We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but small.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Clean and modern and liked the Apple and fridge but have to say for 2 adults it was a squeeze and very little space for bags and so on. My 2 children had next door room and they said it was ok size wise but for me it was too cramped. Bathroom was nice but again small! Breakfast was fine and staff were nice. Enjoyed Glasgow and all it has to offer. A real up and coming feel to the city!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Mamamia12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Mamamia12014

Thank you for your review

I can understand that some guest prefer larger rooms, we do believe that we have maximised the space with a well-appointed design.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Glasgow, there have been significant changes in the past 2 decades and the future is very exciting!

Kind regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,403 - 1,409 of 2,595 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here for concert at hydro, hotel in an excellent location for this purpose.
It is expensive for what you get, small bathroom and bed, if your over 5ft 6 expect your feet to hang out.
Breakfast ok not the best I've had from a Hilton, haggis was watery and stodgy and potato scones were also a bit dodgy, too much cooked at one time and piled into warmers.
Would stay again just for the handiness to concert venues but would only be overnight!
But as I say expensive from rooms to drinks

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear gorama

Thank you for your review.

I am surprised you found the bed too small as they are all 2 metres long which is approximately 6.5 feet.

We aim to provide a better quality breakfast than has been reviewed - please accept my apologies for this not being your experience.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Although expensive, for a basic travel inn type room. It did have a great shower and iMac TV. Break fast was included in the price , which as you would expect from the Hilton brand was excellent. Location by the secc is good , I normally stay at the crown plaza which was full ,but I must say check in etc is a lot smoother here, & parking is £5 a day. Staff were excellent

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilf02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear wilf02

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you found the team and breakfast to be excellent.

Our room facilities including iMac, floor to ceiling windows (that open), safe, fridge, iron, complimentary wifi, air conditioning, in addition to a business and fitness centre are all facilities that are factored into our room rate which we feel is value for money.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This is in one of those concrete and steel boxes that seem to adorn all former dockside areas in Britain these days.

The rooms are very clean and comfy enough but very small - ok for one person but two would be cramped in there. Room had instant coffee facilities and a safe plus Apple computer which was a nice touch. Wifi was free but I found mine to be slow and the in- room signal very weak and unreliable.

Breakfast was good but charged at over £13 extra. Car parking next door is £5 a night though free for 3 hours. There is an unmanned business centre free of charge where you can print, fax etc. Room service is only 1700-2200 which is quite restrictive though I had no problems with food itself.

All in all this is ok for a very short trip and its a well run hotel; the problem lies in Hilton's "garden" product which offers a Travelodge+ experience at not far short of a four star price.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiredTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear TiredTrotter

Thank you for your review.

I am glad your enjoyed your breakfast, this can be purchased at a reduced price when making your bedroom reservation.

We are always happy to serve room service beyond the published times, please do not hesitate to ask if you choose to stay again.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Rooms were nice with stylish additions eg desk chair, Apple TV etc. idea of empty fridge you could fill yourself made you feel that you were getting good value- the fact that you fill it from the expensive foods and drinks in reception is another matter- but entirely your own choice!!! Bar was mobbed tonight after Dancing on Ice and I was really disappointed that the top end of the (nearly empty) restaurant area was not accessible for bar overspill at 9.40. Better places would - and have- allowed this!! The sad thing is that the pomposity of the restaurant manager was the disappointing thing. I was not asked if I was a resident but simply told there were seats in the hallway. They were in fact all taken. Reception staff kindly offered a meeting room but fortunately a place became available in the 'hallway'. Disappointing when I was so impressed at the outstanding value for money and quality service till then!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Cathy H

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that the back section of the restaurant was not available after the concert. We always try to find seats for as many of our guests as possible - at 9.40pm we still had guests dining in the restaurant, I’m sure you understand that when guests are still eating it is not reasonable to over-spill the bar into the restaurant.

Due to the early finish of the concert on Sunday the meeting rooms had been set for additional guests, which you were offered.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed two days in a nice room with River Clyde view which I think may cost extra but worth it, the view from the opposite side is much less appealing. Clean, comfortable, reasonably spacious. Check in staff were helpful, pleasant and efficient but breakfast staff weren't! Apart from showing you to a table they were neither pleasant or helpful . Breakfast was probably the worst I've experienced in a hotel or b and b recently - one would expect being early would mean freshly prepared produce....the bacon was exceptionally tough, sausages oozing grease and sickly scrambled eggs....for me, inedible...I reverted to toast and cereal. Oh, and rock music at 6.30 isn't conducive to a peaceful breakfast - it may be to the taste of staff but should be toned down when guests come down. To finish with a positive, if you are using the SECC, Hydro or 'Armadillo' it couldn't be better placed.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Hamish D

Thank you for your review.

Breakfast generally receives positive feedback, your comments are appreciated and will be investigated to find out why this was not your experience.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

On first opinions of the hotel on arrival were really good, we arrived early and got checked in straight away which was brilliant. Rooms were really tidy and spacious, good view over the River. However when we came back late at night the hotel room was roasting, and the bed was really uncomfortable, so after a long sleepless night. We told the receptionist at the desk that the air conditioning was not working, we were informed that they would get someone into look at it. This didn't happen and another sleepless night in a roasting room didn't do us any good. It spoilt our weekend away. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again due to the heating issues. We stay in Glasgow a lot next time we will be staying at the trusted Premier Inn, we never have any issues and it's a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear DLL6

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that there was an issue with your air conditioning, this should not have been the case and should have been resolved after highlighting to reception.

It is surprising to learn that you found our beds uncomfortable as other guests have enquired where to purchase them, although I understand that everyone has their own personal preference.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#36 of 93 in Glasgow
2,385 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,370 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
3,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £63 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing