We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #34 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Glenrothes, Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Not the most luxurious Hilton we've stayed in but nevertheless gets plus marks for almost everything. The location is perfect for those going to the Hydro, Clyde Auditorium or SECC, being 2 minutes walk from each - but its a little out of the way for those wanting something close to the city centre (although as other reviewers have said, transport links are close by). Rooms are small but clean, very comfortable and well equipped. Only bugbear was the heating / AC unit which was noisy and in our room at least had an 'off' switch that didn't seem to work. We ate in the restaurant - the food was excellent and we'd highly recommend eating there. Book early at weekends though because we saw lots of people being turned away. Finally, a word for the reception, bar and restaurant staff who without fail were friendly, polite and efficient and made our stay all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    944
    310
    103
    38
See reviews for
261
1,050
133
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
505 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel does everything well. Good location, friendly staff, well equipped rooms and even a small gym. The restaurant is good value and makes a real alternative despite the proximity to other outlets. As a returning guest I have however noticed that room rates have been creeping up recently. Book early.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_Away_Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear StuartAinsworth

Thank you for your review.

Our restaurant is indeed worth staying in for rather than going out for a meal. Our new menu is proving to be very popular with fresh produce and great value.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is spotlessly clean, the iMac computer and WiFi in the room was super, the situation is scenic and convenient for the the SECC.The breakfast was the usual excellent Hilton buffet with real Stornoway black pudding ( a proper Scottish delicacy), the sound proofing in the rooms was faultless. But be warned if you are not young, fit and chic; the iMac volume would not turn to a level useful to old ears, the car park is cobbled and the front door access is down steps. The corridors are really narrow for wheelchair access and the towels in our accessible bathroom were on a rack above head height.Wheelchair access in cafe for breakfast was also limited.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cacaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear cacaj

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and particularly Stornoway black pudding that we offer at breakfast.

We have a detailed accessibility pack available from our website, click on hotel details, then hotel policies.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Located on banks of River Clyde Transport Museum, Science Centre, SECCand Hydro are all within walking distance. Glasgow City Tour buses stop opposite hotel and station with trains to City Centre is only short walk. Rooms are not huge but well laid out and well equipped with iMac computer which doubles as your television. Ate in restaurant which was excellent and service was also great. There is an outside seating area for both bar and restaurant which overlooks the river and would be great in a summers evening.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Ian C

Thank you for your review and rating of 5/5!

As you have mentioned our outdoor area is a fantastic facility and indeed very popular when the weather is kind to us!

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Staff very helpful with the exception of booking staff who were difficult to understand. No lounge in the hotel and the rooms were very small. Very slow service at breakfast at busy times. Pleasant outlook over river and parking was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear George D

Thank you for your review.

I am aware that my reception manager has contacted you directly for additional feedback.

I am sorry that you had issues with our central reservations team, if you ever want more information please contact the hotel directly and select the option for the hotel operator.

City Café has a mixture of lounge and dining seats in the bar area with the option of watching sporting events on TV, it also has the main restaurant section and outdoor terrace.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay at hotel, great location looking onto river and the adjacent to the Clyde Arc bridge.

The restaurant was excellent, with a good selection on the menu, and reasonable prices. The breakfast offering was very good, with hot and cold choices.

The Hotel and the room were very clean incuding Apple TVs in the rooms.

It also has easy off street parking adjacent to the hotel.

Well worth a visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Gold M

Thank you for such a positive review.

We have recently refreshed our restaurant menus and it is very pleasing that you found it to be good value with plenty of choices.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Had a great night's sleep. Rooms very modern and spotless. Really comfy bed and the hotel was in a perfect location. Be idea if you were going to SECC or Hydro. Building itself is a wee bit characterless, just a big box really. But the staff are really friendly and I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear BTag

Thank you for your review.

We believe that our staff make the difference to an enjoyable stay and I appreciate you highlighting the friendly team in your review.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#39 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#62 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,121 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#26 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at our bar & restaurant, offering seasonal menus prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing