your comments will be considered when we next review our pricing.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Overnighted here as had a business function to attend last night. Absolutely beautiful location overlooking the river, and lovely decor. Tastefully decorated in shades of turquoise and brown, and so fresh and clean, with all the amenities required. In room safe, frig, coffee, iron, hair dryer etc. Located ted close to the entertainment arenas too. The hotel has outside decking overlooking the river, so you can enjoy a drink or coffee in good weather. Cracking hotel, and definitely recommend it for a stay in Glasgow. Ticks all the boxes!

Room Tip: Overlooking the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ger0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Ger0na

Thank you for such a positive review.

The outside area is now open for the summer and is a great place to enjoy a quality meal or drink on the riverside.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Ideal location for overnight stay if going to The Hydro/SECC/Convention. We stayed for one night as we were attending a concert at The Hydro, as I suspect the majority of the other guests were. Check-in uncomplicated, room small but standard and clean. Apple TV, same as previous review couldn't get remote on/off either, annoying. No instructions available in room, maybe maid error? In the morning at 9am, the maid just came in, no knock. Granted we didn't have the Do Not Disturb sign on but the courtesy of a knock first would be expected.
Bar service was slow and tables were left dirty. We didn't eat there as we heard several guests approaching the bar asking how much longer would their order would be as they had been waiting a lengthy time. Based on this we went across to The Rotunda to eat- has several restaurants/bars in one building directly opposite the hotel.
The hotel should have extra bar staff on to cope the returning residents from concerts as the queue extended out of the bar and across reception and it took over 30 mins to get a drink!
We only paid £69 for a double room so can't complain too much as the hotel rooms were clean and it was so convenient for The Hydro but wouldn't stay for more than a couple of nights, which is probably what this hotel's target market is.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nexthol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Nexthol

Thank you for your review.

All of our food is cooked fresh to order and demand can be high before concerts, we always recommend pre-booking a table in the restaurant and highlight this on the booking confirmation.

After events the maximum number of staff that can fit behind the bar are serving, I am sorry that you felt that this was not enough – we have previously put up extra bars in the lobby but found that the majority of guests preferred to wait for the main bar for a full selection of drinks.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed last week at the Garden Hilton for Gary Barlow concert at the Hydro.
Have stayed before and as usual found the Hotel to be just right for a concert
The staff are so helpful and efficient and although busy can't do enough for you.
The only comment would be that the mini fridge is not very cold so ask for a bucket of ice.

Will always use this Hotel for future concerts!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank zaza5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear zaza5

Thank you for your review and scoring of 5/5!

It is always rewarding for the staff to be highlighted as we believe they make the difference for an enjoyable stay.

Thank you for stating your intent to return in the future!

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed at The Hilton Garden Inn Hotel on 05 April a Saturday night. Was greeted warmly at desk and checked in swiftly. Had a lovely double room with a view of the Squinty bridge. Bed was very comfy and room had lovely decor. Bathroom was filled with high quality toiletries We went to Justin Timberlakes concert in the Hydro. What a fab hotel for concert, just across the road. Thoroughly enjoyed concert and afterwards a couple of minutes to walk back. There was an ice machine next to reception which was utilised well. Next day when checking out, it was very busy, we had already paid so just handed key in. All in all been definitely the best hotel at the riverside. A must visit!! Great location for Hydro....

Room Tip: Room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Mags2912

Thank you for such a wonderful review.

Justin Timberlake was an very busy time at the hotel with the bar staff working extremely hard to keep up with the demand for cocktails!

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#39 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,120 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#24 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at our bar & restaurant, offering seasonal menus prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing