We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch prior to gig at the Hydro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #36 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was my second visit to the Hilton Garden as I had been once before for a lunch time drink. Situated on the banks of the Clyde, overlooking the STV and BBC studios, it's in a great location for a drink or dining if you are visiting the Hydro for a gig. On many first visit I enquired about reserving a table for something to eat prior to the concert, but the restaurant was fully booked and it's strongly advised to reserve a table well in advance. On this occasion I did and reserved a table for this most recent visit. We got a table out on the decking as it was a wonderful summers night. My wife had fish and chips and I had the Classic burger which was accompanied by fries and as a supplement I got a haggis slice added. Both meals were lovely. Three large glasses and a pint of cider accompanied the meal. Cost £44. Wine quality was excellent and the service very good. Will definitely return on our next concert trip!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bordersgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,366 - 1,372 of 2,635 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

A terrific location within easy walking distance of the city centre overlooking the Clyde and good facilities with extremely helpful staff. Check in and out done efficiently and the car park was a bonus being so close to the centre.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Hi-tech hotel with all the latest available technologies – Apple TV/PC/Sound system. Beautiful views to the river and bridge (ask for that). Rooms are small and the bed is cramped into the corner, but it is compensated by good soundproofing and very comfortable mattress. Good breakfast and average dining (would advise to go to the city). Also, mentionable that you have to take a taxi or car to get to the real/old town centre.
*Stayed in July 2012

Room Tip: Ask for river view rooms (as the view on the other side is nothing special)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrainAndAnastasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Very well located hotel, great view of bridge and river, very nice rooms with Apple TV, free Wi-Fi, incredible staff, comfortable bar and eating area. Hotel is only a 15 minute taxi ride to the airport and only 7-10 minute drive from ScotRail. Great Experience overall.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank JRSkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my sister on the 14th june 2014. The hotel is beautifully situated by the river clyde, and if you choose a river view you wont be disappointed.we got a great deal through groupon in which we had dinner and breakfast also. The hotel was clean, staff friendly and very close to the secc/hydro. Perfect if you are staying for a concert.
Dinner was superb. We really had a lovely meal. The only thing i would criticise was that the staff were quite slow so took a while to get our order taken. But i understand they were training people so these things happen.
Breakfast was also fab. Even got to make my own waffles! ( after the full scottish breakfast ;-) ). Delish!
If you get a sunny evening, sitting out on the decking area is beautiful.
All in all would defo return. Just took a taxi ride from the center to get there. Cost about £5.
Thanks!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Iona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Iona C

Thank you for such a positive review!

I am delighted that your enjoyed your stay and meal.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here for one night because of its proximity for the Hydro. We got off to a great start lovely riverside restaurant and bar. We upgraded to a river front room which was also nice. The meal in the restaurant was excellent too but after we returned from a concert the whole experience went down hill. It was as if the hotel couldn't cope with the influx of people and for some reason guests were not allowed to sit outside after 10pm so everyone was crammed into the very small bar until they decided to open the restaurant area to guests to sit and have a drink. But whilst sitting there they were setting up for breakfast making it so obvious they didn't want guests staying long. We were served warm white wine and had to ask for ice to chill it not good if you are paying for a decent white wine so the next time my partner went to the bar he asked for chilled white wine but again was served warm white wine. The waiter then proceeded to try and overcharge us for the wine. At the same time a lady had asked the barman to clean the table she was sat at and he said no. Great customer service.
We complained to the Manager about the warm wine and the overcharging incident and he acted immediately which was good. In the morning we went down for breakfast at 8am and had to wait to be seated despite tables being available. I believe this hotel needs more staff and more managerial direction. It knows that concerts are taking place and that they will be busy so they should be prepared. They are obviously not and what makes it worse is there are signs everywhere highlighting the Hilton Promise of great customer service. Shame they can't deliver on it. One guest told us who stays regularly for concerts said they go to the Crowne Plaza for drinks after concerts as they know the Hilton can't cope. Looks like this issue has been going on for some time. I think it is about time a brand like Hilton addressed this.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SFPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear SFPR

Thank you for your review.

As per my correspondence directly to you I am truly sorry that you were not happy with the service after the concert and as you have mentioned this was resolved immediately.

When an event finishes at the Hydro we can get extremely busy, however there was seating available for everyone who wanted to sit on the evening you stayed with the opening of the restaurant as an over-spill from the bar.

I fully understand your frustration regarding sitting outside after 10pm – this is completely out-with the control of the hotel and is due to the licencing policy of Glasgow City Council.

Thank you for highlighting the excellent meal you enjoyed and the river-view room.

Staffing is not the issue after events it is the physical capacity of the bar.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel is ideally located not only for the SECC and Hydro but is only a short walk (some covered) to the station and two stops from Glasgow Central. The hotel is modern and although the rooms are not large they are more than adequate. Equally they are well equiped with free internet access (imac) and wi-fi.
The hotel was very busy due to a concert being on but the staff coped very well. The restaurant was fully booked but we were able to get a table in the bar. Had an Asian noodle dish and this was really quite good.
Breakfast was really very nice with a wide selection and all nicely cooked.
Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: River view is a must
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wandering-Gardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Wandering-Gardener

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal and breakfast.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#35 of 93 in Glasgow
2,408 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#64 of 93 in Glasgow
1,179 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,411 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £58 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing