We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 111”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead, UK
Level 6 Contributor
522 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
“Room 111”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

By parking in the car park next to the hotel you add £5 to the bill.
Breakfast is extra too - so what I thought was reasonable, became a bit pricey.

My room had a view of a piece of land being prepared for building.
No river, no nice view.

The room is smallish, nice bed, all facilities you need (no bath but a shower that works well)

Apple TV and computer in one - nice if you know how it all works.

Breakfast is mainly a buffet, is good.
Tough getting a second cup of coffee - I gave up with that one.
Found free coffee by reception on check out, but it is very cool.

A bit of tweaking and it could be great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expectant customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    1,000
    328
    110
    44
See reviews for
289
1,116
138
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week while working in the area. Location is pretty good, £4.20 in a cab from central station and £5 into the centre. There are plenty of nice bars and restaurants around. A good location for the 3 venues in the area, hydro, secc, & armildio. There are are literally across the road.

The room was small but has everything you need in it. We had a lovely view of the river Clyde and the squinty bridge. The room was cleaned every day.

Breakfast had a good range of everything you could ask for. The waffle machine was a nice touch. Would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nichola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night for business and the only downside of the stay was that I didn't have much time there. The hotel was very modern and clean. The room was very comfortable and the bed and pillows very nice. There were some nice toiletries in the bathroom too which made a change from the generic ones attached to the wall.

Breakfast was great with options cooked to order. One of the best I have had in a long time.

The only minor niggles might be the location in relation to the city centre and that room service isn't available 24 hours. Although there were options available to microwave etc in the pantry downstairs by reception. The terrace along the hotel looked like a nice place for a drink.

I would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NostromoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

My fiance and I Stayed at Garden Inn last night as we were attending a concert at the Hydro. Location was perfect and room was lovely and clean with nice view over the Clyde.

Having paid £200 for the room as a treat for my fiancé and given the fact it's a Hilton hotel, I expected a great experience.

We went to the hotel restaurant for our evening meal prior to the concert. It was incredibly busy as expected but assumed a hotel in such a location would be well equipped to deal with such busy times, and that residents would be well catered for. We were seated outdoors which was nice enough but chilly. Eventually after 25 minutes our drink order was taken and we placed out food order at this time also to ensure we would get our meal before having to leave for the concert. Another 20 mins passed before we were even given our drink order (a lager and a martini, hardly complex!) and there was no indication of food arriving. The staff member indicated that they did not expect to be so busy and did not have adequate staff cover. They could not guarantee we would get our meal in time. Eventually we had to cancel the food order as we did not have time to wait any longer, not to mention we were very cold by this time.

We paid for our drinks (£12.80!!) and left. Unfortunately the hydro didn't have anything too appetising to offer either so ended up going without an evening meal thinking we could order room service on return. But alas, room service stopped at 10pm so we missed this also. All that was on offer was pre packaged foods from a pantry (none of the sandwiches in the pantry were fresh, all had been prepared the day previous) and some microwaveable meals. Nothing appealed but settled for a sandwich which did nothing to satisfy our appetites.

Needless to say, by this morning we were looking forward to breakfast but this was disappointing also. In fairness there was a good selection of foods in the buffet breakfast but the quality was poor with over salty scrambled eggs, rubbery bacon and dried out pastries.

For a hotel with such a good reputation, commanding high accommodation rates, I am whole heartedly disappointed with my Garden Inn experience.

I gave feedback on my experience upon checking out at which I was offered a standard apology and had the cost of parking (£5) deducted from my £200 bill. Hardly a satisfactory outcome.

This trip was to celebrate my fiancé's 40th birthday and I had wanted to treat him with a lovely night away. Instead we left feeling very disappointed and very hungry.

I will not make the mistake of returning to this hotel in future.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J300lsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This is a top notch hotel. We absolutely loved it. Very nice location as we were seeing a show in secc.

Got a free upgrade to a room facing the river and bridge.

The room was very nice with the mac etc. Nice touch.

The breakfast was superb. The waffle iron was a nice touch. Very nice having fresh waffles on a morning.

Highly recommended

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank corbett_shane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

great location by the River Clyde; drinks on terrace in Glasgow sunshine! Reception quick and helpful. Excellent room with view of Hydro arena. Breakfast and dinner in restaurant was very good with efficient with excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The location is perfect for the Hydro or SECC, but not close to the central part of town with restaurants and shopping. The walks weren't long, but not very scenic as several large motorways must be navigated in the middle. The West End is an easier and more pleasant hike, and offers Kelvingrove, the university, and good resto's.

The price seemed high for the wee-sized room, but I'm sure the prices increase for major concerts. The breakfast is fine, and you can order cooked food (omelettes, smoked salmon) which is not available on the buffet. The hotel was full, so several mornings we had to wait to be seated--if you are in a hurry, eat early! Take earplugs if you are a light sleeper and end up with a room facing the road, as it is quite loud (both traffic and people walking late at night.)

There is a large car park adjoining the hotel, and taxis were available within 5 minutes. Front desk staff is friendly and accomodating.

Room Tip: Request a river-facing room for view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
2,351 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#60 of 93 in Glasgow
1,124 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing