We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the Hydro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed with friends for two nights last weekend. The hotel is fine for a short break but it's main advantage is it's location just a short walk to the Hydro. The rooms are small but fine for two with a small shower room. Spotlessly clean and quite modern.
We had an early pre-concert dinner which was very good and breakfast was a fairly standard buffet. Given the great weather we spent a lot of time on the terrace by the river - a very pleasant place for a glass of wine.
Pre concert and post concert the bar was very busy - we did not book a concert package and I don't think you need to - just book well in advance.

Room Tip: Choose a river view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisDAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,567)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,313 - 1,319 of 2,567 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

A brilliant weekend in Glasgow made even better by staying in a great hotel. We checked in early and upgraded (only little bit extra) to a river view room which I totally recommend. Room had everything you would need, was spotlessly clean and serviced well by 2 lifts so no hanging about. Breakfast was very good with a range of options for all tastes and the staff were very attentive. The location of the hotel is excellent. It on the river beside a lovely river walk that takes you right near the city centre and on the route for the city sightseeing bus trip which was so convenient. Taxis are only a minute away using a free phone in the lobby and it was £5 to either city centre or the west end when we went out at night. Would definitely go back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

4th time i have stayed at this hotel now and still cant find a fault :) The staff are great and go out there way at all times to make sure you are totally satisfied...Will be back again in October and no doubt have another great stay :)))

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Glasgow Hilton Garden on the 31st May as we were attending an event at the Hydro. The hotel is perfect for this as it is barely five minutes walk away. Arrived mid afternoon and had a drink on the riverside terrace before our evening meal. On concert days this is a more limited choice but great value for money as each dish was excellent. The rooms were clean and well furnished and the apple mac TV / Computer was very useful. Breakfast was also very good.
A couple of points, getting a drink at the bar after a concert will be quite a lengthy process, this is nobodies fault it is just that the majority of guest will arrive at a smallish bar at the same time. We would also recommend booking a table well in advance on concert evenings as it will be very busy and you may be disappointed.
The final thing is to say how polite and helpful all the staff were. Thank you we will be back.

Room Tip: Book early if attending concerts
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Pros: less than 5 minute walk to the SECC, the river side of the hotel is awesome, modern finish
Cons: Expensive in hotel shop (£1.50 for a 330ml can of juice) and parking is charged for.

Summary:
This hotel is excellently located within easy walking distance of the SECC. The rooms are all well furnished with modern fittings and the river side of the hotel gives excellent views. The wifi is acceptable. The in room iMac is slightly odd.. would rather have a massive TV (which would cost less than the iMac).

Accommodation:
The rooms are all modern and of a decent size. I read on trip advisor to ask for a room on the river side of the road. This makes allot of sense because the views are great and I could see the road side being busy. The wifi in this hotel is at least usable but not the best in the world. The room as an iMac which doubles as a TV. This is a bit odd as its about 21' and a bit small for watching tv on. Could easily have had a bigger TV for less in my opinion. I found the bathroom adequate but being a larger man I found the shower a little snug.

Other issues:
I went to get a diet coke from the shop, it cost £1.50! and one chocolate bar was £1. The hotel also charges for parking for guests which I think is a bit mean.

Room Tip: River view is the best
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We came for 5 night's, The hotel is in a great location for any event's at SECC and The Hydro! Which we saw The Eagles in concert, just a walk across the street and your at the Hydro.
Also train station just a half a block walk from hotel, take the train to the Central station and your in the city center. The staff were delightful!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed 5 nights at the garden inn during our exhibition at the Ideal Home Shoe SECC, Staff were excellent as was the Evening meals in the restaurant, Breakfast was a bit hit or miss as the food was under cooked for my taste on some days, The bathroom was also very small in our room 518 but that said I would stay here again and it was a very comfortable hotel with helpful staff

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank BigDrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
2,361 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#62 of 93 in Glasgow
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,336 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
3,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £64 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing